Debt
Yip, I know. Hardly a new thread idea for me.
But it intrigues me. Bar my mortgage I've not much. A few hundred here and there. But I can't afford sh't. My cooker's failing, my tv's failing, my f#ckin will's filing. How do I replace them? I live month to month. Work month to month. I'm like most surely? Am I missing out because I refuse to do triple somersaults into the world of debt? Does the world laugh at me because I'm not in debt? Am I expected to be in debt? Is the class divide getting sickengly big again? Debt vs the debtors? I wonder. Do the rulers just move the goalposts?
Re: Debt
ffs sake you're your own man, and you're responsible for your own fate - scarey perhaps, which is why liberalism is so unpopular, and left wing fantasy so enduring, but there you are. and so also are those who take on debt. that's not to say i don't think the banks are irresponsible in lending - they are. but if you make yourself a serf, then that's what you'll be.
I'm seriously considering selling my house,renting and investing the £70,000 or so i'd make off the sale to be debt free......
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football. But that's what we get........ |
Toon Army Radge
Mortgage and car loan are the only debts I've ever had ... and I view both as a grudged necessity.
Just the way I was brought up I suppose .. if you haven't got it, dont spent it! The missus seems quite happy to run up a credit card debt but I just wouldn't feel comfortable owing money to anyone. |
How easily could you rent though ? or are we taliking private let ?
HGV Learner RADGE
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Plus i will be saving around 230/300 per month on child minding fees (currently 110 a week), this is before i add in my other payments (phone/tv/elec/gas/food/etc/etc/etc) and this is without luxaries, lucky my wife works too or i would be up shit creek ontop off those i have debts which were mounting due to paying high rent, If you are thinking about selling, why not rent it out and get a council house (works if youe married, one house in your name one in the wifes name) nothinf illegal about it, i have a friend who did it, and he has his mortgages paid, plus his rent plus his CT all from the rental income on his bought house
![]() ![]()
![]() Join Date: Aug 2007
I could rent my place out and live elsewhere but i wouldn't be any better off financially,If i sell up and invest the money the interest i'll earn will pay my higher costs in rent etc and still leave me with a tidy amount in the bank for my auld age and wee girl.
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football. But that's what we get........ |
HGV Learner RADGE
this sums up all that's wrong with the welfare state
HGV Learner RADGE
aye right - your getting a house supplied out of council stock; where does that come from? it's tax payer funded and its for those who most need it, which isnae those who need it to enable a private landlordship!
HGV Learner RADGE
he has done it in an area that they can not give the houses away, the flat he is in is a 6 in a block and there are 3 empty flats. i can see your point but if the council can not house people there and there is someone willing to pay to live there to aid getting them on a stable footing financially, then surely this is good, as the taxes would be wasted on empty stock
Hibsterical Radge
Clydesdale Bank Premier League Table 06 October 2007 16:54 1 Hibernian 9 9 21 2 Celtic 8 21 19 3 Rangers 9 15 19 4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16 5 Hearts 9 1 14 6 Motherwell 9 -1 13 |
in capitalism you get to get back the moral position you want. you don't with statism, and the state funding self-serving capitalism is the worst combo of all!
![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
I'm always skint too - living month to month, my debt is my mortgage and a home improvements loan (heating packed in). Nobody likes being skint, but I just make the best of what I've got - charity shops for clothes, got my cooker and freezer from freecycle (which is a great site - people giving away stuff - www.freecycle.org). Point is - you just have to make the best of what you've got and enjoy life the best you can - I'd rather turn down overtime and extra money than miss a good day out walking, or listening to the game on the radio when I can't afford to go. Accept the things you can't change!