Old 07-12-07, 11:23   #1

Double standards and hypocricy - The White House reaction to Venezuelas referendum

"We're certainly keeping an eye on them," said White House spokeswoman Dana Perino. "We are concerned that people would not be able to have the free and fair elections that they deserve."

Dana Perino, White House spokeswoman
"The Venezuelan people have spoken. We have no reason to doubt that this outcome reflects the will of the Venezuelan people,"

Sean McCormack, State Department spokesman
Now I don't believe I am ever so naive as to believe a word which comes out of the US on their perceived enemies, but is 3 days really long enough for a complete turnaround in a countries democracy?

Or is it that the US only ever thinks democracy is achieved if it happens to coincide with their aims, and ambitions...

In my opinion, they're a government of complete hypocrites which leads the unquestioning docile supposedly free corporate press in a charade of foreign policy propoganda. And I'm not Bush bashing here fwiw, it's every US government which I've ever experienced who do the same.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 07-12-07, 11:26   #2

alexi will become famous soon enough

Re: Double standards and hypocricy - The White House reaction to Venezuelas referendu

I can only guess that Chavez's policies are to the US Administrations liking.
alexi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 11:38   #3

Briant will become famous soon enough

Re: Double standards and hypocricy - The White House reaction to Venezuelas referendu

In my opinion, they're a government of complete hypocrites which leads the unquestioning docile supposedly free corporate press in a charade of foreign policy propoganda.
That could have read.....

In my opinion, they're a government of complete hypocrites which leads the unquestioning docile supposedly free UK Government in a charade of foreign policy propoganda.

Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 12:06   #4

That could have read.....

In my opinion, they're a government of complete hypocrites which leads the unquestioning docile supposedly free UK Government in a charade of foreign policy propoganda.

Course it could have. But I'm not talking about here, and the UK is not a superpower where the population has the ability to elect someone whose views and policies are based on outright falsehoods and misrepresentation.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 07-12-07, 12:30   #5

Briant will become famous soon enough

Course it could have. But I'm not talking about here, and the UK is not a superpower where the population has the ability to elect someone whose views and policies are based on outright falsehoods and misrepresentation.
Think you've misunderstood the smiley.

The
was directed at the government, not you.

But...........

The UK may not be a superpower but it did elect someone whose views and policies are based on outright falsehoods and misrepresentation. The late, grate TB.
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 12:32   #6
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

I wish someone would call a national referendum here on whether we should have a 6 Hour working day maximum. 6 hours max sounds pretty good to me. Since British Prime Ministers can stand for election indefinitely, and since the British Head of State is inherited for life, there'd be no need to complicate matters with constitutional nonsense. I'm sure the democracy-endorsing White House would approve.
Old 07-12-07, 17:27   #7
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Hypocracy by the US and the UK governments is the main thing that fecks me off with them.,Democracy is great until Hamas, Hezballah, Iranian presidents etc win the elections, then they are "ignoring the will of the international community" and other such schect.
I wish all the worlds nations would have no comments on the governence of each other. That is for the people of the nations to decide, not outsiders.

"Today , the president of Peru, Senor Alan Garcia Perez, announced his disgust at the Scottish rural development programme delay announced by Richard Lockhead at the Scottish parliament today, Senor Garcia said "It was annouced that this review would take place in Brussels in December, now I hear it is put back until January, this is unnaceptable behaviour and we will leave all options on the table!".

See how we would like it!

Stirlinghibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 20:09   #8
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

Presumably you've seen Chavez's latest comments about the result? He sounds a bit like a man issuing edicts from a bunker to me. Flailing about doesn't even half cover it.
Old 07-12-07, 21:53   #9

Americas Army Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Hit the fan Champion! Speed Master Champion!

I've always compared America to Celtic. Paranoid and deluded tae fùck.

Old 07-12-07, 22:02   #10
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I've always compared America to Celtic. Paranoid and deluded tae fùck.
Dammed if they do, dammed if they don't.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-07, 02:32   #11

Presumably you've seen Chavez's latest comments about the result?
The bits where he is saying that he believes that what he put up for the referendum was right?

Imagine, a politician who sticks to his principles regardless of losing an election. What a wanker. What he should do is completely abandon his principles in favour of electability. That's democracy after all...
Old 08-12-07, 11:31   #12
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Presumably you've seen Chavez's latest comments about the result? He sounds a bit like a man issuing edicts from a bunker to me. Flailing about doesn't even half cover it.
Presumably you're referring to the way his comments have been translated, re-arranged and spun by those wonderful people in Fleet Street?

If you want to see real flailing have a swatch at Gordon Brown and Wendy Alexander trying to spin their way out of the current shit creek they find themselves in. Except in their case the very same Fleet Street is the paddle.
Old 09-12-07, 10:31   #13

Now I don't believe I am ever so naive as to believe a word which comes out of the US on their perceived enemies, but is 3 days really long enough for a complete turnaround in a countries democracy?

Or is it that the US only ever thinks democracy is achieved if it happens to coincide with their aims, and ambitions...

In my opinion, they're a government of complete hypocrites which leads the unquestioning docile supposedly free corporate press in a charade of foreign policy propoganda. And I'm not Bush bashing here fwiw, it's every US government which I've ever experienced who do the same.
presumably they were worried about the ushering in of dictatorship, and then relieved at it's avoidance against the odds. just a thought?

in the time i've been away Al, chavez has went mental. it's a shame, as there was the slight chance that this time it might have been different.
Old 09-12-07, 18:54   #14
On the Wagon Radge

Presumably you're referring to the way his comments have been translated, re-arranged and spun by those wonderful people in Fleet Street?

If you want to see real flailing have a swatch at Gordon Brown and Wendy Alexander trying to spin their way out of the current shit creek they find themselves in. Except in their case the very same Fleet Street is the paddle.
You get more tinfoil hat every day. Where do you get your information from? Prison Planet?
Old 09-12-07, 19:01   #15
On the Wagon Radge

The bits where he is saying that he believes that what he put up for the referendum was right?

Imagine, a politician who sticks to his principles regardless of losing an election. What a wanker. What he should do is completely abandon his principles in favour of electability. That's democracy after all...
No, the flailing around and blaming his support for not being revolutionary enough (a state of affairs which incidentally doesn't chime with Green Sleeves' analysis of the state of the political mood in Venezuela).

Face it, the only bit that prevented him getting what he wanted (and this was not an election btw) was his requirement for the end of term limits. Enough Venezuelans woke up to the idea that Hugo might be getting a bit full of himself and voted against or stayed at home. For you (and GS) to spin this as some sort of victory is just odd.