Old 21-10-07, 23:05   #1

Euskal Hibernia is on the way to a first team debut
Spelling Lesson

A scientific survey has revealed that the most frequently misspelled word on this forum is the verb "to lose" or variations thereof. The spelling of "lose" and "losing" with the incorrect double "o" i.e. loose, "loosing" and sometimes even "looseing" can have a negative effect on the reader as it gives the "s" a unaspirated ess sound rather than the harder aspirated zed sound that it should in fact have.
Old 21-10-07, 23:07   #2
Official 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)

Loki_Sproule will become famous soon enough
Re: Spelling Lesson

Improper use of apostrophes gets me every time. Especially when you see a professionally made sign with it. You'd think that someone with the job of painting signs, all day, every day, would know...

Email me on
to be added to our mailing list, and be kept up-to-date with all the goings on at NI Hibs HQ.

Loki_Sproule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-07, 23:09   #3

hibadelic has a spectacular aura abouthibadelic has a spectacular aura about

A scientific survey has revealed that the most frequently misspelled word on this forum is the verb "to lose" or variations thereof. The spelling of "lose" and "losing" with the incorrect double "o" i.e. loose, "loosing" and sometimes even "looseing" can have a negative effect on the reader as it gives the "s" a unaspirated ess sound rather than the harder aspirated zed sound that it should in fact have.
I suspect you are wrong there. There, their and they're are confused with incredible regularity, even by posters whose spelling is otherwise good. To and too must be up their to.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
hibadelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-07, 23:11   #4

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

I would subject them all to death by hordes of Monkeys.........................

Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
31 days 23 hours 53 minutes
Old 21-10-07, 23:18   #5

I would subject them all to death by hordes of Monkeys.........................

That guy should have just disguised himself as a vending machine. Idiot.

Old 22-10-07, 00:42   #6
Lost in France Radge

Peevemor is on the way to a first team debut

I suspect you are wrong there. There, their and they're are confused with incredible regularity, even by posters whose spelling is otherwise good. To and too must be up their to.
I would of thought the same.
Peevemor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 01:59   #7

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

I would of thought the same.
But what really pisses me off is the use of the word "of" instead of the correct word "have"! Happens at my work all the time

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 09:29   #8

Naked Chef will become famous soon enough

But what really pisses me off is the use of the word "of" instead of the correct word "have"! Happens at my work all the time
One of my personal pet hates.
One of my mates does it all the time.
Bad spelling and grammer is another pet hate.

I have a very bad habit of correcting people all the time (for which I make no apologies).

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 09:47   #9
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

The use of "of" in that context was not bad grammar. Peevemor was writing in perfectly good grammatically correct Scots. Scots is our language. Youse need to brush up on yer Scots.

(Incidentally, the word "youse" is NOT slang, but an old Scots word that predates the modern English langauge by many hundred years. English is one of the few Latin-derived languages which doesnt even have a plural of "you". How crap is that?)
Old 22-10-07, 10:27   #10

(Incidentally, the word "youse" is NOT slang, but an old Scots word that predates the modern English langauge by many hundred years. English is one of the few Latin-derived languages which doesnt even have a plural of "you". How crap is that?)
In English, the plural of "you" is "you", just as the plural of "sheep" is "sheep". I don't claim to know much about Scots but I suspect that what you wrote about "youse" is nonsense to some extent. AFAIK Scots is, in the main, derived from English, albeit with extra words chucked in. It would be a bit of a coincidence that Scots had made the word "youse" from scratch considering it is the same as the English "you" with an "s" sound at the end.

BTW I would argue that "youse" (yous?) is an acceptable word in English since it is widely used in several parts of the English speaking world.

Old 22-10-07, 10:28   #11

This was posted by some other smarterse on another thread;

Re: The of instead of have when speaking surely it's would've which sounds like would of?

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 12:23   #12

BEEFY71 is on the way to a first team debut

Is this a wind up?!!
BEEFY71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 12:34   #13

One of my personal pet hates.
One of my mates does it all the time.

I have a very bad habit of correcting people all the time (for which I make no apologies).
Oooops!!!!

