Old 27-12-07, 22:34   #1

Casino cash: £3532
Ipod Help Please!!

Got the wee apple green 8gb apple ipod from Santa but having problems getting it set up. I go into "my computer" and the ipod's there but in itunes on the drop down menu it comes up no ipod connected and therefore doesn't allow me to transfer tunes onto it!!! Anybody help me ???
Old 27-12-07, 23:18   #2

Casino cash: £5452
Re: Ipod Help Please!!

This should sort you out.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303632

Old 28-12-07, 00:52   #3

Casino cash: £6286

Open Itunes and it should come up when u plug it in.
Old 28-12-07, 09:52   #4
Im Just Radge and used to be BionicRab

Casino cash: £9567
vCash: 102000

On a side note, anyone know any programmes bar itunes that you can use for transferring music thats not been purchased?
Old 28-12-07, 10:06   #5

Casino cash: £2152

Do you mean you are looking for a programme to copy music to your ipod but you don't want to use itunes?
grunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-07, 10:11   #6

Originally Posted by grunt View Post
Do you mean you are looking for a programme to copy music to your ipod but you don't want to use itunes?
Aye one that doesn't use the copyright thing....
Old 28-12-07, 10:19   #7

Not sure what you are getting at here (and getting a little worried into the bargain). I have lots of music in itunes which I haven't purchased online - most of it i have imported from my cd collection. ITunes doesn't seem to mind managing all that music and I can copy it to my ipod without any trouble. Are you saying there is some sort of copyright check in itunes which is building a copyright theft case against me? Not sure how itunes would know if the cd i load into it is mine or someone elses?

For sure, given Apple's idiosyncratic approach to it's products, I would expect itunes to be the optimum software to use with the ipod. Perhaps I'm being naive here.
Old 28-12-07, 11:38   #8

Originally Posted by grunt View Post
Not sure what you are getting at here (and getting a little worried into the bargain). I have lots of music in itunes which I haven't purchased online - most of it i have imported from my cd collection. ITunes doesn't seem to mind managing all that music and I can copy it to my ipod without any trouble. Are you saying there is some sort of copyright check in itunes which is building a copyright theft case against me? Not sure how itunes would know if the cd i load into it is mine or someone elses?

For sure, given Apple's idiosyncratic approach to it's products, I would expect itunes to be the optimum software to use with the ipod. Perhaps I'm being naive here.
Yip.

What i mean is that there is software you can use that isn't Itunes, that you can stick any format of music and movies on to your Ipod without it being checked for authenticity i.e. if you've downloaded an album from somewhere and want to put it on your Ipod it doesn't recognise it properly and stick it on as one song....
Old 28-12-07, 15:29   #9

Originally Posted by BionicRab View Post
i.e. if you've downloaded an album from somewhere and want to put it on your Ipod it doesn't recognise it properly and stick it on as one song....
Oh

I've never had that problem.