Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
Why Don`t We Get?..................................
White Eggs anymore?
I remember in the `70`s Brown eggs being a bit special. Anyone know? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Re: Why Don`t We Get?..................................
That's weird, my mother in law was just talking about that the other day. I remember that brown eggs were rare back in the 70's.
We only seem to get white eggs here in the USA.
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
I had organic eggs the other day and there were white and brown
Rep Power: 45 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: |
Rep Power: 34 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: |
I think it's dependant on the strain/type of chicken. White birds tend to lay white eggs.
Although it's fair to say if a chicken is brown breed, it probably won't be laying any eggs. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Rep Power: 7 ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: Tournaments Won: 2 |
I believe that in the past, when brown eggs were rarer, there were rumours that the shells on Browns were thicker and therefore the eggs were less likely to break in transit. Also the public took to them, thinking them more exotic than the usual white ones. So gradually more brown layers were introduced in the UK until they're vastly in the majority now. There are still places where you can get white eggs, but as the difference is cosmetic there's no point in searching them out... maybe now Whites are considered 'exotic' and will make a return, who knows!?
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Could it be something to do with the grit and stuff that they eat and turn into shell? Maybe some of them skip the gravel starter.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Rep Power: 7 ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: Tournaments Won: 2 |
Anyway, if it really bothers you....
Just take some fine grain sandpaper to a brown egg and gently rub it all over and Hey Presto! White Egg... QED (this is true BTW) To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
They get seperated and the white ones tend to go to industrial foodmaking companies while the brown ones are sold to the public. This is for no reason other than people thinking that brown ones were a bit more natural looking and preferring them.
As someone says above, if you are getting organic eggs then they tend to be both colours.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Saw this one on QI To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Right then Mr. "Ah ken aw aboot eggs, me." How can you get a pallet of 24/48 Double-Yokers at Bonnyrigg market/East Fortune? You can, and I have. And they ALL are. What`s that all about? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I dinny get them now `cos it`s just no` right. But seriously, how they freakin` do that? |
I had some blue eggs recently. I assume they didn't come from blue chickens.
They were brilliant BTW.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Rep Power: 29 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: |
I remember as a wee lad seeing white 'Dogs Dirt' (as i was brought up to call it in Niddrie..) on the pavements..
Or was that me slavering? |