Like a flutter on the nags?
Derren Brown is just about to show us how it's done on Ch4.
I, for one, am suing Ch4 if I'm not a millionaire by close of play tomorrow.
Re: Like a flutter on the nags?
Derren Brown's a c#nt. My hopes were up. I thought he could look into horse's eyes or something.
I knew how that's how those tipsters worked. It's hardly joined up thinking. Ch4, can I get a job please? What a p'sh programme.
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
UTTER UTTER PISH!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. He is a smug arsehole of the highest order. The Burd puts 4k on a horse and never looks at the ticket? Aye, right. What about the "Envelope" bit at the start? Skipped the answer to that, I notice. WHAT A WASTE OF AN HOUR OF MY LIFE. ****! |
There's no such thing as a 'system'. The nearest thing is the 'zulu principle', which most really successful professional punters demonstrate. Essentially, the key is to become an expert on a selected field of sport, to the point where you know as much as or (ideally) more than the bookie. Then you might have an edge. Of course, this is likely to be a lot of work, but it's about the only thing that really works. The reason bookies are making so much money is that almost noone has the discipline to put in that work.
I guess if we really wanted to we could pool all the 'expertise' on Hibs on this board to test the theory, but someone would have to filter it. |
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Explain to me why this one doesn't work then;
Always bet on an odds against favourite. If you lose then double your stake on the next odds against favourite. Eventully one will win. Usually 1 in 8 races. It's mathematically impossible to lose. Why am I not rich? Cowardice?
The only way for a normal punter to profit from betting is to arbitrage bet.
second £10 third £20 Fourth £40 fifth £80 sixth £160 seventh £320 eighth £640 No winners = £1275 down the drain Stick to football punditry Mr T Bam yer good at that To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I manage a betting shop for a company which has over 2200 branches - the level of specialist knowledge you can see declines as the profile of a team/league declines e.g. they never seem aware of suspensions etc when they compile a list of first goalscorers in a Hibs game. M A-C was still being quoted as a possible first scorer for the cup tie v Rangers after his transfer to Dundee. The lower league you go, the more chance you have of cashing in on something you know that the odds compilers in Leeds don't. The biggest difficulty would lie in being prepared to only bet when you genuinely see an edge, not just for the sake of an interest.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
Do that system on a a roulette table.
That works. Expensive but you will always win the very first value you staked if you play till you win. |
But, Iain, my man; In my experience a minimum of 1/6 favs win. Swap your original £5 bet for 5p. Impossible to lose surely? Build, build and build? I'm not the brightest but I can do math. Surely I'm right?
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2007
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] “Every now and then when your life gets complicated and the weasels start closing in, the only cure is to load up on heinous chemicals and then drive like a bastard from Hollywood to Las Vegas ... with the music at top volume and at least a pint of ether.” dmg Hunter S. Thompson quote |
Barbary Corsair
Even if you consider red/black on roulette to be a 50/50 chance (which it isn't) betting £2 on the first red coming in, by the time eight blacks have hit in a row (seen it loads of times), you looking at a bet of £2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2=£512 just to win your stakes back with a £2 profit. So you would need a starting bankroll of over a grand if you were to find yourself in this position. Add to that the "even chances" bet limit might be £500 so you couldn't put enough money on making you a loser. Also remember that even after eight blacks in a row and you're putting £512 on red you have a (roughly) 50/50 chance of losing and having to fork out £1024 on the next bet. Martin Gale or whoever this system is named after was definitely a loser.