Old 15-11-07, 14:58   #1

Bird Flu

...may lead to a Turkey shortage for Christmas. Bad news for you meat eaters.
Old 15-11-07, 15:08   #2
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about
Re: Bird Flu

Apparently, in spite of all the scaremongering, 'Bird Flu' is not a serious threat to anyone.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-07, 15:24   #3

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

Apparently, in spite of all the scaremongering, 'Bird Flu' is not a serious threat to anyone.

If you walked passed a pidgeon who was sneezing, would you kiss it for a £10
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-07, 15:26   #4

Turkey's shite anyway. The only things that make it tolerable are the stuffing and a nice glazing on it and you can do that with pretty much any fowl.

I honestly don't think there is any christmassy type food which I find particularly nice. Mince pies. Shite. Christmas pudding. Shite. Turkey. Shite.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 15-11-07, 15:29   #5

Turkey's shite anyway. The only things that make it tolerable are the stuffing and a nice glazing on it and you can do that with pretty much any fowl.

I honestly don't think there is any christmassy type food which I find particularly nice. Mince pies. Shite. Christmas pudding. Shite. Turkey. Shite.

Can't argue wi that. However at Christmas I have broth as a starter and its made from a ham shank
. its barry.
The rest o' the scran is shite tho'. (unless there is roast tatties on the go, whos skins are thicker than my grannys heels
)
Old 15-11-07, 15:30   #6
Stu

If you walked passed a pidgeon who was sneezing, would you kiss it for a £10
I'd kiss it without the £10.

Old 15-11-07, 15:31   #7

I wisnae talking aboot a sexy woodpidgeon.... I was talking about the skanky smelly ones you see up at princes street gardens.

Still bag off wi one for a tenner
Old 15-11-07, 15:35   #8

Can't argue wi that. However at Christmas I have broth as a starter and its made from a ham shank
. its barry.
The rest o' the scran is shite tho'. (unless there is roast tatties on the go, whos skins are thicker than my grannys heels
)
Roast tatties and Broth aren't specifically Christmassy though. I'm a fan of both them in fairness. In fact any home made soup you can stick a spoon in and it doesn't fall over is good with me.

Funnily enough I quite like brussel sprouts which is something which you seem to eat a lot more of at Christmas than any other time and everyone seems to hate them.

Of course I might just be a contrary fucker which informs my taste buds...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 15-11-07, 15:39   #9

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Roast tatties and Broth aren't specifically Christmassy though. I'm a fan of both them in fairness. In fact any home made soup you can stick a spoon in and it doesn't fall over is good with me.

Funnily enough I quite like brussel sprouts which is something which you seem to eat a lot more of at Christmas than any other time and everyone seems to hate them.

Brussel sprouts boiled, diced and fried with bacon is very tasty, as for turkey, I'm 100% with you.i have two xmas dinners, one with my mum who usually has beef and the evening dinner with the in-laws who makes me ham, i just cannot abide turkey...poultry in general actually.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-07, 15:44   #10

Roast tatties and broth aren't Christmassy, agreed, but to be honest christmas day is the only time I have them!

have to say, I'm in the brussel sprouts brigade mysel. Strangely like them and again, only ever munch them at Christmas.

As a side, I tend to eat pig at xmas. I rather enjoy it.
Old 15-11-07, 15:49   #11
Stu

I wisnae talking aboot a sexy woodpidgeon.... I was talking about the skanky smelly ones you see up at princes street gardens.

Still bag off wi one for a tenner
You never said there were conditions.

Give me some time to think about it...

-

-

Okay. £5 then.

Old 15-11-07, 15:50   #12

Brussel sprouts boiled, diced and fried with bacon is very tasty, as for turkey, I'm 100% with you.i have two xmas dinners, one with my mum who usually has beef and the evening dinner with the in-laws who makes me ham, i just cannot abide turkey...poultry in general actually.
I'm convinced that people end up liking food based on the press they get. Loads of folk hate brussel sprouts, yet like aubergine. When I tell folk I dislike aubergine they say things like "you can't be cooking it properly" so I let them cook it, taste it, and then inform them that it tastes the exact same and I still find it fucking minging (I'm usually a tad politer than that depending on who I'm saying it to)...

I don't actually know anyone who regularly has turkey on Christmas day tbh. My faither has a good method of changing stuff round and always cooking something unusual. Had swordfish, shark, boar and all sorts when I've eaten with him. That also has the added bonus of if it's shite (which it really never has been) then you know you won't get it the next time.

Fuck turkey is what I say.
Old 15-11-07, 15:57   #13
Stu

I'd kiss a pigeon but that's going a bit far.

Old 15-11-07, 16:06   #14
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

I like bread sauce and brandy butter. But not together.

Would anyone like to guess the amount of time it takes for the number of people who have died of bird flu in its entire history to be killed by malaria?

The answer's twenty minutes.
Old 15-11-07, 23:30   #15

...may lead to a Turkey shortage for Christmas. Bad news for you meat eaters.
Even worse news for Turkeys..
Old 15-11-07, 23:49   #16

The bad press Turkey's are getting on this thread is shocking.
Old 16-11-07, 01:51   #17
Aged Radge

Can’t see the problem with turkey.
I never eat the bird more than once a year but that is neither appropriate nor relevant.
Turkey on the other hand is a nice bit of scran at Xmas, as long as it’s not overcooked.
Can’t be arsed with “OOOh we are doing Chinese” or “We are having a bit of dolphin- it’s just a bit of fin” stuff.
Fukc off. Turkey is Xmas. Same as sprouts.
Chestnuts. Tinsel. And shagging your secretary.
Can’t vouch for that personally, as I sometimes have sprouts in January too.
Presents. They are shit.

Is that another thread? Presents are shit though.
I’m telling you now, you give me socks or gloves and I will give you some form of sexually transmitted disease.

And worse than that, I will give it to you through a third person,
Think on that when you are looking at the gloves you cheapshit bastard.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 16-11-07, 10:28   #18

i heard bird flu is untweetable
Old 16-11-07, 11:15   #19

Can’t see the problem with turkey.
I never eat the bird more than once a year but that is neither appropriate nor relevant.
Turkey on the other hand is a nice bit of scran at Xmas, as long as it’s not overcooked.
Can’t be arsed with “OOOh we are doing Chinese” or “We are having a bit of dolphin- it’s just a bit of fin” stuff.
Fukc off. Turkey is Xmas. Same as sprouts.
Chestnuts. Tinsel. And shagging your secretary.
Can’t vouch for that personally, as I sometimes have sprouts in January too.
Presents. They are shit.

Is that another thread? Presents are shit though.
I’m telling you now, you give me socks or gloves and I will give you some form of sexually transmitted disease.

And worse than that, I will give it to you through a third person,
Think on that when you are looking at the gloves you cheapshit bastard.

Quality
Old 16-11-07, 11:35   #20

Personally, I usually have fish. Its a bugger to stuff, I can tell you.

I like BrusselsSprouts as well - especially now I've learned not to cook them to death Scottish Mammy style.
Old 16-11-07, 12:28   #21

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

Anyone know how or why the tradition of turkey on Christmas day began?

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-07, 12:29   #22