Casino cash: £13048 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Treating smack addicts
Thought this was fairly interesting. If I mind right, this was something that was absolutely slated by the right wing press when it was first announced.
It rings true to me that treatment will seriously impact on the level of crime comitted by those on smack, the cost of the treatment will be a lot cheaper than locking people up plus the associated costs of the crimes committed by them, and that an opportunity now exists to also start buying the opium crop from places like Afghanistan which are largely responsible for funding groups like the Taleban... On the last point in particular I read something over the weekend which says that on the black market a gram of unprocessed opium costs $1.50 in Afghanistan, $2.50 in Pakistan, and with a rise in cost for every border it crosses till in the UK it costs $33. If states start to buy the entire opium crop and treat those with a heroin addiciton using it, then you are not only eliminating a major source of funding for some very dodgy folk involved in the transportation, but you are providing a secure income for those who grow the poppy crop. Assuming the price increases that they will be offered by those who still want to export for the illegal drug market, then presumably a major increase in the price on the street will be seen which would presumably deter many new users from starting in the first place. So other than folk disliking smack addicts in general, what exactly would be the reasoning behind not doing this other than the political impact it will have for being "soft on drugs"? Because as far as I could see this would have multi-tiered benefits across many different areas...
Casino cash: £186 vCash: 10000
Re: Treating smack addicts
Because......................... this in itself does not give any emphasis to the change process. This scheme and I dare say it will work for some people prolongs the addiction to heroin. Whereas Methadone is used to get people into services to initiate change. It is not the substance used to minnimalise withdrawal but the people who work in the service, working with the service user who make the difference. In the article it states that it is being used for the "hard end" cases and it might well be the thing for them but there are a few folk out there who actually quite like taking drugs and will see this as nirvannha.
Casino cash: £6815 vCash: 10000
Interesting concept, but surely it's only looking at one side of the picture? OK, it "suggests" that crimes committed due to heroin addiction may be reduced but we're still left with a lot of addicts aren't we? Cue more and more "hardened addicts" being referred by over-worked GPs, cue more and more immigrants working the system - "Come on over, the smack's free and it's the best of gear."Not convinced.
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Casino cash: £7900 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
Casino cash: £29593 vCash: 10000
Makes sense to me.
Ok they're getting treatment now find them a job.. |
It's also my opinion that a decent amount of people who are addicted to smack probably want to give it up. They might well have liked it when they started taking it, but the fact is that not too many folk would want to live the rest of their life with it. I would also have thought that getting addicts to engage with health services would also be the best way to actual reduction rather than just leaving it as it stands at the moment which has precisely the opposite effect. I somehow can't see a ton of immigrants landing at Heathrow saying "I want to get on the smack programme, let me in" tbf...
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
Casino cash: £1932 vCash: 10750 Thanks: 32
I've said for years that the British Government should be buying its Herion direct from Afghanistan. Our Health service needs it.
But this is too sensible. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Casino cash: £1890 vCash: 10000
and this is a good thing?? the arguments given for the methodone programme were exactly the same when it first came out, now it seems like a sick joke. When, like I have you've been burgled by junkies. When you live and work in communities devastated with drugs you lose your sympathy. Dont get me wrong I know addicts that have recovered through methodone but they are few and far between. What really pisses me off though is that a great many people are let down by the NHS every year waiting on operations etc. but every new crackpot idea concerning junkies is taken seriously. Tell you what I'll see if my GP can sort out something to help wean me off my prediliction for red wine.... it would cut down on drunken crime, and there would be less drink related deaths yada yada I really hope we don't go down the road of using smack to treat smack addiction.
What exactly are the other solutions? Destroy the opium crops and therefore peoples liveliehoods whilst letting the production just move to other places like Laos, meaning that the problem stays the same here? But then you have even more hostility against the occupying forces in Afghanistan and more support for the Taliban. That's what has been happening, and it has been an umitigated disaster.
Casino cash: £5015 vCash: 10000
Put the addicts and the staffies in the same field then bomb it!
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
We're their in anycase. (probably the long haul..) so why don't we take over the industry by nationalising it? Told ye it was a flippant point. But then again is it? If it was oil? |
The definition of madness is to keep on doing the same thing and expecting a different result. The whole point which I stated at the start is that you remove the need for junkies to be thieving feckers if they are getting their drugs! So presumably there are a lot less burglaries. You then have them in the system and can try and stop them being junkies. And I have been broken into in the last year, presumably by junkies, and was brought up in Muirhouse in the 80s. I know that smack is bad. However there are still over 20,000 people addicted to it in Scotland. Let's say that each one of them is responsible on average for 1 piece of robbery per week (I have serious doubts it's that low). When you start mutiplying that up the numbers end up being absolutely staggering. There will still be break ins etc, but if the figures from this are to be believed then there would be a serious reduction from this source... And btw, do you really want to be weaned off red wine? Methadone is the equivalent of being weaned off red wine and moving you on to white. Surely it is a better idea to control and reduce your intake of red rather than leaving you as addicted to white as you were to red...
The reason people hate junkies is because of their lifestyle/behaviour. Change that and you've solved the main problem. Do you really care that people are getting high? I couldn't give a flying one, what pisses me off is them breaking into my house while I'm asleep and stealing a handful of CDs and an empty handbag. If the government giving them drugs stops that and puts the dealers out of business it's job done if you ask me.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Casino cash: £1890 vCash: 10000
the less burglaries argument was used about the methodone programme but once the junkies got used to the methodone it just added to their ever increasing demand for drugs and crime went up again. my wine remark was flippant but designed to illustrate the rediculousness of the smack proposal.
Mystery Tour Organisin' Radge
Casino cash: £1863 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Why are we trying to "treat" something that isn't an illness?????
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
Casino cash: £6815 vCash: 10000
The sad truth is, no matter what you do to "treat" the hardened addicts, there will always be more gullible/vulnerable/stupid people climbing on to the merry-go-round and drug-related crime will continue unless these vulnerable people are educated at an early stage and basically frightened off from even trying drugs.
It's easy to knock trials like this and they'll always be fodder for tabloid hysteria but as Wee162 says, doing the same as we have been won't change the situation.
Casino cash: £5015 vCash: 10000
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |