Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Salmond plots first move in Scottish battle to win back Lewis Chessmen
Saw the Lewis chess pieces that are currently on display in Chambers Street at the National Museum and they're incredibly beautiful artefacts. The detail on them is amazing. They're also are an important part of Scotland's cultural heritage. Good to see Alex Salmond making a stand on this to prise them from the grasp of the English imperialist robbers at the British Museum.
Re: Salmond plots first move in Scottish battle to win back Lewis Chessmen
Aaah that! I seen this and thought "who the fuck is Lewis Chessmen and where's he being held?"
They're quality fwiw. I made my own chess set when I was a bairn using moulds which replicated them. Will have to take a trip up to the museum as I didn't know they had them there.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Just because there are more pressing concerns in life does not mean a government should abandon all things considered 'lesser'. There's time and room to deal with all sorts of issues. If all we ever do is slabber on about homelessness, hospitals, starvation and war, the rest of it, the bits that give us relief, pleasure, will fall away to fuck. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Obviously the SNP are in 'Government'! |
If you think the return of the chess men is a point to be ridiculed then it says more about you than the matter in hand. But then the British have a track record in holding onto other's artifacts eh? |
Tea Totalled Radge
They'll be sitting next to the Elgin Marbles in the "Do Not Return To Rightful Owners" display room.
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge
I mean, FFS, other governments when not dealing with the bread and butter of daily life are away cluster bombing babies so I reckon asking for some chess pieces back is pretty tame eh? Almost refreshing to live under a government that spends it's spare time trying to take back what is their's as opposed to taking what isn't their's! Enjoy. |
On the surface at least. Pity there's no credible opposition to highlight a hell of a lot of manifesto broken promises though.. |
FWIW I reckon they will end up putting a vote up on the vast majority of their manifesto so that when they continually lose to the block of the Lib Dems, Labour, and Tories they will be able to turn round to the electorate and say "all these parties are the same, and they have blocked a, b, and c. This is why you should give us an overall majority in the upcoming election". But there is no point in doing it just now, far better to do it closer to the next election for the Scottish Parliament. Which is the politically savvy thing to do imo.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Ultimately they couldn't give a fuck about their promises IMO. They took a deliberate political decision to freeze Council Taxes in order to give in effect the middle classes a tax cut. A freeze on Council Tax for the top tiers is a HUGE Tax Cut for the rich. 'Minority government' didn't stop that being in their budget. What i find quite interesting was that despite the quite heavy pro-SNP stance on here when this Scottish National Party in GOVERNMENT delivered it's first ever GOVERNMENT budget in over SEVENTY YEARS there was not ONE thread or post about it. Says it all. At least your lot in the SSP wee162 would have delivered something interesting not something mirroring UK New Labour 1997 in an attempt to politically appeal to 'Middle Scotland'. But then at least GB started a process of wealth redistribution in 1997. Swinney 2007 gave tax cuts to the rich. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Maybe he could lead by example and send everything in the Chambers Street and Kelvingrove Museums back to where they come from.
Tea Totalled Radge
To be fair to Kelvingrove Museum when Sioux Indians asked for the return of a "ghost shirt" that was worn at Wounded Knee they got it back.
Is Egypt guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Rosetta Stone returned? Is Greece guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Elgin Marbles returned? Is Tajikistan guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Oxus Treasure returned? Is Kenya guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Tsavo lions returned? Is China guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Taiwan ancient artifacts returned? Is Ethiopa guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting an obelisk returned? Is Italy guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting an Etruscan chariot returned? Is Peru guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Machu Picchu Inca artifacts returned? Is Australia guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting Aboriginal bark etchings returned? Is Wales guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Salem Painting returned? Is Nigeria guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Benin Bronzes returned? Is France guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the remains of Napoleon III returned? Is Slovenia guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting Istria's jewels returned? Is Iran guilty of narrow nationalism for wanting the Halil Rud artifacts reurned? Or is it only in Scotland and only because it's an SNP government that it's narrow nationalism Col? One of the more interesting things about having a 'nationalist' government is how whenever they do something that other countries do as a matter of course, they are accused of all sorts. Let's hope when full independence does come, this unionist cringe will eventually disappear. By the way, no one is saying every single thing from every single museum is to be returned. That's just polarising the subject to a ridiculous degree. And incidentally, Green Sleeves is right, it was Kelvingrove Museum. The shirt had been given to the city of Glasgow. Following consultation with the citizens of this city, both the people and the Council had no hesitation in handing it back in July 1999 to the people it clearly meant more to. That was the civilised, correct thing to do. |