Old 13-01-08, 10:09   #1

Casino cash: £5938
Buying a holiday

Anybody got any advice on how to do this cheaply and easily?

I'll tell you the difficult way : Go to my local travel agents and get told I'll have to pay the same for me and the wee man as I would for two adults and a kid £1200 for a week in Salou Now I understand that a room costs what a room costs but how can 2 seats on a flight cost the same as 3 seats on a flight?

Anyhow, anyone got any advice so that I can do it more cheaply than that? Are there ways I can buy digs/flights separately? Anyone know any good web-sites? If Edinburgh's your area of expertise that's fine as I can get a reasonanbly priced flight to Edinburgh easily enough.

All advice welcome.

Thanking you.
Old 13-01-08, 11:01   #2

Casino cash: £542
Rep Power: 6 wanderingHibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Buying a holiday

Try using google first : search for cheap holidays to Salou

or you could try www.expedia.co.uk or www.directholidays.co.uk

there is loads of deals via the web just takes a bit of routing around to get the best deals and you'll soon get the hang of it.... offcourse it all depends on the dates of travel or age of bairn (remember if under 2 then there is normally no charge for seat)

for example a quick search on google turned up this :

http://www.directline-holidays.co.uk/Salou

not saying it's the best prices but gives you an idea (3 folks for a week s/c will be £289 pp inc flights)
Old 13-01-08, 11:58   #3

Casino cash: £11016
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

If its Salou you fancy, fly straight to Barcelona with Clickair or Globespan from Edinburgh or whomever from Aberdeen. Can be as little as £ 70 - 100 return each. Globespan do Flight/ Hotel./ Transfer packages which I use every summer, they are cheaper than doing it yourself would you believe!! I see Globespan fly to barcelona from Aberdeen now? I stuck in a week Father and son on 26 June and it came back with half board for just over £600?

You can also fly to Reus from Prestwick, Reus is around 10 miles from Salou with a good bus link. One other alternative is Aberdeen Dublin Reus with Ryanair, it can work out cheap if you get your dates right.

clickair

globespan

raynair

Then take the one hour train ride from Barcelona Airport to Salou. Its about a tenner return from memory and the trains are great.

Local Trains from Barcelona to Salou

Book your hotel in Salou direct with the hotels themselves, you'll be surprised a dad and son sharing a room can be very cheap, often with half or full board thrown in!

This is a good one.....

Whilst Salou is not my own choice of resort, I know the Tarragona area well and there is lots to do with you laddie. We went north of Salou two years ago for 17 days in late June/ Early July and had a fantastic time.

This hotel in La Pineda the resort next door to Salou and can be booked direct

Tarragona has great roman ruins to explore, Port Adventura Theme Park and Aquale0n Safari and Water Park.
Old 13-01-08, 12:01   #4

Casino cash: £17690
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
If its Salou you fancy, fly straight to Barcelona with Clickair or Globespan from Edinburgh or whomever from Aberdeen. Can be as little as £ 70 - 100 return each. Globespan do Flight/ Hotel./ Transfer packages which I use every summer, they are cheaper than doing it yourself would you believe!!

You can also fly to Reus from Prestwick, Reus is around 10 miles from Salou with a good bus link. One other alternative is Aberdeen Dublin Reus with Ryanair, it can work out cheap if you get your dates right.

clickair

globespan

raynair

Then take the one hour train ride from Barcelona Airport to Salou. Its about a tenner return from memory and the trains are great.

Local Trains from Barcelona to Salou

Book your hotel in Salou direct with the hotels themselves, you'll be surprised a dad and son sharing a room can be very cheap, often with half or full board thrown in!

This is a good one.....

Whilst Salou is not my own choice of resort, I know the Tarragona area well and there is lots to do with you laddie. We went north of Salou two years ago for 17 days in late June/ Early July and had a fantastic time.

This hotel in La Pineda the resort next door to Salou and can be booked direct

Tarragona has great roman ruins to explore, Port Adventura Theme Park and Aquale0n Safari and Water Park.
I was going to suggest a PM to SouthfieldHibby might be the answer but clearly you know uoir stuff

Old 13-01-08, 12:04   #5

Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Dub View Post
I was going to suggest a PM to SouthfieldHibby might be the answer but clearly you know uoir stuff
A pm to southfield would be a good suggestion, if Mark cannae get you a deal, there isn't one to be had.
Old 13-01-08, 17:20   #6

Casino cash: £3521
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by camthebam View Post

I'll tell you the difficult way : Go to my local travel agents and get told I'll have to pay the same for me and the wee man as I would for two adults and a kid £1200 for a week in Salou Now I understand that a room costs what a room costs but how can 2 seats on a flight cost the same as 3 seats on a flight?

Anyhow, anyone got any advice so that I can do it more cheaply than that? Are there ways I can buy digs/flights separately? Anyone know any good web-sites? If Edinburgh's your area of expertise that's fine as I can get a reasonanbly priced flight to Edinburgh easily enough.

All advice welcome.

Thanking you.

Unless your travelling in July or august that price is a rip off mate. Whats your dates, I'll have a butchers and pm you.
Old 13-01-08, 20:25   #7

Originally Posted by southfieldhibby View Post
Unless your travelling in July or august that price is a rip off mate. Whats your dates, I'll have a butchers and pm you.
You'll have a PM shortly mate.

Thanks all for the advice.

That globespan, in particular, looks the biz.
Old 13-01-08, 20:30   #8

You'll have a PM shortly mate.

Thanks all for the advice.

That globespan, in particular, looks the biz.
The one thing you didnae say Cam, when did you want to go and for how long?
Old 13-01-08, 20:34   #9

School holidays, which start 27th June up here, and for a week.
Old 13-01-08, 21:46   #10

Casino cash: £32363
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

All advice welcome.

Thanking you.
Iternet. Book direct.

This site is brilliant:-

Not for booking but for the reviews.

http://www.tripadvisor.com
Old 13-01-08, 21:58   #11

Casino cash: £3874
vCash: 70000

I went to Salou last year with Globespan the hotel was great fun.

I’ll go back to the hotel, Hotel Villamarina, http://www.hotel-villamarina.com/index.htm which you can book direct, its all inclusive too and isn’t far (about 10 minutes in a taxi) from Reus Airport, cheap Ryan Air flights.

Its about a 10 minute walk to get the bus to PortAventura I cant remember how much the taxi was.

Its not in the centre of Salou but as I said I’d go back and my kids had a great time.

As for Globespan I’ll never ever use them again.

............... ****** Even the Loch Ness Monster's a Hibby ****** ...............
Jack is online now   Reply With Quote