Casino cash: £260 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
World Cup Draw Pots Announced
1. Italy, Spain, Germany, Czech Rep, France, Portugal, Netherlands, Croatia, Greece
2. England, Romania, Scotland, Turkey, Bulgaria, Russia, Poland, Sweden, Israel 3. Norway, Ukraine, Serbia, Denmark, N. Ireland, Rep Ireland, Finland, Switzerland, Belgium 4. Slovakia, Bosnia, Hungary, Moldova, Wales, Macedonia, Belarus, Lithuania, Cyrpus 5. Georgia, Albania, Slovenia, Latvia, Iceland, Armenia, Austria, Kahzakstan, Azerbaijan 6. Liechenstein, Estonia, Malta, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Andorra, Faroe Is, San Marino. Notice England are now in Pot 2. So we won't be playing them, may or may not be a good thing IMO. My preferred group (remember winners go through, 8 best of the 9 runners-up go to the play-offs) is: Greece SCOTLAND Belgium Cyprus Kahzakstan San Marino
Casino cash: £3376 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
Re: World Cup Draw Pots Announced
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
Casino cash: £4346 vCash: 10000
Being in pot 2 is a godsend. I would say that all the teams in our pot are ones you would not want to draw.
Casino cash: £939 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
Casino cash: £4346 vCash: 10000
Red Rose Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2002
Casino cash: £4019 vCash: 13636
Israel? Political bastards Uefa are. Corrupt too. And before I get pelters, it is Friday afternoon and its my mouth, and I'll spraff whatever pish I fancy. ![]() |
Casino cash: £7673 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
I wouldn't want Serbia, Finland or Belgium out of Pot 3. I'd fancy my chances against the rest.
Casino cash: £7673 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
TBH it'll be a familiar group Scotland usually end up with;
1. Italy/Germany/France 2. Scotland 3. Norway/Belgium 4. Belarus/Lithuania 5. Georgia/Latvia/Iceland 6. Estonia/Faroe Is/San Marino.
Part of Kazakhstan lies West of the Urals. They joined UEFA for World Cup 2006 qualifying, and are still working their way up the rankings (they have got draws and wins v some pretty big teams). The same applies to Montenegro, don't want them out of Pot 6 because this is their first ever qualifiers, they are a Pot 4 team probably. As regards why UEFA seem to have non-European members - Turkey has a wee bit in Europe, Armenia-Georgia-Azerbaijan are in a dubious situation (but White Christian generally), Cyprus lies on joins of three continental shelfs and were able to choose which they joined.
The only country that definetley should NOT be in UEFA is Israel, but I think it would be very difficult for them to play in Asia - they left many decades ago because of security issues, and no-one wanted to play them. (Wales got to the 1958 World Cup because Israel qualified without playing a game, all opponents withdrew, so a special play-off was created). Israel played in Oceania for many years, and almost reached World Cup that way IIRC!! That was when Oceania was a bit of a dumping ground for unwanted countries - Taiwan played with them for a while, I think one of the Koreas too!! There have been arguments for some time to merge the two American federations, and merge Asia with Oceania, to solve problems of competition (Americas) and teams like Australia leaving (Oceania).
![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
Casino cash: £946 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I say bring on the Italians again, we have unfinished business and realistically we would want a stong team from pot A as this gives the best chance of them taking as many points of the other teams and us going through as 2nd in the Group. Its a genuine target now.
Well be coming, well be coming..... |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £7060 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
True. I think quite a few people are under the impression that second place means automatic qualification and that is not the case. That is why it is important to draw a very beatable team, such as Greece, from Pot 1. Italy, no thanks!
Its realistic, We had a brilliant Euro 2008 qualifying campaign but we played out our socks. All teams have dips in forms as we all know so we will again luck, rock solid mentality and tackling along with this continued national pride.
But... we should not get ahead of ourselfs and believe we are better than we are, look where its got the English . Look at Greece, they should never have won the European Championships but they did. We had a group with the WC Winners,Runners-Ups,1/4 Finalists and still ran the first 2 very close. 2 Wins against France and the way we took on the Italians was brilliant. Couldnt of actually hoped for more |
Casino cash: £5706 vCash: 25700 Thanks: 5
Feck the Israeli security issue - they are not European and should get to feck...it's an embarrassment that uefa panders to thum!
Casino cash: £1983 vCash: 10000
Did we qualify. Were we brilliant against Georgia at Hampden where an injury time goal saved the day or in Georgia where we were played off the park by a team with a 17 year old goalie and a 16 year old pulling strings in the midfield. We got knocked out as usual and there is nothing brilliant about that.
Sorry but i dont buy the happy clappy tartan army bollocks
It was a terrific campaign. We are a small nation what do you expect?? Seriously, I dont think anyone would have initially thought we could go through with one of Italy/France/Ukraine, it was unrealistic but the boys done us proud regardless. We were in it right until the end but luck deserted us at the last minute. The moment Barry made it 1-1 Scotland erupted ad we nearly done it.
You may say maybe isnt good enough but we began realistically with no hope but we battled and made some of the best moments in our history. |
If you're fans faced death at every match they went to you might think differently though. There were a number of serious bombings during the 1960s of Israel matches, and that coupled with the refusal of Arab teams to play them led to them joining Oceania. This was clearly a stupid idea, and FIFA (gradually and with much contention) persuaded UEFA to take first clubs then national team in the 1990s.
Casino cash: £10516 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Turkey - Nominally, 94.0% of the Turkish population is Muslim Blows your suggestion out the water does it not? |
I wasn't referring to Turkey as White Christian, just the three 'Caucusus' countries. I know that the Azerbaijanis are Mulim, they have a crescent moon on their flag even!! However, in terms of their governing class that was (at the time of cecession from USSR) predominatly White European. There is also the usual issue about how financially and competitively it is better to play in Europe than Asia.
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
Casino cash: £22221 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Casino cash: £10516 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Fair enough, but I had a lecturer in EU Affairs today who said that the Caucusus countries were not likely candidates for membership because of distance and relations with pals Russia, "despite being predominantly White Christian" so it must be an acceptable method of description. That or he's a racist. But I think they're predominatly populating the Social Economic Policy department at Glasgow!!
#23 |