Casino cash: £3059 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Favourite/ Least favourite accents
BBC NEWS | UK | Connery's accent is UK favourite
what do you think? personally I like Brummie (dont know why its so unpopular), highlands and cockney. dont really like Northern Irish or a scouse accent. |
Casino cash: £3159 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 8
Re: Favourite/ Least favourite accents
the scouse is by far the worst. followed by scheemie weegie.
southern irish is my favourite
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Casino cash: £7900 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
I hate, that nasaly west-central Scottish / Glaswegian accent where every sentence ends with a low then high note. So annoying, even on the occasions you can understand it.
I like accents from the southern counties of Rep of Ireland. Cork, Kerry etc. Can't understand a word but it sounds really nice. Like singing a song with nonsensical words.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2004
Casino cash: £561 vCash: 0 Thanks: 32
Favourite accent, Southern Irish on a woman.
Worst, Weegie on a woman... ![]()
Casino cash: £12498 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 169
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Accents i like are Geordie/Mackem, Irish(incNorth) and Bristol.
Accents i hate are West coast(especially bints)Welsh and Doric. Worst is that half breed posh English Edinburgh accent though.
I've got to say, there are some shockingly bad Irish accents, just as there are some really bad Scottish ones. Just depends where you are in the country.
Casino cash: £3521 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
OK yah horsey types really nip my thrupnies, I find corwall/dorset accents quite endearing, mibbe because they all come across as being totally thick it's a sympathy thing?
Casino cash: £12498 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 169
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Brad Pitts Irish pikey accent in Snatch is the best
![]() I understood every word
Casino cash: £32363 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() |
All accents are fine as long as they are not too thick and you can understand what's being said.
However, one that really grates with my is RP - especially from folk with a superior attitude. It really brings out the worst in me.
Rod Petrie?
Like BBC English?
Mr Chumley-Warner ![]()
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yup. Like the type what was spoke on the bbc back in the 50s.
The Lass thats Radge About.........................
Casino cash: £1350 vCash: 121400
Love geordie accent and irish of course. Dislike brummie due to my ex dating a lass from there when we split ! dunno why it got to me so much since he is an ex ![]()
Survivor Radge
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Casino cash: £3743 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() I'm certain the Shinners will be issuing a statement shortly claiming bias as Gerry Adams didn't a get a mention. ![]()
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
Casino cash: £9840 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 175
I like the Bolton/Lancashire accent. Peter Kay's accent really
![]() I don't like the Weegie, fake-Cockney or West Country accents
Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Casino cash: £4325 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
Posh English accents really set my teeth on edge. As soon as the Queen opens her coupon it feels like a dentist's drill going right through you. Posh English sorts speaking BBC English/Queens English/Home Counties English scream out AVOID THIS PERSON. It's a shame for them cos it seems to have that affect on millions of people. Its just that theyre too thick to realise it.
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Don't know. Is there such a thing? I meant like Cholmley warner.
Casino cash: £1104 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 3
Don't like Yorkshire, it's annoying how they say right.
![]() ![]() ![]() |
It has been suggested that local accents are disappearing and becoming more like to dominant cultural accent.
In Scotland that would be Weegie and the suggestion being that more accents are closer to Weegie. I heard a radio article about how vernacular trends in England tend to spread out from London and have done for a few centuries. You don't often hear old Leith accents like my granny or old Mrs. Casey from the sweet shop had any more. Airdie and Coatbridge accents aren't that disimmilar any more and even sound quite like weegie themselves.
#23 |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £7360 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
If you are asking if there is such a thing as one Standard English then the answer is probably not as it is a ridiculous idea where the home counties (minority) perspective imposes the "standard" upon millions upon millions of other native English speakers from all over the world who can speak the language just as well (if not better). I'd guess that is why the term was written between quotation marks in the original article - suggesting there is no such thing as SE.
Fortunately more outward views of language have developed over the years and we see such terms as Scottish Standard English, Irish Standard English, American Standard English and so on. What Standard English means to me in a useful sense is speaking without dialect -not to be confused with speaking without an accent (which of course doesn't exist no matter what someone from the home counties might like to believe Using Scottish Standard English then would mean talking with a Scottish accent but avoiding use of dialect, eg saying "I don't know" instead of "Ah dinnae ken" but without the need for a Chumley Warner impression. ![]() For some reason people can get very confused between accent and dialect. Doric is a dialect. "Ken fit a mean, loon?" is of course more than accent and is clearly not (Scottish) Standard English. However, if someone from Aberdeenshire said "Do you know what I mean, son? then they would be speaking (Scottish) Standard English with an Aberdeen accent. Hope that clears things up a bit on accents and dialect. Apologies to those for whom the above is blatantly obvious but it's amazing how many people confuse accent and dialect and it makes me feel like doing this .FWIW I'm not keen on Brummie/Midlands accents, Essex is a bit of a nightmare to be honest and is not helped by the Beckhams, some Aussie and New York accdnts do my heid in as well. Also, that growing fashion which is now pretty widespread where the intonation rises at the end of virtually every sentence and makes everything said sound like a question. ![]() |