Amy Winehouse - Upholding A Rock n' Roll Tradition?
Hendrix, Joplin, Bonham, Cass, Kossoff, Vicious, Buckley, Hardin, Moon etc......
Does this lassie have a feckin' death-wish ? Will she see 30 ? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame. |
Re: Amy Winehouse - Upholding A Rock n' Roll Tradition?
I think you could be right. I think she's a fantastic talent though. Shame.
The Dancin Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
moreover, there's something pish about winehouse and docherty - a shitey whiney spoilt brat wallowing in it all element, versus bon scott or john bonham's unselfconscious depravity (at least as i imagine it). they're shit. poofy whiney rock-n-roll hedonists for a poofy whiney era. bring back motley crue ffs. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Dancin Radge
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. we may have the same worries within our own families. See it a bit different then. Even celebs are human. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
vCash: 500 Thanks: 22
Gratifying to see what an open-minded, non-judgmental and tolerant place The Cowshed has become these days.
The Dancin Radge
Then again, you bad man. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
EGB is bang on about the difference between tossers like Doherty and Winehouse and the real deal like Bon Scott's and John Bonhams.
I've visited Bon Scott's grave in Fremantle WA. When I went there there was a packet of Marlboros, a can of beer and a half bottle of whisky on his grave. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Guess its what he would have wanted. Now that was one band I would defy anyone to follow on stage.
#13 | |||
Everybody is a Radge
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
in the house whilst Winehoose has made too pretty tasty albums in her time, one obviously "influenced" by smack and charles the other being her stoner album, although I don't own any of their records. Can't honestly see how ex-camp dead heavy metallers like Bon Scott or John Bonham are any more or less authentic or unselfconcious than the above. What exactly is the difference? Your allowed to let reality into your reply or you can continue using your imagination. Quote:
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
On the Wagon Radge
![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
I actually quite like some of the music made by both Doherty and Winehouse, especially the latter. The problem I have with their drug use is it seems so joyless, so brutally single minded and self annihilating. They're not party animals like the older artists mentioned above, but rather just depressives. Filtered through the lens of the modern celeb media it's all rather disturbing.
On the Wagon Radge
![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
#16 | |||
i mentioned my imagination because - unlike some others To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. - i'm too young to actually remember bon scott and john bonham when they were actually around. it's just the impression i have though. perhaps i'm wrong. maybe they were whiney scrotes an all. Quote:
and that kid from emf. now he was pretty rock n roll for a while, but i don't know the circumstance of his exit from this mortal coil. Quote:
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I like a lot of Doherty's stuff- "Up the Bracket" by The Libetines is a very good album, and Babyshambles have a couple of good singles. Not so keen on the Winehouse though. Also, I don't remember her being labelled a junkie after her first album came out (2003), which didn't do too well at the time. Seems to me her drugtaking has raised her profile and boosted her album sales. Fair play to her. They don't make hellraisers like they used to though!
Agreed, the lassie has a voice to die for - sadly she probably will.
i'm a big fan of both of them
when she's sober amy winehouse gives a show to die for i can't see this video that big a shock to be honest,she was hardly keeping a secret before
Sorry to be a dissident, but I don't think she's much of a singer going by what I've heard (her singles).
Somebody ranked her alongside Dusty Springfield, which I disagree with. Amy is mair like Helen Shapiro. |
__________________ To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or gre |