Old 25-01-08, 12:21   #1
Charlie Stretch Brown radge

pennywellhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Butcher!!!!!!!!!

well then looks like we could be having a very English second in command

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_...246760,00.html

Get out of the way Stretch we cant see him
pennywellhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-08, 12:59   #2

beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice
Re: Butcher!!!!!!!!!

The Scottish John Gorman
Old 25-01-08, 14:55   #3

Rather have Pat Butcher. I suppose that have to have one ex-hun on the team to advise which Rangers players to pick.
Old 25-01-08, 14:59   #4
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

When Butcher was working in the media he popped into the Clan Tavern for a pint before a Hibs game - he was an OK guy who took any hun/engerlish jibes in good humour.
snoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-08, 15:13   #5

GalegoHibs is a jewel in the roughGalegoHibs is a jewel in the rough

Wouldn't want him as the no.1 and doubt if he will even be the no.2, but I don't see any problem with Butcher working as part of the coaching team. Do we have to have not only a Scottish manager but a full on 100% Scottish backroom team? Butcher has spent far more time than Burley in Scotland over the last 10-20 years and obviously likes life in the country.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-08, 18:00   #6

mrsnuffleupagus is on the way to a first team debut

the boy has won trophies domesticaly and in europe
played for his country 77 times and managed in 3 different countries.
cant see this as anything but a positive move to be honest
plus the english will hate it
would have taken butcher at e.r had mixu not stepped forward
Old 25-01-08, 18:08   #7

No reason to object..
Old 25-01-08, 18:15   #8

alexi is on the way to a first team debut

So Englishmen can play for Scotland but cant coach them.
alexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-08, 18:25   #9

Can't see much wrong with the appointment. Time will tell if Burley/Butcher are a solid combination!!!
Old 25-01-08, 19:56   #10

edward longshanks and cromwell would get the job if they'd played for rangers (which of course they would have)

P Toynbee, Guardian, Dec 06
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-08, 21:09   #11

TattooedHibee has a spectacular aura about

Be happy with that. I rate Butcher as a manager and a person.

TattooedHibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-08, 21:34   #12
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

This is the image on the news i keep seeing of butcher, im just a young lad so anyone care to explain the story behind this, and why he's covered in blood?
Old 25-01-08, 23:18   #13

Originally Posted by Rajazemmama2008 View Post

This is the image on the news i keep seeing of butcher, im just a young lad so anyone care to explain the story behind this, and why he's covered in blood?
this was after the battle of culloden, where butcher was responsible for killing any wounded scots on the field, thus earning his name.

P Toynbee, Guardian, Dec 06
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-08, 01:15   #14

Far too much is made of assistant managers..

If he is appointed, Butcher will be there to assist George Burley, and that is it. He has loads of experience at the highest level of International football and that will be invaluable to Burley.

Having said all that, i'm a traditionalist when it comes to International football. I think that your international players, management team, and coaching staff should all be from your own country.
Old 27-01-08, 01:26   #15

GalegoHibs is a jewel in the roughGalegoHibs is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
this was after the battle of culloden, where butcher was responsible for killing any wounded scots on the field, thus earning his name.
Indeed. Would the real Butcher Cumberland please stand up?

But seriously, for younger Bouncers... I don't remember who it was against, but Butcher (playing for England, of course) went off to get stitches in his heid and returned to the field of play with the Rab Nesbit style (remember him?) bandage. The cut opened up again and he finished the match with this Culloden look, no doubt earning the cliched tabloid nickname "Captain Courageous" into the bargain.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-08, 16:39   #16
GONE 'TILL NOVEMBER FINISHING TWO BOOKS RADGE.

HailHail will become famous soon enough

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-08, 16:48   #17

edward longshanks and cromwell would get the job if they'd played for rangers (which of course they would have)

to be fair, Edward 1 was undefeated in Scotland.Cromwell was anti Royalist-he would not be welcome at Rangers.
Old 28-01-08, 17:32   #18

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by GalegoHibs View Post
Indeed. Would the real Butcher Cumberland please stand up?

But seriously, for younger Bouncers... I don't remember who it was against, but Butcher (playing for England, of course) went off to get stitches in his heid and returned to the field of play with the Rab Nesbit style (remember him?) bandage. The cut opened up again and he finished the match with this Culloden look, no doubt earning the cliched tabloid nickname "Captain Courageous" into the bargain.
Got this from www.englandcaps.co.uk

Qualifying for Italia 90, Bobby Robson’s final tournament as England manager, saw the most memorable images of Terry Butcher. During the vital match in Sweden Butcher suffered a deep cut in his head that was temporarily stitched up by the England physio. Heavily bandaged, he insisted on returning to the pitch and did not stop heading the ball, which re-opened the wound. As he came off at the end of the match, with the all-important draw secured, his face, bandages and shirt were red with blood.
This is before the rules concerning blood came into force, courageous or not the fact that he has a pretty deep cut in the part of the head most concerned with heading a ball, shows the depth that the man is prepared to dig into for his team mates. If he gets the Scotland No2 job I personally think that it will be a good appointment.
And the truth stung like tears in my eyes
That even the good guys must die!
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-08, 21:30   #19

Originally Posted by alexi View Post
to be fair, Edward 1 was undefeated in Scotland.Cromwell was anti Royalist-he would not be welcome at Rangers.
Although he wisnae there, his army didnae fare to well at Stirling bridge!

And he wis a tosser!
Old 28-01-08, 21:42   #20

Originally Posted by cavalier View Post
Although he wisnae there, his army didnae fare to well at Stirling bridge!

And he wis a tosser!
The tosser bit is not disputed. He wasnt present at Stirling Bridge.
Old 28-01-08, 21:45   #21

Originally Posted by alexi View Post
The tosser bit is not disputed. He wasnt present at Stirling Bridge.
When i said "although he wisnae there" thats exactly what i meant!!
Old 28-01-08, 22:17   #22

Originally Posted by cavalier View Post
When i said "although he wisnae there" thats exactly what i meant!!