Old 13-11-07, 20:10   #1

OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough
The Standing Order

The wetherspoons bar in town... Will it let me and a few other "children" in to watch the Scotland game. Can't think of anywhere to go and we don't want to be stuck behind the goals for so long...?
OwenWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:18   #2
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice
Re: The Standing Order

probs depends on how old these "children" are, just dont appear to shifty or dinnae get pi*hed!

Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:20   #3

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

The wetherspoons bar in town... Will it let me and a few other "children" in to watch the Scotland game. Can't think of anywhere to go and we don't want to be stuck behind the goals for so long...?
There's usually Bouncers on the door Owen so i doubt it TBH,can't say i've ever seen kids in there.

Tamsons?
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
31 days 23 hours 23 minutes
Old 13-11-07, 20:26   #4
Anti-Old Firm Radge

murray will become famous soon enough

There's usually Bouncers on the door Owen so i doubt it TBH,can't say i've ever seen kids in there.

Tamsons?
Jaynes bar is ok for kids
murray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:31   #5

OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough

Just be me and a few others, just wanting to find a place with atmosphere to watch the game as no one has sky sports
OwenWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:33   #6
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

Just be me and a few others, just wanting to find a place with atmosphere to watch the game as no one has sky sports
i do
and yes i am cheesing!

Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:42   #7

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Behind The Goals / Hibs Club / the Italian nosherama on Leith Walk ......

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:13   #8
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough

Tamsons?
Depends what entrance you use, me and a few of my mates were in there for the France and Georgia away games and there was no bouncers at the Rose Street entrance.Also the place serves food till late on, so as long as your no taking anyone under the age of 16 you should be fine Owen.

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:16   #9

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Tamsons?
Dunno about night time but they've got a sign in the door saying Families Welcome so I expect that includes folk of Owens age. Should be cool 'til at least 8pm (that's when pubs that let kids in usually say they've got to be out by).

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:25   #10

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Dunno about night time but they've got a sign in the door saying Families Welcome so I expect that includes folk of Owens age. Should be cool 'til at least 8pm (that's when pubs that let kids in usually say they've got to be out by).
You could be right but i was thinking that they'll no have any adults with them which might cause them problems getting in.......

Worth a try though.
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
31 days 23 hours 23 minutes
Old 13-11-07, 21:34   #11

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

It will be so packed you will hardly be able to move. Trying to get served at the bar and getting to the bog will be like an indurance test. You can also be guaranteed at least one bevvied arsehole stag do. Thats what it was like for the rugby world cup final so god only knows what it will be like on saturday.
Avoid at all costs especially if your taking kids......its a nightmare
Old 13-11-07, 22:19   #12

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

It will be so packed you will hardly be able to move. Trying to get served at the bar and getting to the bog will be like an indurance test. You can also be guaranteed at least one bevvied arsehole stag do. Thats what it was like for the rugby world cup final so god only knows what it will be like on saturday.
Avoid at all costs especially if your taking kids......its a nightmare
Changed days then from when it used to be a branch of the Bank of Scotland. There was an unwritten rule in those days that customers should never have to wait to be served in 64 George Street..............It had what the Bank considered an up-market customer base. It had previously been the headquarters of The Union Bank of Scotland before it merged with the Bank of Scotland.
Old 14-11-07, 20:51   #13

Standing Order, Tron, Three sisters, infact anywhere in toon will be mobbed. Christ even the Dodger is going to be a crushed zone. Im going doon tae Leith tae watch it and no one of the mair prominent bars at that.

Old 14-11-07, 21:01   #14

hibeesboy66 is on the way to a first team debut

Try The New Y0rker At Jocks Lodge A Few Of The Young Lads From This Area Go There
hibeesboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-07, 23:32   #15

Try The New Y0rker At Jocks Lodge A Few Of The Young Lads From This Area Go There
A wouldnae send young Owen tae the Jocks Lodge. Here's what happened tae another Wright after being in there for 6 hours then making his way to Tamsons.

Guttered.

Old 15-11-07, 11:07   #16

Its a big plus being underage in a Wetherspoons - means you have no good reason to interact with there fecking terrible bar staff.
Old 15-11-07, 11:29   #17

tricky will become famous soon enough

Its a big plus being underage in a Wetherspoons - means you have no good reason to interact with there fecking terrible bar staff.
Wetherspoons Foot of the Walk, where the unemployed are served by the unemployable.

Marcos in Grove St will probably let the young team in Owen, think they have some big screens etc but not 100% sure.
Old 15-11-07, 12:44   #18

Wetherspoons Foot of the Walk, where the unemployed are served by the unemployable.
The first (and I'm fairly sure it was the last) time I was in the Fit Of The Walk one was no long after it opened. Had been at an away game, and it was snowing outside. Got in with a few of my mates and sauntered up to the bar to get a round in. I was met with the traditional friendly greeting of "NAE HATS, NAE SMOKING AT THE BAR (pre smoking ban obviously), NAE FITBA COLOURS" getting screamed at me. It usually at least takes me speaking before bar staff start hurling abuse at me!

ps I worked on the building of the Standing Order. In one of the wa's in the basement is a wee stash of roaches from where I used to smoke dope whilst using heavy machinery
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='

Last edited by wee 162; 15-11-07 at 23:52.
Old 15-11-07, 14:15   #19

I always seem to find myself explaining to the bar staff that they should serve the customers in turn and explaining what the current waiting order is.

In the Counting House in Glasgow this was met with a "Chill out, man" whereupon he wandered of to serve some "dolly bird" who had just sauntered up to the bar leaving the rest of us who had waited 20 minutes to just gather our belongings and go somewhere else.

I've seen more than one fight develop as a result of their approach to bar management.

Come to think of it, The Counting House started as quite a good pub (its a lovely building) and ended up rammed full of jakeys who were just there for the cheap booze.
Old 15-11-07, 23:45   #20

I always seem to find myself explaining to the bar staff that they should serve the customers in turn and explaining what the current waiting order is.

In the Counting House in Glasgow this was met with a "Chill out, man" whereupon he wandered of to serve some "dolly bird" who had just sauntered up to the bar leaving the rest of us who had waited 20 minutes to just gather our belongings and go somewhere else.

I've seen more than one fight develop as a result of their approach to bar management.

Come to think of it, The Counting House started as quite a good pub (its a lovely building) and ended up rammed full of jakeys who were just there for the cheap booze.
Aye that just about sums up the Counting House for me. Now when frequenting Glasgow to head tae Ibrox or Parkhead a head tae The Vale ootside Queen St station tae join the pensioners supping Guinness. Cracking pint. Cracking prices.

Old 16-11-07, 09:25   #21

tricky will become famous soon enough

Aye that just about sums up the Counting House for me. Now when frequenting Glasgow to head tae Ibrox or Parkhead a head tae The Vale ootside Queen St station tae join the pensioners supping Guinness. Cracking pint. Cracking prices.
very reasonable for the late carry oot for the train home as well, will prob be in there on saturday at some point