Old 23-10-07, 08:22   #1

Haruki is on the way to a first team debut
Weedgie Sympathizing

It seems it's become terribly non-PC to slag of Weedgies here all of a sudden? Why? Isn't this a football forum for a team from Edinburgh? Isn't Glasgow our rival town? Isn't trading insults with rivals the very essence of what makes football such an international language and such fun? What next, Jambos on here demanding we don't use stereotypes against them?

Normally I'd ignore the pedantry but as there's been a few thinly disguised barbs concerning comments I made on my "Can we win the league?" thread I wearily feel the need to draw my pen from it's scabbard. By the way I replied to the charges on the thread but recieved no rejoinder so will assume I was ignored although I was fairly polite and graceful.

First of all I have to say that if I went onto Kerrydale or FollowFollow I would fully expect to be called an HIV+ junkie. It wouldn't bother me a jot. In fact it would amuse me. I'd rub my hands together at the anticipation of the sport. The stereotypes wouldn't bother me at all. "Only words" I'd think. I certainly wouldn't be so anal as to suggest they were abusing my rights or accuse them of racism. If you don't laugh at yourself others will do it for you.

By the same token if someone wants to call me an inbred sheep-sh#gging Highlander due to where I live, by all means go ahead. I won't cry. You may even claim you want to spit on Wickers or napalm my home town if you wish. I will realise it's only figures of speech and smile wryly.

For the record I've nothing against Glasgow. I've many friends from the place. I've spent many a quality evening there, especially in their music venues. James Kelman's my favourite Scottish writer. Ironically enough I even find that the majority of their inhabitants have superb senses of humour. I think Billy Connoly's hilarious. I knocked about with one their inhabitants for years and the slagging matches were immense. Superb fun. So it's not a hatred. It's mere friendly rivalry. The bigoted, religion obsessed, buckie swilling, thieving, ned tramps that they are

I'll sign off, for now, with a quote from Goethe;

"Men show their quality in nothing more clearly than what they think laughable"
Old 23-10-07, 09:31   #2

Shearer is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Weedgie Sympathizing

Top post. Agree with everything there. It's only a bit of banter between cities, not hatred.

Shearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 10:06   #3
The Lass thats Radge About.........................

Hibs_Lass is on the way to a first team debut

It seems it's become terribly non-PC to slag of Weedgies here all of a sudden? Why? Isn't this a football forum for a team from Edinburgh? Isn't Glasgow our rival town? Isn't trading insults with rivals the very essence of what makes football such an international language and such fun? What next, Jambos on here demanding we don't use stereotypes against them?

Normally I'd ignore the pedantry but as there's been a few thinly disguised barbs concerning comments I made on my "Can we win the league?" thread I wearily feel the need to draw my pen from it's scabbard. By the way I replied to the charges on the thread but recieved no rejoinder so will assume I was ignored although I was fairly polite and graceful.

First of all I have to say that if I went onto Kerrydale or FollowFollow I would fully expect to be called an HIV+ junkie. It wouldn't bother me a jot. In fact it would amuse me. I'd rub my hands together at the anticipation of the sport. The stereotypes wouldn't bother me at all. "Only words" I'd think. I certainly wouldn't be so anal as to suggest they were abusing my rights or accuse them of racism. If you don't laugh at yourself others will do it for you.

By the same token if someone wants to call me an inbred sheep-sh#gging Highlander due to where I live, by all means go ahead. I won't cry. You may even claim you want to spit on Wickers or napalm my home town if you wish. I will realise it's only figures of speech and smile wryly.

For the record I've nothing against Glasgow. I've many friends from the place. I've spent many a quality evening there, especially in their music venues. James Kelman's my favourite Scottish writer. Ironically enough I even find that the majority of their inhabitants have superb senses of humour. I think Billy Connoly's hilarious. I knocked about with one their inhabitants for years and the slagging matches were immense. Superb fun. So it's not a hatred. It's mere friendly rivalry. The bigoted, religion obsessed, buckie swilling, thieving, ned tramps that they are

what a post. I couldn't agree more. I think alot of people are taking this PC stuff a bit too far. I for one don't dislike or like Glasgow but I still have banter with the celtic/rangers fans I know. Maybe there is a bit more to it than I am aware of but without friendly banter its gonna be a boring old life !

