View Poll Results: Do you like Carlos Santana
Yes 20 54.05%
No 12 32.43%
Who is Carlos Santana 5 13.51%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Old 12-01-08, 21:00   #1
Tetris Playing Radge

Casino cash: £16206
Rep Power: 13 Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice
Carlos Santana

Right, he is one of favourite musicians (along with fratellis, muse, red hot chilis and stuff) what do you chaps think of him. I think he is an amazing singer and guitarist. My fav song by him is:
"Smooth - Carlos Santana feat. Rob Thomas"

Thoughts on this amazing guy?...
Old 12-01-08, 21:02   #2

Casino cash: £33693
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice
Re: Carlos Santana

Yes, but I couldn't eat a whole one.

Admire his technique but wouldn't buy his records.
Old 12-01-08, 21:08   #3
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23286
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Santana are superb , real music
Old 12-01-08, 21:22   #4
Tetris Playing Radge

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Santana are superb , real music
I agree i enjoy his cover of the zombies song "she's not there" but smooth is still my favourite.
Old 12-01-08, 21:23   #5
Stu

Casino cash: £5180

Santana were an amazing band. Carlos' playing is technically and artistically superb. It's also distinctive/samey, depending on your point of view.

He was a big fan of Peter Green and used Green's title The Supernatural as the name for the Santana album as a tribute to Greeny.
Old 12-01-08, 21:28   #6

Casino cash: £5882
vCash: 20250

Originally Posted by Rajazemmama2008 View Post
Right, he is one of favourite musicians (along with fratellis, muse, red hot chilis and stuff) what do you chaps think of him. I think he is an amazing singer and guitarist. My fav song by him is:

my karaoke song
Old 12-01-08, 21:29   #7

Casino cash: £2162

Personally I think he's become too MOR in his old age. For me the 70s was his best era, with the three album run from Santana, through Abraxas to Santana 3, together with his Woodstock performance, making him one of the foremost artists of the time.

I thoroughly recommend his triple live album, Lotus.
grunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 21:30   #8

Casino cash: £5882
vCash: 20250

'supernatural' album is the dogs chuckies
Old 12-01-08, 21:35   #9

Casino cash: £5509

Originally Posted by Rajazemmama2008 View Post

Not my cuppa i'm afraid.

The biggest single factor in my decision is his sound, feckin hate it.

No doubting his technical ability though.
Old 12-01-08, 21:40   #10

Old 13-01-08, 09:27   #11

Casino cash: £5157

Whilst I can appreciate Carlos Santana for his guitar playing, his band don't really do it for me. I saw them in 1984 supporting Bob Dylan at Newcastle and as I say they were excellent musicians but their set seemed to go on forever.
Old 13-01-08, 09:35   #12

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post
. I saw them in 1984 supporting Bob Dylan at Newcastle.
I was there! Great show.
Old 13-01-08, 11:26   #13

Casino cash: £662

Smooth is a great song and I quite like some of his other stuff as well, wouldn't be a massive fan though
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Dublin_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-08, 11:44   #14
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

Casino cash: £1596

Originally Posted by grunt View Post
Grunt (or anyone else for that matter) make an auld man happy. Step by step,idiot proof, how do ye put a youtube thing on a page like you have done? I'm fuckin hopeless.

WE'RE THE MENTAL HIBEES BABY WE'VE CLASS, HIBEES YA BASS
GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-08, 11:47   #15

Originally Posted by Stu View Post
Santana were an amazing band. Carlos' playing is technically and artistically superb. It's also distinctive/samey, depending on your point of view.

He was a big fan of Peter Green and used Green's title The Supernatural as the name for the Santana album as a tribute to Greeny.
Black Magic Woman is very good but not a patch on the Greeny fellas.

Old 13-01-08, 11:53   #16

Casino cash: £5440
Rep Power: 15 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by GORDONSMITH7 View Post
Grunt (or anyone else for that matter) make an auld man happy. Step by step,idiot proof, how do ye put a youtube thing on a page like you have done? I'm fuckin hopeless.

G - just copy the contents of the box 'Embed' to the right of the video on youtube.

Just paste it directly into your message.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-08, 11:59   #17
Stu

Black Magic Woman is very good but not a patch on the Greeny fellas.

Agree big fellah. There's not many (any) that can touch Peter Green though as we know.
Old 13-01-08, 12:01   #18

Rajazemmama2008 ,compare and contrast

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ymh1o09vRWE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJ7l1Oxm40k

Nice wee debate on Mac one. Friendly stuff. By the way son I'm listening as I type.Check out the wonderful end tae the Fleetwood Mac version.

PS. Only listen tae the Mac fae 1967 tae 1969.The new Mac without Peter and others were shite.

Old 13-01-08, 12:04   #19

Casino cash: £17835
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
G - just copy the contents of the box 'Embed' to the right of the video on youtube.

That doesnt seem to work for me HH. I usually copy the hyperlink, click on the youtube button at the far right [above] and paste the link into the middle of it.
YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

Old 13-01-08, 12:10   #20

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post

Cheers amigo....the proof of the pudding....just for you.......and the lad that started the thread.....beautiful.

Old 13-01-08, 12:28   #21
Tetris Playing Radge

Rajazemmama2008 ,compare and contrast

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ymh1o09vRWE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJ7l1Oxm40k

Nice wee debate on Mac one. Friendly stuff. By the way son I'm listening as I type.Check out the wonderful end tae the Fleetwood Mac version.

PS. Only listen tae the Mac fae 1967 tae 1969.The new Mac without Peter and others were shite.

Yeah i see what you mean, i like a wide variety of music and fleetwood mac do come in. i think santana is very good on guitar. but fleetwood are very good too... t'is a hard one..
Old 13-01-08, 12:47   #22
Stu

Cheers amigo....the proof of the pudding....just for you.......and the lad that started the thread.....beautiful.

What can you say to that? Words are inadequate. It just makes you tingle all over. Greatness.
Old 13-01-08, 12:51   #23
Tetris Playing Radge