Old 22-11-07, 16:45   #41

BEEFY71 is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Favourite/ Least favourite accents

I liked the accent the Ukrainian ladies had when they were chatting away in English!

In fact, I think its just Ukranian ladies I like!
BEEFY71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 20:20   #42

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

It has long been a common belief that the best-spoken Queens English in the
UK is partaken in Inverness. Why this should be the case will have to remain
a mystery for the moment because the times are a changing.
The good burghers of Inverness have developed the ability to drop the letter
' t' at every given opportunity (i.e. pe'rol = petrol, bu'er = butter) and
to change the -ing suffix to -een. There appears also to be an obsession
with swapping vowel sounds at random.
Inspired by this, a good burgher known only as Anun, has put pen to paper
and composed a poem dedicated to the new bizarre dialect - 'Sneckalect'.

Irritating Vowel Syndrome

Whilst walkeen down the street today in sanny Invarness
I stambled on a baker's shop whose menu duhd ampress
I wandered in and ordered, then the weetrass said to me
"There's yer bah'ered scones, jawm donahts an' yer cap o' tea."

Now had I crossed the ruhver and gone to the West End Chapper
I could have bough' a con uv Coke and a fine Block Poodeen Sapper
That is, of course if I could stond the teedyass strang of text
"Ya wan'een sol' an' vanagar? Eny'heen else? Two-eigh'y whaes NEXT!"

A wander over by the Haugh down to the Bellfield Pork
Where local tennas players proctas strokes from dawn 'til dork
These days their treenurs cost the earth, the soles have rabber sackers
In my day lads wore plamsoles, and the girls - punk, frully knuckers

So there you go, my tale of woe it really is a putty
That we should change what was 'the town' into a flameen sutty
We should dispel that age-old rumour, source of endless anguish
When people say we are "Best speakers of the Unglash longwudge
Whoever wrote that has a pretty good grasp of Sneckalect.
The only minor quibble I would have with it is you are unlikely to hear "whaes" for "who's" in Inverness. Plenty of bah'red scones and so on though. In fact all that talk has put me in the mood for a fesh sapper.

However, there's absolutely nothing new about these so-called developments in the language in Inverness. Dropping 't's' and saying '-een' instead of '-ing' has been the case for 90 years at least as that is how my granny talks. So this "best Queen's English" thing is yet another myth. As shown above Invernesian plays havoc with standard vowel sounds and so can hardly be considered "Queens English".

I think perhaps we need to get away from the idea of any city/region providing the "best/proper/Queen's English". Class and education is also a major factor in this. Craigroyston High pupils probably don't sound remotely like those from Stewart's Melville for instance.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 20:47   #43

Whoever wrote that has a pretty good grasp of Sneckalect.
The only minor quibble I would have with it is you are unlikely to hear "whaes" for "who's" in Inverness. Plenty of bah'red scones and so on though. In fact all that talk has put me in the mood for a fesh sapper.

However, there's absolutely nothing new about these so-called developments in the language in Inverness. Dropping 't's' and saying '-een' instead of '-ing' has been the case for 90 years at least as that is how my granny talks. So this "best Queen's English" thing is yet another myth. As shown above Invernesian plays havoc with standard vowel sounds and so can hardly be considered "Queens English".

I think perhaps we need to get away from the idea of any city/region providing the "best/proper/Queen's English". Class and education is also a major factor in this. Craigroyston High pupils probably don't sound remotely like those from Stewart's Melville for instance.
Fecking right we dinnae

I was at Muirhouse Primary and we beat Stewarts Melville at chess. The absolute shock at getting skelped at an intellectual pursuit by schemies was plain to see on not just the pupils, but particularly the teachers, faces was an absolute pleasure even as a 10 year old. Quite possibly my proudest ever moment at school (just ahead of cheating in front of about 300 pupils and 10 polis in a "Police Quiz" at Royal High
).
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 22-11-07, 20:52   #44
Mclaren F1 Radge

Livi_hibee will become famous soon enough

Daphnes Fight For Fashion Champion! Terrorist Alert Champion!

fave - scouse

least fave - weegie

Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 20:53   #45

el_fletch is on the way to a first team debut

Geordie / Mackem , agreed.

NornIron ? Not a feckin' chance. Horrible nassally whine. Ditto Weegie scaffs.

Embra Soothside is the dugs baws of accents.
That particular accent is what we call a Belfast Accent. And its unbearable. the rest of Ulster speak similarly but not as nasally nor aggressive.

el_fletch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 21:33   #46
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side

KeithTheHibee is on the way to a first team debut

South London

WELCOME HOME DEEKS!!!
KeithTheHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-07, 11:43   #47

Noddy Holder's accent is just bostin.

Noddy holder goes into a clothes shop and says the the assistant "Can I have a kipper tie?"

The assistant says "Anything for you, Noddy. Milk and two sugars?"
Old 23-11-07, 11:45   #48

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

scouse HAS to be THE worst in UK.
Its just wrong.

SteveIrwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-07, 15:46   #49
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Distilled soapdodger is the worst by far.

Still Game at new year - Feetches!

Always make me think of the buggers that vandalise your car if you dont give them money tae "watch yer car, big man by the way" and all the usual platitudes.

Also, the Ian Paisley "we know where you live" constantly raging Belfast accent.

The best is deffo the Doric, makes me think of "Take the floor" and "The miles to Dundee!" and games of golf on gorgeous links.

Stirlinghibee is online now   Reply With Quote