Old 12-11-07, 17:13   #1

Berwickhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Sex Pistols

Just wondering if anybody is going to SECC Glasgow on Sunday to see the worlds second greatest Punk band (the Clash being the best)
Old 12-11-07, 19:44   #2

davie9464 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Sex Pistols

you know your music m8
davie9464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 19:48   #3

kaimendhibs is on the way to a first team debut

Cannae wait. Any idea who the support are?
kaimendhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 10:08   #4

gorgie_harp is on the way to a first team debut

my wife has just telt me she's got 2 tickets for the gig.
Cant wait:YAYYY::YAYYY:. The Clash are great but for me the Sex Pistols are the tops. I know they only made one Album but it is for me, the best Album recorded. Anyway it will be a great, gig bring it on
:YAYYY:
gorgie_harp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 10:17   #5

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

Nothing worse than a bunch of punk hasbeans trying to pull it off, other than a bunch of hasbeen watching them, thinking they're cool.

Mind and take yer slippers off grandads
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 10:24   #6

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Nothing worse than a bunch of punk hasbeans trying to pull it off, other than a bunch of hasbeen watching them, thinking they're cool.

Hehe, how sad is it that a 51 year old Lydon has now become the very thing that he railed against as a 20 year old ? Plus ca change etc...........

"I am an Antichrist, I am an anarchist"
......eh, naw, don't think so John.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 10:25   #7

Not quite old enough to be a grandad
yet, but was fotunate to been around for the punk era when all the top bands played Edinburgh at great venues like Clouds, The Astoria, Tiffanays, Nicky Tams etc.
looking at your age it appears you are probably a bit envious as you only had the 3rd generation copy cats and Manchester bounce sound. Its good to see bands like 999, Sex Pistols and Stiff Little Fingers still gigging.
Old 13-11-07, 11:00   #8
Charlie Stretch Brown radge

pennywellhibby will become famous soon enough

Not quite old enough to be a grandad
yet, but was fotunate to been around for the punk era when all the top bands played Edinburgh at great venues like Clouds, The Astoria, Tiffanays, Nicky Tams etc.
looking at your age it appears you are probably a bit envious as you only had the 3rd generation copy cats and Manchester bounce sound. Its good to see bands like 999, Sex Pistols and Stiff Little Fingers still gigging.

you forgot to mention the best band which imo was and in fact still is The Damned new rose being the finest single ever

Get out of the way Stretch we cant see him
pennywellhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 11:09   #9

you forgot to mention the best band which imo was and in fact still is The Damned new rose being the finest single ever

The Damned were top stuff, I saw them a few years ago in London but only Dave Vanian and Capt Sensible were in the line up. They also had two girls playing keyboards (WTF was that all about). Saw them in Clouds a few times - Rat Scabies- the worlds second best drummer. Topper Headon of course being no 1
Old 13-11-07, 11:17   #10

The Damned were top stuff, I saw them a few years ago in London but only Dave Vanian and Capt Sensible were in the line up. They also had two girls playing keyboards (WTF was that all about). Saw them in Clouds a few times - Rat Scabies- the worlds second best drummer. Topper Headon of course being no 1
one of the women is Vanians wife been a big fall out with Scabies and the others I was lucky enough to be on tour with them in the early 80s and have seen them 108 times now and they are a fantastic group who care about the fans

Old 13-11-07, 11:25   #11

Maybe I am just a purist, I liked the original line up with Brian James, rat, Capt and Dave V, did not understand when they brought Lou in with a sax (dont cry wolf era), was ok when the Capt went on guitar and brought in Algy Ward on Bass. What was weird I went to see them in Clouds and Dave V had a throat infection and gary Holton stood in for him - the called themselves the Doomed that night. Ahh happy days.:YAYYY:
Old 13-11-07, 11:42   #12

Maybe I am just a purist, I liked the original line up with Brian James, rat, Capt and Dave V, did not understand when they brought Lou in with a sax (dont cry wolf era), was ok when the Capt went on guitar and brought in Algy Ward on Bass. What was weird I went to see them in Clouds and Dave V had a throat infection and gary Holton stood in for him - the called themselves the Doomed that night. Ahh happy days.:YAYYY:
yeh I was there they couldnt use the Damned name wasnt cause Vanian had a bad throat he had walked out and threatened to sue if they played as the Damned

Old 13-11-07, 14:21   #13

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

Just wondering if anybody is going to SECC Glasgow on Sunday to see the worlds second greatest Punk band (the Clash being the best)
SP's were in a differnt league from the Clash. I wouldnt even associate the 2.

