Old 13-01-08, 12:02   #41

Re: bush on palestine

if it's the 'richest country' in the region, that is only because if has a form of social organisation where wealth redistribution and personal liberty is somewhat more to the fore than neighbouring territories which generate astronomic wealth.

and of course that social model is the first reason why it's a preferrable candidate for aid than medieval monarchies or theocracies.

i can't explain your own hostility to israel Al, but it rarely hits the eye popping levels of GS.

i'm not ignoring anything. i have pointed out here and before that the repeated targetting of israel for criticism, and basing that criticism on massive double standards and distorted moral equivalence, smacks of a particular bias against the people of israel. if you have another explanation let's hear it.

oh; to that i would add demands for foreign policy positions that would result in the annihilation of israel. i don't presume simple naievety here, because this is an extension of the revolutionary tactic - i can't mind the label given to it, but you might - where unreasonable demands are consciously made with the destruction of states as the end goal.

as things stand, in this country, anti-zionists are guilty as charged, because as we know hate crime law derives guilt of racism from the perception of the victim or indeed anyone else.

don't blame me - i never voted for it.
i don't understand how.

i followed standard procedures of pasting the first section and linking the rest.

and the only point i was making was the falsity of some of the conspiracy theories spread about dubya regarding this topic. that purpose shouldn't need any linked article at all, but as it is, the first bit, or the second bit establish the point.

i wasn't trying to address the bottomless hatreds directed at the people of israel, though i grant you they're relevant, as they're behind much of the smearing of bush alluded to. there's is a historical correction between vehement dislike of zionists and the propagation of conspiracy theory interpretations of present reality and history.
So objecting to anything Israel ever does is based on anti-semitism. Got it. That's me completely changed my mind which I'd based on my own logic and observations, and to avoid being labelled anti-semitic I now support everything Israel does and has done. It's going to be a bit awkward though since I object to all nuclear weapons. But obviously I can't object to Israeli ones any more, so presumably that makes me anti-muslim, anti-christian, anti-hindu, and anti-taoist. Ach, maybe not then, as I would have to be fucking retarted if I was to come out with something as monumentally stupid as that...

And for now I'll just point out the irony of you completely illustrating my point, whilst apparently disagreeing with it.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 13-01-08, 17:47   #42

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Nice tae hear fae ye Colin.Whenever I've talked tae you (ok we were usually in a drunkardly White Lighning karma) about this ,one thing that we have agreed upon is that the concept of putting yer X in a box every 3/4/5 or whatever years, is the most kid on guise of popular participation in 'Democracies'.Walking doon the road on a Thursday after Eastenders is the sum and substance no more input for years, end of..Light the blue touchpaper and wait.Further input tae running yer local situation,district,national, nowt. Sit back and watch and watch and....Before the usual smart arsed come in and give it 'Would ye rather live in China,N.Korea,Iran or Gorgie'...it is absolutely irrelevant. The participation of people everywhere is absolutely minimal and the ruling elites whether in Iran,US,China,France or wherever will try to keep it that way. Sit back and dae fuck all system that all the 'Undemocratic' countries will eventually introduce.

How are things going amigo?

Doing fine Big G, nae White Lightning here though, a tough gig
Bartok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-08, 20:24   #43

So objecting to anything Israel ever does is based on anti-semitism.
no, for the umpteenth time; singling em out, double standards, distorted moral equivalence etc etc
Got it.
let's hope so - finally.
That's me completely changed my mind which I'd based on my own logic and observations, and to avoid being labelled anti-semitic I now support everything Israel does and has done. It's going to be a bit awkward though since I object to all nuclear weapons. But obviously I can't object to Israeli ones any more, so presumably that makes me anti-muslim, anti-christian, anti-hindu, and anti-taoist. Ach, maybe not then, as I would have to be fucking retarted if I was to come out with something as monumentally stupid as that...
it's fascinating to observe the mindset of the politically extreme at (almost) first hand.
And for now I'll just point out the irony of you completely illustrating my point, whilst apparently disagreeing with it.
i haven't the slightest idea what you're on about.
Old 13-01-08, 22:24   #44

i haven't the slightest idea what you're on about.
You really can't see that my characterisation of how people who object to Israel can be portrayed as anti-semitic are illustrated perfectly by you on this thread? If not, it's completely pointless carrying this on.

And my other main point with you on this thread is that you focused on the soundbites which portray Bush as nowhere near the person that is claimed, and then completely ignored the rest of the article which details what the proposal is. And the detail completely contradicts your assertion afaic.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 13-01-08, 22:45   #45

You really can't see that my characterisation of how people who object to Israel can be portrayed as anti-semitic are illustrated perfectly by you on this thread? If not, it's completely pointless carrying this on.
no I don't understand. i'm not anti-israel?

nor am i asserting that anyone who criticises it is anti-semitic - i criticised it myself on this thread. rather, i'm asserting that people who treat it in a way i have described and qualified on several occasions which you have studiously ignored, are imho suspect.

And my other main point with you on this thread is that you focused on the soundbites which portray Bush as nowhere near the person that is claimed, and then completely ignored the rest of the article which details what the proposal is. And the detail completely contradicts your assertion afaic.
are you suggesting that the rest of the article suggests that he is indeed trying to bring about some biblical prophesy of armageddon? i must have missed that.