Old 12-12-07, 17:51   #1

SLF blow it

can't see their annual st paddy's bash in the weeg surviving this one unscathed. massive stramash over this pic on the sellick board, jake burns himself is actually posting trying to appease things.

ps if you don't understand the problem with this, then count yourself fortunate not to have been sullied by some of the foulest hun pish for a while

Old 12-12-07, 17:56   #2

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

Re: SLF blow it

what who is SLF. something to do with the big jock knew bollox.

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 17:56   #3
The whole world has gone radge

pray tell

SoulBamRab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 17:58   #4

Tibs will become famous soon enough

I dont understand

I get the BJK, but who are these people/where was it taken?
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 17:58   #5
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

SLF = Stiff Little Fingers -

Stirlinghibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 18:00   #6

what who is SLF. something to do with the big jock knew bollox.
the second best punk band ever after the pistols. from NI. historically known for anti-sectarian position.
Old 12-12-07, 18:04   #7

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

cheers for the info but still never heard of them.

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 18:13   #8
The whole world has gone radge

Ah got it now. Hmm maybe the baseball caps something else no?

SoulBamRab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 18:19   #9

jimmy b is on the way to a first team debut

Met Jake a couple of times in the early eighties after concerts .I find it hard to believe he would be into bjk pish.But if so then thats inflammable material etc at the bottom o the vinyl pile .
Old 12-12-07, 18:24   #10

Met Jake a couple of times in the early eighties after concerts .I find it hard to believe he would be into bjk pish.But if so then thats inflammable material etc at the bottom o the vinyl pile .
it's not jake b, it's some other guy. burns is saying he's appalled by it.
Old 12-12-07, 18:27   #11

Could it be Besiktas hat ? (Bjk)
Old 12-12-07, 18:36   #12

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

it's not jake b, it's some other guy. burns is saying he's appalled by it.
Without knowing the context of the picture its hard to comment. Is it one of the guys from SLF? Or as Forza suggests is it some bloke going into a match with a Besiktas cap? Or is it some tennis fan with a Billie Jean King cap on?

Does the guy from The Jam still play for SLF? - they liked Union Jacks and all that
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 18:51   #13

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

I don't see how it's in any way sectarian

Big Jock was a protestant for a start.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 12-12-07, 18:57   #14

Without knowing the context of the picture its hard to comment. Is it one of the guys from SLF? Or as Forza suggests is it some bloke going into a match with a Besiktas cap? Or is it some tennis fan with a Billie Jean King cap on?

Does the guy from The Jam still play for SLF? - they liked Union Jacks and all that
slf have conceded it was a big jock knew hat.
Old 12-12-07, 18:58   #15

presumably you agree it is foul hun pish though?
Old 12-12-07, 18:58   #16

Just re-read thread and realised no-one was saying that.

Old 12-12-07, 19:00   #17

Indubitably.

Old 12-12-07, 19:09   #18

Tibs will become famous soon enough

Where are you getting this from egb? Did a quick google search but it didn't come up with anything
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 19:12   #19

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

slf have conceded it was a big jock knew hat.
Ok, stop being so cryptic and gie us the whole story. Is it a picture of the band? If so what on earth is Jake Burns saying in his attempts to appease things seen's as he's in the band and therefore must have been aware there's one of his band wearing the cap. If it isn't the band is it a still from a video or something and what is he saying as the reasons for featuring said picture in video or album sleeve or whatever the feck it is from... crikey just gie us the whole story in future, I've got a paper I should be writing instead of being here!!!!! :procrastinating smiley!
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 19:23   #20

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Does it differ from Hibs supporters chanting 'beast beast beast' at Richard Gough?
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 19:58   #21

thread with stramash on tic site

jake burns post

Hi guys,

ValenciaBhoy sent me access to this forum so I could see for myself the depth of feeling Ian's hat has caused, although to be honest I could well imagine anyway.

As most of you are aware, we have ALWAYS been opposed to any form of sectarianism or bigotry. Growing up in Belfast saw to that. Consequently, we have always taken great care not to ally ourselves with, or alienate, either side of the divide we grew up among. Rather, we have tried to see both points of view. Leaving the band aside for the moment, any form of child abuse is repugnant in the extreme and to accuse anyone of that or complicity in it without grounding is despicable. But, you don't need me to tell you that.

I know that most of you doubt the honesty of Ian's apology but in his defence, I know he will have meant it.

Over the years we have built up a very special affinity with the people of Glasgow, on both sides of the divide, and that is probably the one thing I value more than any other in my career: the fact that we've always been honest with our audience. Now, you may think that's absolute shite and I'm saying anything to appease you and that would be your opinion. However, it happens to be the truth. Also, does anyone really think that threatening Ian (or anyone for that matter) will solve anything ? I know from personal experience that it doesn't.

Obviously, we as a band and individuals deeply regret this incident and the hurt it has caused and, as I said: I know Ian does as well.

Of course nothing I say can erase the fact that this has happened, I'm just greatful for the chance to at least apologise on the band's behalf.

All the best,

Jake Burns.
(Stiff Little Fingers)
Old 12-12-07, 20:27   #22

Bubbels Champion! Glop Champion! Glop 2:Glops Revenge Champion! Glop 3:Final Battle Champion! Gold Strike Champion! Halloween Pumpkins Champion!