Radge Hibby Leither
![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
Can you fu~%$Łg believe this
Re: Can you fu~%$Łg believe this
The SFA don't even try to be "subtle" in their Old Firm bias these days - they're totally blatant about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame. |
Stuart Dougal, the ref that sent Wee Chesney tae the stand, has issued a statement along the lines o' he's no happy at the support he's had from the SFA on this. Apparently Strachan & Celtc were allowed to have legal representation present at the appeal, whilst he wisnae. Their lawyers ripped'um up for arsepaper and this put some doubt over the decision into the heids o' the SFA commitee, and they let Wee Chesney off wae it. Dougal isnae happy over the proceedings and has issued a public statement condemning the SFA over it.
Aged Radge
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Dougals rant at the SFA, Celtc & Chesney is now on the bbc site ...
Referee Stuart Dougal has voiced concern after Celtic manager Gordon Strachan had a two-match touchline ban quashed by a Scottish FA appeals board. An original four-match ban for being sent to the stand by Dougal during the game against Hearts on 29 April had been halved after a previous hearing. And the ref complained that Strachan had a lawyer present while he did not. "When you start having lawyers and lords against a humble referee, we can't compete," he told BBC Sport. "We give our decisions as honestly and humbly as we can. "But, once it gets into the boardroom or, dare I say, a court, most referees who are not solicitors may struggle." Dougal says that he and other referees fear that the decision could open the floodgates for managers, coaches and players to challenge the SFA's disciplinary system. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Looks like Dougal might be near tae blowing his last whistle To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Probably part of the deal of them canceling their fixtures this weekend. SFA? Arseholes.
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side
The SFA have yet again bottled it with the Old Firm. This time they haven't even bothered their backsides to cover it up
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Their obvious favour of the Bigot Brothers is now laughable To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Based on a conversation I had with a Hibby who knew him a couple of years ago, I was under the impression that Dougal himself is in fact a lawyer or at least works in the law game at a fairly high level.
I admit to having precious little sympathy for him as he seems like a bell-end but the SFA are playing a dangerous game here: alienating their refs is not the brightest thing to do. P |
Frail will be next
Should anyone yet still be in any doubt as to the overwhelming ruthless power and influence that the Old Firm have in Scottish Football, then here is yet another piece of evidence. They dominate everything, top to bottom.
What a sorry state of affairs..
Did you know that 4 times as many referees leave the profession in Scotland each year than join? The SFA used to publish the exact figures, but (unsurprisingly given how bad they are) they have not for the last 2 years. In the Borders, Highlands and Perthshire a given % of fixtures now have to be cancelled each weekend, for shortage of referees, while in other areas matches are being rationed. There are now not even linemen in the East of Scotland League (Spartans, Edinburgh City etc.) and even some Junior Superleague games have gone ahead with only 1 official. This is because the SFA refuses to back officials, public park to Parkhead - and the profession is now spited and ridiculed IMO.
Tetris Playing Radge
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
fu**ing shocking the of bias is rife!
Dougal is a humble bean counter for the company KPMG in Glasgow. I used to really think he was a complete jobsworth, over officious and too quick on the draw with the old cards. He used to be one of the referees I really could not abide. However, he had a brain tumour a few years ago and was out for the best part of a season. During that time he decided to say stuff it and handed in his resignation to the SFA. It seems he was cheesed off with the beaks at that time who were sitting in the stand demanding "to the letter of the law" robots on the park and not "common sense" ones. He gave a major interview saying he had had to referee a certain way, one he did not like, when he was on the way up in the game because he would not have been promoted otherwise. When he had the brain tumour, he realised he didn't need the hassle and decided to chuck it in. The SFA panicked, as it was the season Dallas, Rowbotham and Young were going and they were left with only Clark and McCurry with experience of the really big games and they begged him to come back. He implied in his interview that he told them he would not be refereeing to suit the jobsworths but with what he felt was common sense. I have to say I have seen a big difference in both his manner and his card counts in games since. I actually do not mind him refereeing Hibs games any more - in fact compared to the likes of Richmond and Freeland etc he is a GIANT amongst pigmys. I still cannot believe the turnaround in my attitude towards him but he merits the seachange in opinion as he is a different referee to the one he was before the brain op. I still reckon John Underhill is the main man but Dougal is definitely far preferable tomany alternatives. I also think he will be consulting JU this weekend (Underhill is chairman of the newly formed referees union) about what the SFA have done to him. As someone said, hung him out to dry playing toady to Ginger ba's and Cellic. If he were to turn around again and tell them to stuff it there would be repercussions for us all. I suspect he will also have the full support of his most senior peers in the game.
Very interesting reply- thanks for taking the time to do that SKII.
I have gathered from your previous posts that you know your stuff when it comes to the refereeing fraternity, so thanks for the clarification on Stuart Dougal. I remember he was ill and I agree that he did improve rather a lot after his enforced break. I happen to think he has gone backwards again in the very recent past, but that's a matter of opinion. Maybe the general standard being so low is playing tricks with my perception. He is certainly better than the likes of Richmond and Thomson, but that's no great achievement as you say. I also agree that Underhill is the best, and I happen to think Calum Murray is excellent too, despite him allegedly being a Jambo To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I can't remember the last time we had either of these guys in charge of our games incidentally. The SFA pandering to Strachan stinks. All the bullshit we hear from certain Celtic fans about 'conspiracies' against them is proved to be just that by this little episode- bullshit. For all their recent good work, the SFA are in serious danger of inflicting a mortal wound on the game if they think that by keeping Strachan onside they are doing anyone else a favour... |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. did one of our games it was possibly as far back as the CIS Cup QF against Hearts last year. I cant recall seeing him in charge of us since, but my memory could be playing tricks. As for John, he is no longer FIFA listed as he is looking possibly to retire this year and has wound down his refereeing committments - he was off in Greece for extended fieldwork for his day job this year and deliberately cut back on the refereeing. However, I spotted him last week as 4th official for the derby. It was gutting to see him in charge of the technical area with flipping Richmond in charge. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The other ref we seem to be getting less for some bizarre reason is Dougie the Hibby... To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. On the other hand it seems to be Richmond Central To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I think Underhill's field work was the thing that made Channel 4 News, wasn't it? That's a shame if he's considering quitting, as you say it will increase the likelihood of Richmond etc making an appearance in the middle To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
#18 | ||
If there are refs we hav'nt had allocated a Hibs game in months, a year in Thomsons case, then how the feck do we manage to get an imbecile like Richmond twice in 3 SPL games. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. How does the referee match allocation system work? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Referee allocation is like The Masons. That is, it doesn't work because you're not supposed to ask!! They are "assigned matches based on the decisions of an allocations panel" but I encourage you to find out who sits on this panel and what their criteria are. I agree totally random draws won't work (could end up with a rookie on a derby, or the same ref on a club two weeks running, or a bloke who had a really bad game last time and the crowd and players will be partisan whatever he does) but the current cloak-and-dagger system isn't working either IMO. Referees union a good idea - have a strike!!