Old 08-11-07, 13:42   #81

Re: Independence minded folk - A question

See Switzerland, Norway, even Iceland ffs.

We could join the Euro or have our own currency, pegged to sterling or not. Either is a viable option.
You aspire to be Iceland? Says it all.

Norway's always a reasonable comparison although not as economically tied to another big economic power. Switzerland isn't a good comparison for anything, their a bit of a one off.
Old 08-11-07, 13:44   #82
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

Someone told me you could get it in Dublin, is that the case?
Yes you can, but only because there's nothing in the way of the signal from Wales.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-07, 13:57   #83

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

See Switzerland, Norway, even Iceland ffs.

We could join the Euro or have our own currency, pegged to sterling or not. Either is a viable option.
Correct Brian. We can have an informed debate on the best option for the country with the conclusions being made given the circumstances at the time and the short and long-term merits of the options.
Old 08-11-07, 14:03   #84

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

A bit like the fuckers I had to face at every fun-fair in Alloa in the 70's!
Now there's a line you don't see every day! Can I ask Stenny cos I'm intrigued, what do you mean?
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-07, 14:07   #85

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Yes you can, but only because there's nothing in the way of the signal from Wales.
Not even a signal leak?
Old 08-11-07, 14:10   #86
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

You're damn right I do, read this and weep:

Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-07, 14:12   #87

Norway's always a reasonable comparison although not as economically tied to another big economic power. Switzerland isn't a good comparison for anything, their a bit of a one off.
Iceland is one of the richest countries in the world, has an absolutely fantastic welfare state, is incredibly productive, and has a superb educational system. And it's basically a completely geographically isolated series of volfuckingcanoes.

What's wrong with wanting to be like Iceland precisely?
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 08-11-07, 14:13
Colr
This message has been deleted by Colr.
Old 08-11-07, 14:16   #88

Iceland is one of the richest countries in the world, has an absolutely fantastic welfare state, is incredibly productive, and has a superb educational system. And it's basically a completely geographically isolated series of volfuckingcanoes.

What's wrong with wanting to be like Iceland precisely?
It only has a population of 300,000. Mind you so might an independent Scotland.
Old 08-11-07, 14:22   #89
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Now there's a line you don't see every day! Can I ask Stenny cos I'm intrigued, what do you mean?
Simple, The point I was trying to make was the fact that the nut cases at the Alloa fun fairs in West End Park only ever bullied the poor little buggers (Like moi) who were always a) Outnumbered or b) Younger and smaller and c) had money given from their mums and dads which they could remove by the oft used phrase "gees a shilling fur the bandit, ya c**t". On a Global sense , The US, UK and Israel are the inhabitants of the steps of the Waltzer , the only thing being that you cant get a pals dad to get yer 5p back!
Old 08-11-07, 14:24   #90

Aye well, mind shut the door on the way oot!
Old 08-11-07, 14:30   #91

Not quite correct its BBC 1 Northern Ireland you get in Dublin, also UTV, BBC (NI) and Channel 4, although not Five.

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-07, 14:39   #92

I didn't realise that when you said "you want to aspire to be Iceland" you meant population. I was assuming you meant the quality of life people have in the country rather than how many of them there are.

You aspire to be India presumably? Who cares about the millions living in absolute poverty, there's over a billion of them!
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 08-11-07, 14:44   #93

I didn't realise that when you said "you want to aspire to be Iceland" you meant population. I was assuming you meant the quality of life people have in the country rather than how many of them there are.

You aspire to be India presumably? Who cares about the millions living in absolute poverty, there's over a billion of them!
Never a man to miss the point and revert to extreme examples!!!

Enjoy you fish based economy!!!

Its a VERY small, economically isolated country. Mmmm. maybe there is a point here.
Old 08-11-07, 14:56   #94

Don't be infantile.

You seem to want to talk Scotland down and the prospect of independence.

So be it. Thank fuck that folk like you are off the voters roll and away.

Thank the lord there are many up here who want to build a modern prosperous country.
Old 08-11-07, 15:00   #95

Don't be infantile.

You seem to want to talk Scotland down and the prospect of independence.

So be it. Thank fuck that folk like you are off the voters roll and away.

Thank the lord there are many up here who want to build a modern prosperous country.
Try reading my posts instead of giving your knee jerk reaction when faced with someone who can see the up and down side of such a move.

The really funny thing is the way some of the pro-independence lobby cannot see any downside at all but then revert to the "lets get independence first then work it out" plan.

If you'd read my posts you'd know that I can see a case for it but I think the downsides are significant.

You must be one of these "real" Scots.
Old 08-11-07, 15:07   #96

Try reading my posts instead of giving your knee jerk reaction when faced with someone who can see the up and down side of such a move.

The really funny thing is the way some of the pro-independence lobby cannot see any downside at all but then revert to the "lets get independence first then work it out" plan.
If you did not write such ill informed drivel then perhaps. Quite frankly I have no interest in responding to your posts.

Just for the record, there are many who know me on here and many like me who have argued a coherant case for an independent Scotland and what we would do with it. Do not insult us with your then work it out plan it is so far wide of the mark but then again why should facts and logic bother you, they do not appear to have done so in the past.

I have no issue with those arguing a unionist case based on reasoned argument, you would not know what that was if it hit you in the face.
Old 08-11-07, 15:12   #97

Never a man to miss the point and revert to extreme examples!!!

Enjoy you fish based economy!!!

Its a VERY small, economically isolated country. Mmmm. maybe there is a point here.
If by economically you mean geographically I agree. If you actually mean economically you know nothing whatsoever about it and are making a complete arse of yourself. The Icelandic economy is much more integrated into the world economy than that of the UK, China, the US, and virtually any other country you can think of (assuming you use such advanced metrics as level of imports and exports as percentage of GDP).

And as far as I was aware there have not been many huge runs on the Icelandic Krona either.

Oh, and Iceland is a world leader in renewable energy research, manufacture, and supply. I suppose all that fishing must just give them time to think longer than anyone else...
Old 08-11-07, 15:14   #98
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

If you'd read my posts you'd know that I can see a case for it but I think the downsides are significant.

You must be one of these "real" Scots.
Lanark, Col is one of the people who it is possible to have a rational debate about the pro's and con's of independence and has proper views as to the economic aspects of it ,I think that he is one of the ~50% of Scots who could be persuaded but haven't made up their minds to it's benefits. It just shows how far we Independence minded folk have still got to travel .
Old 08-11-07, 15:15   #99

If you did not write such ill informed drivel then perhaps. Quite frankly I have no interest in responding to your posts.

Just for the record, there are many who know me on here and many like me who have argued a coherant case for an independent Scotland and what we would do with it. Do not insult us with your then work it out plan it is so far wide of the mark but then again why should facts and logic bother you, they do not appear to have done so in the past.

I have no issue with those arguing a unionist case based on reasoned argument, you would not know what that was if it hit you in the face.
Self evidently not true.
Old 08-11-07, 15:29   #100

Lanark, Col is one of the people who it is possible to have a rational debate about the pro's and con's of independence and has proper views as to the economic aspects of it ,I think that he is one of the ~50% of Scots who could be persuaded but haven't made up their minds to it's benefits. It just shows how far we Independence minded folk have still got to travel .
I don't quite see it that way. I have been on many a platform with unionists and I have no problem dealing with it. The constant talking down of Scotland and the quite ridiculous constanting tro