Old 22-10-07, 13:13   #14

Louis Prima is on the way to a first team debut

Fecksake on about apostrophes again

Whit aboot all the apostrophes happening in Iraq and Darfur and the likes, ehh
Louis Prima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 13:39   #15

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

This was posted by some other smarterse on another thread;

Re: The of instead of have when speaking surely it's would've which sounds like would of?
I notice you must've saved it in yir favorites to have it at hand so readily...

That was me, by the way.

Oh, and I spelled their wrong on me recent Embra vs. Weedge poll. I thought about sorting it but then I don't that much of a feck.

What surprises me are the amount of illiterate folk in professional jobs. Not that it really matters. The irony is that most of the illiterate folk I've come into contact with in a professional context are English folk.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 13:43   #16

I notice you must've saved it in yir favorites to have it at hand so readily...

That was me, by the way.
Naw mate i just searched for it on google... I wisny having a dig btw it thought it were quite ushful.

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 14:23   #17

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Naw mate i just searched for it on google... I wisny having a dig btw it thought it were quite ushful.
And I realise my post might've sounded like I was taking offence. None taken.

'''-'---''s893 3%^&%^&£$"$^"^!"£$%^&*()_+~}@{:?><|¬¬¬`.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-07, 17:19   #18

In English, the plural of "you" is "you", just as the plural of "sheep" is "sheep". I don't claim to know much about Scots but I suspect that what you wrote about "youse" is nonsense to some extent. AFAIK Scots is, in the main, derived from English, albeit with extra words chucked in. It would be a bit of a coincidence that Scots had made the word "youse" from scratch considering it is the same as the English "you" with an "s" sound at the end.

BTW I would argue that "youse" (yous?) is an acceptable word in English since it is widely used in several parts of the English speaking world.
Ill-informed on a number of counts.

You're correct that in English the plural of "you" is "you" but I think that what the previous poster was trying to get at is that English does not have different "you" singular and "you" plural forms. This is unusual, at least in the Indo-European family of languages and can sometimes be a weakness in an otherwise fairly straight-forward language e.g. in distinguishing between the two in legal contracts etc.

Scots is not "derived from English". Like English, it is descended from the languages of the Anglo-Saxons but the two are branches of the same tree. Modern English is descended from dialects spoken in the Midlands and Scots from those spoken in Northumbria and SE Scotland.

As for the argument that you and youse are similar: Yes - the two languages are closely related. "Tu" means you (singular) in French, Spanish, Irish and probably a lot more languages. With the exceptions of Basque, Finnish and Hungarian, all European languages are related.

Scots is not "English with extra words chucked in" anymore than Dutch and German are the same language. Aside from vocabulary the two have a variety of grammatical and syntactical differences and until 300 years ago speakers of the two would have struggled to understand each other. Nowadays it would be hard to find anybody speaking pure Scots.

I do however agree with the part of your post i've highlighted
Old 22-10-07, 20:14   #19
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Ill-informed on a number of counts.

You're correct that in English the plural of "you" is "you" but I think that what the previous poster was trying to get at is that English does not have different "you" singular and "you" plural forms. This is unusual, at least in the Indo-European family of languages and can sometimes be a weakness in an otherwise fairly straight-forward language e.g. in distinguishing between the two in legal contracts etc.

Scots is not "derived from English". Like English, it is descended from the languages of the Anglo-Saxons but the two are branches of the same tree. Modern English is descended from dialects spoken in the Midlands and Scots from those spoken in Northumbria and SE Scotland.

As for the argument that you and youse are similar: Yes - the two languages are closely related. "Tu" means you (singular) in French, Spanish, Irish and probably a lot more languages. With the exceptions of Basque, Finnish and Hungarian, all European languages are related.

Scots is not "English with extra words chucked in" anymore than Dutch and German are the same language. Aside from vocabulary the two have a variety of grammatical and syntactical differences and until 300 years ago speakers of the two would have struggled to understand each other. Nowadays it would be hard to find anybody speaking pure Scots.

I do however agree with the part of your post i've highlighted
Well said that Basque person! A masterclass in linguistics.

So many Scots know very little about their own language(s), culture and history.

Wonder why that is...
Old 22-10-07, 20:57   #20

The use of "of" in that context was not bad grammar. Peevemor was writing in perfectly good grammatically correct Scots. Scots is our language. Youse need to brush up on yer Scots.
To view links or images in this forum y