Hibs_Lass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 10:21   #4

I've worked alongside many Weedgies over the years. The banter between us has been great. Great debates over the merits of the capital and her poor inferior wee sister. Never have these Weedgies got too upset and neither have i. Obviously you have to respect and admire the Weedgies though as they know deep down they can't compete with this wonderful and beautiful Scottish capital city called Edinburgh.

What has surprised me is the sensitivites displayed by a few residents of the Weedge on here. I find it quite sad. As i do the Scots or the English who get a bit too sensitive over a bit of Scotland and England banter.

When you see tables and chairs outside in Edinburgh it's a cafe-bar but in Glasgow it's a warrant sale..

Old 23-10-07, 10:40   #5
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Glasgow has some wonderful places that are a pleasure to check out when you're through there. Such as its airport. The M8. The Clyde-Forth Canal. The M77...
Old 23-10-07, 12:05   #6

aggie is on the way to a first team debut

Goethe no less? They've got schools up there in the teuchter hinterland now?
aggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 12:31   #7

Haruki is on the way to a first team debut

Goethe no less? They've got schools up there in the teuchter hinterland now?
You slagging my hometown off? Outside

Ah, the irony.
Old 23-10-07, 13:10   #8
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

It seems part of Scottish culture to rip folk from different areas or use the tightwad/poof-junkie-hoor/soapdodging weegie stereotype for the relevant city, it's just something we Scots do . No doubt the football songs about this will be the PC Brigade's next target though in their quest to impose thought fascism on us and rob us of freedom of speech, whilst ruining our saturday afternoon entertainment at the same time.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 13:21   #9

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

It seems part of Scottish culture to rip folk from different areas or use the tightwad/poof-junkie-hoor/soapdodging weegie stereotype for the relevant city, it's just something we Scots do . No doubt the football songs about this will be the PC Brigade's next target though in their quest to impose thought fascism on us and rob us of freedom of speech, whilst ruining our saturday afternoon entertainment at the same time.
Firstly, well done to you HH as we both know there is no "D" in weegie.

I actually think that the true weeg is a valuable member of Scotland. Its the knobs who think they are weegies, but come from another area of (say) strathclyde who yank ma plank!

But lets face, if you take out all our good Glasweigian Hibby brothers, that still leaves over 99.9% of them as trampy sectarian :wa**ker: does it not

Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 13:28   #10

Briant will become famous soon enough

It seems part of Scottish culture to rip folk from different areas or use the tightwad/poof-junkie-hoor/soapdodging weegie stereotype for the relevant city, it's just something we Scots do .
Your sig backs this up

I have just stolen a copy for a mate who is surrouded by jambos at work. It should appear on their noticeboard soon
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-07, 13:31   #11
PEG SELLING RADGE

Your sig backs this up

I have just stolen a copy for a mate who is surrouded by jambos at work. It should appear on their noticeboard soon
It has been proving very popular

I bought a can of it from a corner shop in gorgie today but chucked it, all the writing on it was lithuanian and it did indeed taste VERY bitter

Old 23-10-07, 13:34   #12

I've worked alongside many Weedgies over the years. The banter between us has been great. Great debates over the merits of the capital and her poor inferior wee sister. Never have these Weedgies got too upset and neither have i. Obviously you have to respect and admire the Weedgies though as they know deep down they can't compete with this wonderful and beautiful Scottish capital city called Edinburgh.

What has surprised me is the sensitivites displayed by a few residents of the Weedge on here. I find it quite sad. As i do the Scots or the English who get a bit too sensitive over a bit of Scotland and England banter.

When you see tables and chairs outside in Edinburgh it's a cafe-bar but in Glasgow it's a warrant sale..

Old 23-10-07, 16:55   #13
Aged Radge

Burn the Weege.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 23-10-07, 17:08   #14

It's quite possibly to do with the fact that there are a decent number of weegies on here who support Hibs...

Are they soapdodging bigotted cretinous arseholes?

I don't hate Glasgow, and I don't hate people from it. The football team they might support means that I will consider some of them pricks.

Which doesn't mean that I won't be singing about eating dead rats when we play either of the infirm!
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 23-10-07, 17:10   #15
PEG SELLING RADGE

Which doesn't mean that I won't be singing about eating dead rats when we play either of the infirm!
regionalist!