Old 17-11-07, 09:43   #1

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about
My wee girls goldfish is deid

He's been i'll for months swimming upside down due to bouyancy problems and now he's lying at the bottom of the tank.....

Do i tell my 4 yr old some sort of finding Nemo tale about freeing him down the toilet or a fishy heaven story?

It was a silvery fish with Orange and Black on it so nipping out and buying a new one might prove hard.

Options please people,I have until next Friday
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
32 days 0 hours 15 minutes
Old 17-11-07, 09:44   #2

Re: My wee girls goldfish is deid

He's been i'll for months swimming upside down due to bouyancy problems and now he's lying at the bottom of the tank.....

Do i tell my 4 yr old some sort of finding Nemo tale about freeing him down the toilet or a fishy heaven story?

It was a silvery fish with Orange and Black on it so nipping out and buying a new one might prove hard.

Go for the loo option!

Might be good wi chips mind!!!
Old 17-11-07, 10:56   #3

You'll just need to tell her you found it trying on a hertz top so you put it out its misery. Or tell her the truth?

I dont know, I dont have kids.........................................................

Old 17-11-07, 12:48   #4

She'll be devastated M

Buy her a new one that looks the same and get shot o the deed one, she'll no ken

Old 17-11-07, 13:19   #5

She'll be devastated M

Buy her a new one that looks the same and get shot o the deed one, she'll no ken

Depends how old she is..

If young enough you may get away with buying two goldfish..

One is the mummy and the other is her baby.

Mummy has changed her appearance thanks to goldfish birth..

Sorted until your wee girl asks "But Daddy where is the Daddy of the goldfish?"

Old 17-11-07, 13:21   #6

Tell her he needed a respray
Old 17-11-07, 13:33   #7

Tell her it died because of negligence.

Old 17-11-07, 13:34   #8

We used to have a couple of the top ones, Sahara Comets, got them from Pet World which has moved from Craigleith up to Tesco's at Corstorphine, they eventually died off with the same symptoms. Although I did a Dr Doolittle on one of them who looked right off the radar, changed his water, rubbed some antiseptic cream into its wounds(it had that scabby scaly shit on it, and used some o' that drops stuff ye put in their water tae cleanse them. A day later it was daein' somersaults in the tank.

It died about 6 weeks later tho'

Old 17-11-07, 13:46   #9
Smirnoff Radge

Hibees_Daft is on the way to a first team debut

Aww Mikey thats a shame. Told you that you shouldn't feed it on beer caps!!

RIP Erin's wee fish

Hibees_Daft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 13:53   #10
Aged Radge

She'll be devastated M

I went through this palaver several times with odd looking goldfish.
I should have set up a direct debit with the local pet shop so many times was I despatched to find a 'replacement fish' so that the laddie wouldn't find out his fish had expired.

He told me when he was about 23 year old that he occasionally used to 'catch' the fish and play with it for a while before dropping it back in the tank "Still, it always seemed to recover in a day or two".

Fish murderer.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 17-11-07, 14:04   #11
Old School Radge

hixxy220 is on the way to a first team debut

Buy a replacement fishy and if she begins to doubt it just tell her that when they are young the scales change from silver (which they do) and you should be ok mate.

hixxy220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 14:53   #12

BVilleggiante is on the way to a first team debut

Buy her a dog and say it evolved.
BVilleggiante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 15:23   #13

emerald green will become famous soon enough

Pedro, Jnr Emerald Greens gold fish popped its fins a couple of months ago. I think it had a stroke because it could only swim to the left for the last few days

I just told jnr it had to go back to the shop to get fixed. The tank now sits unused in a cupboard.

Jnr wisnae bothered tbh.
emerald green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 16:05   #14

hibbill2002 is a jewel in the roughhibbill2002 is a jewel in the rough

I went through this palaver several times with odd looking goldfish.
I should have set up a direct debit with the local pet shop so many times was I despatched to find a 'replacement fish' so that the laddie wouldn't find out his fish had expired.

He told me when he was about 23 year old that he occasionally used to 'catch' the fish and play with it for a while before dropping it back in the tank "Still, it always seemed to recover in a day or two".

Fish murderer.
feckin brilliant

oops sorry...RIP the fish

hibbill2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 18:36   #15

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

don't tell her untill next time she's misbehaving, then go "look what you did, you killed your fish"...

or something...
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 22:13   #16

HibeeEmma is on the way to a first team debut

Depends how old she is..

I would just replace it and buy a differnet kind of food. If she asks why it doesnt have something on it say it must be the food.

BEBO>>
HibeeEmma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 22:17   #17

Depends how old she is..

I would just replace it and buy a differnet kind of food. If she asks why it doesnt have something on it say it must be the food.
How many kinds of food can you buy for a fish
Old 17-11-07, 22:40   #18

hibbill2002 is a jewel in the roughhibbill2002 is a jewel in the rough

How many kinds of food can you buy for a fish
chips? a pickled egg?

hibbill2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-07, 13:07   #19
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

Christ I wish ye hadnae been so hasty. On QI on Friday Steven Fry said that goldfish that float on there side at the water surface arenae usually deid (or in your case upside down) Ye see it's problems with the float bladder that gives the impression that they are deid. In fact they have been fed too much. They only need toty wee amounts of grub as their stomach's the size of there eyes. However doting mothers and faithers let their bairns fire in the smelly stuff too often and then their wee pal wants tae feed them....ye get the message. Hopefully after this sound advice there will be no more floating fish Mikey boy. If an overdose does occur starve the blighter for 3 days and it will swim like a fish. You too, though inadvertantly,could be a fish murderer. Cripes.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-07, 13:34   #20

stickyRicky is on the way to a first team debut

R.I.P Ted.
Old 18-11-07, 15:02   #21