Old 16-11-07, 10:44   #1

Children In Need

A pile of celebrity promotion pish?
Old 16-11-07, 10:56   #2

Re: Children In Need

I fecking hate anything which involves enforced jollity and oh so amusing japes.

So in that respect Children In Need comes only second to Comic Relief as something which I cannae fecking stand.

If people want to give to charity by all means they should. Terry fecking Wogan or Lenny ****ing Henry telling them to do so can ram it afaic.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 16-11-07, 11:15   #3

how much does terry wogan get paid for tonight?

i don't mind comic relief cause you normally get some decent comedians on that but children in need is painful to watch
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 11:22   #4

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

A pile of celebrity promotion pish?

I fcukin hate it smurf. Can't really add to 162s post, apart from he forgot to say that its a bag o'shite.

There should be no need for charity in this country.
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 11:25   #5

Utter pesh, so it is.

Promotes a whole load of "look at me" charitable events undertaken by wankers who wouldn't have a second for these causes if they weren't getting attention from it. Or is that cynical?
Old 16-11-07, 11:28   #6

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

It's for the kids guys, lighten the feckup.

I'm sitting here at work dressed up as a gimp letting customer's tighten the bonds for a fiver a pop.Crazy, whacky days.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 11:29   #7

I'm sitting here at work dressed up as a gimp letting customer's tighten the bonds for a fiver a pop.Crazy, whacky days.
You work for the Tory Party, yes?
Old 16-11-07, 11:53   #8
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

Who cares as long as the kid's causes get a few million.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 11:59   #9

Who cares as long as the kid's causes get a few million.
There is an argument that places like Great Ormond Street are cash rich and charity of this sort should be directed at less high profile sources.

As an aside, remember that case about the guy at Queen Street station with the bucket for "terminally ill children" made a fortune and kept the lot. Streets seem to be full of these guys at the moment. I wonder how many thieves and chancers are targeting this event.
Old 16-11-07, 12:21   #10

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 12:31   #11

I get more like Victor Meldrew every day, admittedly.
Old 16-11-07, 14:07   #12

deltinghibby is on the way to a first team debut

Mixed feelings. Strongly support the idea of giving to charity but , like WEE 162, hate enforced jollity and the whole celebrity culture pish. I'd rather spend 1 hour on the Free Rice website.
deltinghibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 22:40   #13

16StMarysStreet is on the way to a first team debut

It's a load of overpaid 'celebrities' massaging their egos under the guise of doing their bit for charity.

As I type this, the cast of Eastenders are murdering the Sergeant Pepper's Album. Fucking Hell.
Old 16-11-07, 22:51   #14

You not doing anything for CIN then
Old 16-11-07, 23:12   #15

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

How unfunny is Wogan?

The Scottish one is pretty embarrasing, did you see that News/Sport thing?
What the feck?

Loch Lomond was good though.
Old 16-11-07, 23:12   #16
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

[quote=Johnny Vegas;728033]how much does terry wogan get paid for tonight?
/QUOTE]
Widely reported today that he was going to waive his usual £9000 "nominal" fee
Old 16-11-07, 23:43   #17
Radge Hibby Leither

leither#1 is on the way to a first team debut

How unfunny is Wogan?

The Scottish one is pretty embarrasing, did you see that News/Sport thing?
What the feck?

Loch Lomond was good though.

got me right in the mood for tommorow

leither#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 23:48   #18

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

change station.

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.

shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 23:57   #19
Mclaren F1 Radge

Livi_hibee will become famous soon enough

it is pretty shite likes, i wanted see DR. WHO but it only lasted about 5 mins

Loch lomand was no bad but i have changed it since

Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 00:33   #20

Newsreaders doing a song and dance act from a musical was funny in 1973 when Morcambe and Wise did it. Why do they think its still going to be funny.
Old 17-11-07, 03:13   #21
Grumpy Auld Wimmin wi ATTITUDE ya Radges

NaeTechnoHibby is on the way to a first team debut

I don't usually see the first and last hour or so of C in N and what I can see, sadly, this is one of the few opportunities to actually that charity is needed in OUR own country too.

I always donate, either on-line or via some group who are doing 'something' and in all the buckets at ER, especially the local football teams.

We see, again sadly, the the enormity of the 'rest of the world's' tragic poverty on a regular basis and are sometimes ignorant of our own poverty.

If we cannae see the 'need' then we don't know it's there.

I have been 'blanked' whilst collecting for the Dnipro appeal and know how hard it is to get people to actually see what's in front of them, as they have become so used to the charity buckets at ER.

I know we should not have these problems in an supposedly 1st world country, but sometimes 'we' are to busy looking after ourselves to think about our own neighbours, in our JonesVJones world IMO

In other words, it's helping people and that's fine....
NaeTechnoHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-07, 03:31   #22

HaarlemShuffler is on the way to a first team debut

Recurrently, the best-ever advert for anti-capitalism.

All of human nature is there.
Old 17-11-07, 12:19   #23

I think those that organise events etc to raise money for Children are great Mark. Credit to everyone involved. What you and others do makes a huge difference.

What i was having a go at was the celebrity wankfest. I mean would The Spice Girls have got back together just for the cause of Children In Need had they been requested to do so in any previous year since they split up?

Of course not. So happens Children In Need has a massive audience and what a great way to increase sales for those Christmas shopping today.

Also, i actually do think it's ridiculous that charity is required in any case. The state should take care of such obvious needs such as Children In Need. It's IMO disgusting that a rich society as ours looks to charitable hand-outs for such need. Shameful.
To view links or imag