In their day, the Pistols were just brilliant. Nothing can ever compare. The rest are rubbish.

SteveIrwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 17:39   #14
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

I still have my 1977 copy of God save the Queen .

Killing Joke are my band of choice. I have followed then for 27 years now. Last seen at the Glasgow Garage two years ago. My all time favourite "lets go fuckin mental" song is either Anarchy by the Pistols or "White Riot" by the Clash.
Old 13-11-07, 20:04   #15
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

No mention of U.K. Subs, Exploited, Dead Kennedy`s or even Angelic Upstarts (just), and many more!

Ya bunch of friggin` amatuer Punks!

p.s.
Went to SECC abot 8-9? years ago to see The `Pistols last revival. Sorry, but it was Pretty Vacant.
Hope it`s better now..................
Zitelli`s Heid! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:28   #16

No mention of U.K. Subs, Exploited, Dead Kennedy`s or even Angelic Upstarts (just), and many more!

Ya bunch of friggin` amatuer Punks!

p.s.
Went to SECC abot 8-9? years ago to see The `Pistols last revival. Sorry, but it was Pretty Vacant.
Hope it`s better now..................
Whose the amateur, UK Subs - Charlie Harper is aulder than ma dad, Exploited - real shit led by a Jambo arse who ripped of songs from other Edinburgh bands, Dead Kennedys - american pish, Angelic Upstarts, well ok I'll give you them - Mensi was pretty mad wi the pigs head
Old 13-11-07, 20:58   #17
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Commercial Punk's No Deid.

Feck the Pistols reunion tour. I'd rather stay at home with my old records of Subway Sect, The Lurkers, the Adverts, the Boys, Alternative TV, X-Ray Spex, The Ramones, The Fire Engines, and The Slits. You cannae beat the real non-plastic thing.
Old 13-11-07, 21:17   #18
Atlanta Hibs Radge

barney is on the way to a first team debut

barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:21   #19

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

prefer the more 'melodic' groups from the punk sect: the clash/the jam/undertones/buzzcocks/the ruts/specials. Ive always seen punk as the catalyst for musical development, though in itself it's not that impressive a genre. Sometimes i suppose you need a doc marten boot to kick down the door of creativity in pop music.
Old 13-11-07, 22:01   #20

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

The funny thing with Punk is that the London punk bands of the 70's like the Pistols/Banshees/Clash/Gen X/Damned were mostly art school kids. Its been well documented that Strummer was a diplomats son, Souxsie a doctors daughter. What normal punk could afford to shop in Sex.

For me the real punks came in the second wave. Exploited,GBH,Crass,UK Subs, Anti Nowhere League etc. They were the rebellious squat dwelling, on the dole nutters that the Pistols etc pretended to be.

For the record my fav punk band were The Stranglers. Hugh might have been a former teacher but they could still belt out a mean tune..... ''slap it all over my peeling skin baby that feels real good''

Last edited by Cantona; 19-11-07 at 19:48.
Cantona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 22:07   #21

grunt will become famous soon enough

Rat Scabies- the worlds second best drummer.
Rat Scabies, what a guy - I will never forget my surprise seeing him behind the drums in Donovan's backing band at the Queens Hall in 2005. Donovan is as far from punk as you can get.
grunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 22:12   #22

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

<
Rat Scabies, what a guy - I will never forget my surprise seeing him behind the drums in Donovan's backing band at the Queens Hall in 2005. Donovan is as far from punk as you can get.