Old 13-01-08, 19:45   #1

Casino cash: £12608
Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice
Bang On

Clever bloke Louis Theroux(never his real name?) is on tonight at 9pm BBC2.

So what i hear ya cry Well he's inside San Quentin thats what

It is sure to be an interesting docu no mistake.We all love seeing the other side and American jail shit is the bizo.

Be like Johnny Cash peeps And step inside the world of Texas peter's

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/7181055.stm
Old 13-01-08, 21:04   #2

Casino cash: £17800
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice
Re: Bang On

Originally Posted by beefy View Post

It is sure to be an interesting docu no mistake.We all love seeing the other side and American jail shit is the bizo.

I'm off to check that out

Old 13-01-08, 21:45   #3

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

He can be good but he's copying Nick Broomfield to an extent.
Old 13-01-08, 22:34   #4

Casino cash: £3146

Pretty sure it is his real name. Son of repected travel writer Paul Theroux.
hibs1986 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-08, 22:38   #5

Casino cash: £1917
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough

Also, there's a UK writer called Jon Ronson who is a similar type of journalist.

Old 13-01-08, 22:39   #6

Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by hibs1986 View Post
Pretty sure it is his real name. Son of repected travel writer Paul Theroux.
Is his brother not famous for something or other as well?
Old 14-01-08, 00:42   #7

Casino cash: £5821

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
He can be good but he's copying Nick Broomfield to an extent.
Apart from the fact that Nick Broomfield has nae personality/charisma.

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-08, 08:37   #8

Originally Posted by Brainwrong View Post
Apart from the fact that Nick Broomfield has nae personality/charisma.
Come on!! You not seen Eugene Terre Blanche programme? Both same vaux naive act.
Old 14-01-08, 09:13   #9

Casino cash: £6959
vCash: 10100614

Good programme, must have been a nightmare to sort out the security to let him among the general population,
one of the ex gang members confirming what most of us knew anyway, that there are probably more drugs inside than there are on the street,

couldn't imagine him being allowed to chat so openly with uk prisoners.

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-08, 14:07   #10

Casino cash: £6703

enjoyed it, as usual with a louis theroux docu, any watch his wierd weekends series? some of them were ace
GforGallo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-08, 14:22
GforGallo
This message has been deleted by GforGallo. Reason: double post
Old 14-01-08, 14:26   #11

Casino cash: £5989

Devastated i missed it, Louis stuff is usually weird and wonderfull to watch.
Old 15-01-08, 12:24   #12

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
Come on!! You not seen Eugene Terre Blanche programme? Both same vaux naive act.
I've seen the Louis one but not the Broomfield one. I quite like Louis' approach; sometimes it seems like he's on the wind up but I personally feel he's just trying to get people to be honest which a lot of folk can't do. This exposes them as the fuckwits they generally are when they get all defensive/agressive.

Old 15-01-08, 12:38   #13

Casino cash: £5489

Watched a good bit of it. Thought some of the guys who said 'this place is easy 'were putting on a front. The black guy who was in for murder[50 to lifeIIRC] wasn't particularly scary.

The nut doing the 512 years +11 life sentences was a different character.
Quiet, lucid & very matter of fact.
I can see him ramming a shotgun up someones arse or pulling out fingernails & thinking nowt of it.
Old 15-01-08, 12:45   #14

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Watched this last night, and really enjoyed it. I like Louis Theroux and thought it was very interesting that he played this one very very straight. It was just a completely fascinating documentary, and I thought because of the way he done it, he brought out the actual humanity of people who society never ever want to be reminded of. The most uncomfortable bit was probably the Christian (presumably) sex offender who refused to speak about what he had done. When you compare that to the people who had accepted their crimes, their time, and were willing to speak about the horrific things they had done, I know who I felt more sympathy for...

I did find it interesting that the focus ended up on mainly white inmates. I suspect that there wasn't a lot of co-operation from the black or latino inmates. The only black people spoken to were someone who had just started their sentence and seemed to have distanced himself from the gangs, and the gay guy (cannae mind his name). He spoke to no-one Latino in the programme. I wonder whether it would have been a different type of programme if there had been a focus on other people.

Well worth watching.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 15-01-08, 13:52   #15

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Watched this last night, and really enjoyed it. I like Louis Theroux and thought it was very interesting that he played this one very very straight. It was just a completely fascinating documentary, and I thought because of the way he done it, he brought out the actual humanity of people who society never ever want to be reminded of. The most uncomfortable bit was probably the Christian (presumably) sex offender who refused to speak about what he had done. When you compare that to the people who had accepted their crimes, their time, and were willing to speak about the horrific things they had done, I know who I felt more sympathy for...

I did find it interesting that the focus ended up on mainly white inmates. I suspect that there wasn't a lot of co-operation from the black or latino inmates. The only black people spoken to were someone who had just started their sentence and seemed to have distanced himself from the gangs, and the gay guy (cannae mind his name). He spoke to no-one Latino in the programme. I wonder whether it would have been a different type of programme if there had been a focus on other people.

Well worth watching.
I was a bit dissapoint that they only focussed on the whites but then he did start off spraffing to the whites and possibly the other races took offence (?). He didn't have much discourse with the gay black guy, unfortunately.

I thought the bit where the young gay jew had hooked up with an ex white supremicist nazi gang member was quite funny. I thought about when the ex gang member got out, went home to his wife & kids (yes, he was married), knocked on the door and when his wife answered would say; "Hi honey, I'm out. No, I mean out"...

Old 15-01-08, 14:17   #16

Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

I was a bit dissapoint that they only focussed on the whites but then he did start off spraffing to the whites and possibly the other races took offence (?). He didn't have much discourse with the gay black guy, unfortunately.
My immediate thought was the blacks and the Hispanics probably didn't want to speak to a white film crew

Not through racism but just by not trusting whitey
Old 15-01-08, 14:19   #17

My immediate thought was the blacks and the Hispanics probably didn't want to speak to a white film crew

Not through racism but just by not trusting whitey
I thought they probably took the hum because he went staright to the skinheids and that sue to that if he went to speak to them he'd just be paying them lip service.

Feckin' weird situation in there. I take it it's not like that in UK jails? Not that I'm specifically asking you!

Old 15-01-08, 14:24   #18

I thought they probably took the hum because he went staright to the skinheids and that sue to that if he went to speak to them he'd just be paying them lip service.
Mibbes he went to the skins because he is Jewish
Old 15-01-08, 14:41   #19

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Feckin' weird situation in there. I take it it's not like that in UK jails? Not that I'm specifically asking you!
Don't think it's like that in terms of seperation of races (certainly in Scotland) but there is a very regional culture in Scottish jails which has the same dynamic, if not the same level of violence, which goes Weegies and weegie overspill, the rest of the country, to the best of my knowledge.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 15-01-08, 15:12   #20

Mibbes he went to the skins because he is Jewish
Aye, I see what you're saying.

Old 15-01-08, 15:13   #21

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Don't think it's like that in terms of seperation of races (certainly in Scotland) but there is a very regional culture in Scottish jails which has the same dynamic, if not the same level of violence, which goes Weegies and weegie overspill, the rest of the country, to the best of my knowledge.
As opposed to how I might think it may have been in the past i.e. sectarian. Are Scottish prison populations over religion?...

Old 15-01-08, 15:20   #22
Radge Hibby Leither