Independence minded folk - A question
I'm curious as to what institutional parts of the current UK folk who want independence would want to retain in an independent Scotland?
For me, the BBC (although with a representative part of the funds raised in Scotland spent here, as opposed to the Scottish subsidising of England which currently goes on). That's about it really for me.
Re: Independence minded folk - A question
The Dancin Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
The military aspect would be interesting, lots of issues, would we remain in NATO, or go down the road of Sweden and Ireland and join other operation bodies, peacekeeping, involvement in Iraq ? Maybe the armed forces, but i'm willing to listen to the debate to sway my thought.
It certainly makes this 'Unionist' think.. ![]() No direspect to ROI but we're also 'richer' in many ways so we could potentially do even better... ![]() Is the ROI not used by the Scot Nats to further cause because of a anti 'Fenian' feeling within 'Protestant Scotland'? dunno:
Look aboot ye! radge
Dunno what I would keep, maybe the armed forces ,as long as we could opt out of anything other than a direct attack on this island.
I got a letter from TGI Fridays yesterday confirming a booking at "Resturant 1483 - Edinburgh England", I wrote back and told them to stuff the booking up their arse. That was for after the Falkirk game on 15th Dec with the rest of the family meeting me and my oldest boy in Castle street. Do you think this would stop with independence?
I would also argue that economically is a way in which I would see Scotland not being able to emulate Ireland, short term at least, through independence. Irish economic progress was largely built on EU subsidies which went to them because they were (along with Greece, Portugal, and to a lesser extent Italy) the poorest nations in the EU, and a very aggressive taxation policy designed to attract inward investment. If Scotland became independent I would somehow not see us as being considered as poor as Latvia, Romania, Bulgaria etc and therefore nowhere near as attractive for inward investment... Scotland should be independent for many reasons imo, and this includes economic arguments (from both left and right). But to compare us with Ireland economically and say "look at them, that's exactly what would happen in Scotland" is completely misleading imo. Yet that is the only argument the SNP uses, and it's down to them recognising the bigotry inherent in large parts of this countrys populace. And they don't want to deal with that.
I agree somewhat with Al on the economics, although I am not sure the Ryan family, Tony O'Reilly, Dermot Desmond, or the Westons would?
Where I find the ROI excellent is their pride in their own culture(s), the numerous reasonably good Irish terrestrial TV stations and daily newspapers and quality magazines. They certainly dispel any myth I have read about wee countries not being able to go it alone. |
http://www.scotland.gov.uk/News/This...ign-relations/ |
Having lived in the Netherlands I'd apply the same argument to there too.
Shows what you can achieve if you still with thee concepts. Hee, hee.
I have asked John Swinney, Alex Salmond and Stewart Hosie personally about the issue of Scottish Defence Forces. Essentially speaking the intention is to retain a strong, independent military (the idea of keeping UK-wide force ditched from practicalities). This may seem odd - 'why do we need a big army, air force and navy' but the reasons are actually legitimate. Number 1, as an 'industry' it supports tens of thousands of jobs and although they would like to get the money for other uses, they can't afford to be making such a proportion of people unemployed. (I should point out NATO is bit of a contentious issue.)
Number 2, the fact that although we wouldn't (probably) be going out their and attacking people, we would still have duties as members of the UN and the EU (which has growing defence commitments) and might well want to be involved in peace-keeping operations and interventions, and ongoing commitments in defence of the Empire (which would likely be written into a UK separation agreement I've been told). Number 3, a large amount of Scottish manufacture is based around building defence equipment (most obviously ships and components for aircraft) and it be dangerous to undermine its base market, the domestic one, both in terms of £££ and because it could discourage foreign countries buying from us.
![]() ![]() Good stuff A.
Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
I'm sure his reference to the United States as "America" would go down well elsewhere in America.
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football. But that's what we get........ |
Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
The union of Utrecht was how the northern Dutch provinces rebelled against Spanish rule and "put Netherlands first" and the United Kingdom of the Netherlands you refer to, lasted all of a glorious 15 years from 1815 to 1830 until the Belgians "put Belgium first", realised the folly of the union and broke it. Your use of the present tense in talking about the United Kingdom of the Netherlands is about 177 years out right enough! You starting to get all nationalist on us Col? |
You never seen folk ripping up Captain America comics?
![]() Crowds booing as Don McLean burst into American Pie!! ![]() Whaaaa! Here's where George W calls them "American families"!!!!!! ![]() Welcome to the White House |