Old 01-12-07, 00:13   #1

Casino cash: £5938
Christmas

Bah, f#ckin humbug.

What does it mean to you?

To me it means thousands, probably millions, of people getting into debt for no reason other than to save face.

To me it means a reminder to the lonely of just how lonely they are. The biggest suicide day in the West, by far, is Christmas day.

To me it means a false pretence of loving people you've had f#ck all to do with all year. It's insincere.

Now I don't know if Christ walked this Earth, let alone if he was the son of God. I'm almost certain it's impossible to know that for sure unless you're insane. But I like what I've heard of him. In fact I'm fairly obsessed by the purity of Christ. My humble guess is that Christmas today would disgust him. A day named after him that almost defies everything he ever said.

I refuse to bow to the nonsense. I'm putting up no decorations. Decorations don't impress me. I wear no jewellery and refuse to decorate my house with tinsel. Functionality before aesthics for me. Aint sending cards either. It's meaningless. I'm a charitable guy, I try my hardest to be kind. Christmas cards mean f#ck all to me. Have even told most people I know not to buy my kid presents and I'll reciprocate. Cruel? No! I'll buy him plenty. I'm not with his mother so she'll buy him plenty. Both rents will spoil him rotten. I'll calculate that alone as being a couple of grands worth. So why buy all that silly wee things that he'll never look at? Utter madness. I've seen piles of toys have to be put to charity shops. I'd imagine most keep them. Just in case, you know, Auntie Aggie asks.

Christmas? Pah. Bring on New Year
Old 01-12-07, 00:28   #2

Casino cash: £11011
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice
Re: Christmas

Originally Posted by camthebam View Post
Bah, f#ckin humbug.....
Cheery bassa.

I love the fake, capitalist spendathon, anti religious pap its become.

Pass me another present and a glass of port please.
1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 12:27   #3
Finished that Fangando yit, Skaramoosh?

Casino cash: £9704

Bah, f#ckin humbug.

To me it means thousands, probably millions, of people getting into debt for no reason other than to save face.

To me it means a reminder to the lonely of just how lonely they are. The biggest suicide day in the West, by far, is Christmas day.

To me it means a false pretence of loving people you've had f#ck all to do with all year. It's insincere.

Now I don't know if Christ walked this Earth, let alone if he was the son of God. I'm almost certain it's impossible to know that for sure unless you're insane. But I like what I've heard of him. In fact I'm fairly obsessed by the purity of Christ. My humble guess is that Christmas today would disgust him. A day named after him that almost defies everything he ever said.I refuse to bow to the nonsense. I'm putting up no decorations. Decorations don't impress me. I wear no jewellery and refuse to decorate my house with tinsel. Functionality before aesthics for me. Aint sending cards either. It's meaningless. I'm a charitable guy, I try my hardest to be kind. Christmas cards mean f#ck all to me. Have even told most people I know not to buy my kid presents and I'll reciprocate. Cruel? No! I'll buy him plenty. I'm not with his mother so she'll buy him plenty. Both rents will spoil him rotten. I'll calculate that alone as being a couple of grands worth. So why buy all that silly wee things that he'll never look at? Utter madness. I've seen piles of toys have to be put to charity shops. I'd imagine most keep them. Just in case, you know, Auntie Aggie asks.

I agree with what you say about the laddie fae Palastine being a top bloke, I see him as Human being #1. I would like to think that he would raise a glass o his last supper wine to all the best (kids eyes on X-Mas morning, Standing at the Scott monument looking over towards the castle as I did last night etc etc) that X-Mas brings.
Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 12:30   #4

Casino cash: £17665
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Here a cheery number just to emphasise your point there A, enjoy

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

Good band Mud.

Old 01-12-07, 12:36   #5

Casino cash: £3521
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

I'm the exact opposite.Love christmas, kids happy, lots of nice food and a couple of sherbits.New Year on the other hand is boring as feck, I'm doing a bolt to Spain to avoid the standard crappy new year.
Old 01-12-07, 12:45   #6

Casino cash: £29593
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Christmas? I love it. I'm cooking for 15 on Christmas Day. Cannae wait..YAYYY:
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 12:48   #7
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £22716
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
Christmas? I love it. I'm cooking for 15 on Christmas Day. Cannae wait..YAYYY:
Christ ive not even got that many plates
Old 01-12-07, 12:51   #8

Casino cash: £29593
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Christ ive not even got that many plates
Neither have i. They'll just need to eat it off a bit of kitchen roll..

I wish the Mrs had me oot to IKEA last night for plates..
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 15:42   #9

Casino cash: £3881

i intend to spend xmas day getting pished watching zulu:YAYYY: winter pimms = the future
Old 01-12-07, 16:07   #10

Casino cash: £3967

Andrew, for me and from my thread about Xmas, it s an event that everyone takes in his way.
am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 19:04   #11

Casino cash: £16564
vCash: 19000

christmas means watching shite films and being forced to spend too much time with certain family members that i can only stand for a maximum of 30 mins
Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 19:42   #12
Finished that Fangando yit, Skaramoosh?

Casino cash: £9704

Originally Posted by am_moroccan View Post
Andrew, for me and from my thread about Xmas, it s an event that everyone takes in his way.
Abdel, I wish you could see Edinburgh at Christmastime when it's been snowing or it's a heavy frost. Magical place.
Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 21:43   #13
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side

Casino cash: £3805
Rep Power: 3 KeithTheHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Bah, f#ckin humbug.

Now I don't know if Christ walked this Earth, let alone if he was the son of God. I'm almost certain it's impossible to know that for sure unless you're insane. But I like what I've heard of him. In fact I'm fairly obsessed by the purity of Christ. My humble guess is that Christmas today would disgust him. A day named after him that almost defies everything he ever said.

I refuse to bow to the nonsense. I'm putting up no decorations. Decorations don't impress me. I wear no jewellery and refuse to decorate my house with tinsel. Functionality before aesthics for me. Aint sending cards either. It's meaningless. I'm a charitable guy, I try my hardest to be kind. Christmas cards mean f#ck all to me. Have even told most people I know not to buy my kid presents and I'll reciprocate. Cruel? No! I'll buy him plenty. I'm not with his mother so she'll buy him plenty. Both rents will spoil him rotten. I'll calculate that alone as being a couple of grands worth. So why buy all that silly wee things that he'll never look at? Utter madness. I've seen piles of toys have to be put to charity shops. I'd imagine most keep them. Just in case, you know, Auntie Aggie asks.

I feckin love Christmas. Although when I start to get older, and I have children, I can almost guarantee that I'll share your opinion

KeithTheHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 09:22   #14
Am no licking that ya radge

Casino cash: £4250

I love Christmas. There's not a happier time of the year in the McIntosh house.
If i had my way the place would be shimmering with golden tinsel and white lights for the whole of December and a large chunk of January.

It's a magical time of year. I even smile just hearing the Coca-cola adverts.

Holidays are coming, holidays are coming

WE'RE DOOMED
brianmac is offline   Reply With Quote