Sir Paul McCartney
Is it just me or should Sir Paul McCartney retire from making music? His stuff is pish.
Re: Sir Paul McCartney
He has said that he'll never go down on one knee again!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Lots of new stuff is pish too , depends on what you like i suppose .
I'd hate to be young now going on what some youngsters think is great and original |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Do you remember when you were a bairn? Do you remember the auld yins at the time likin the music that you were listening to? Doubt it. Through the generations, new music comes along that horrifies the auld dears and electrifies the youth. Best thing to do when you feel yourself falling into the former and not the latter, IMHO, is to keep shtum and let the kids do their thing. Its no hurtin you is it?! Knocking it just makes you sound like one o' them Grumpy Auld Men on BBC2... As funny as that series is I still wouldnae want to be one To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Can't think of any notable pop music that McCartney has made in the last 30 years so that probably answers your question. Hasn't he composed some classical stuff though? Has anybody heard it and is it any good. Some of his concerts might be good enough but that is largely thanks to the Beatles back catalogue as far as I can see.
Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Paul McCartney was the poor man's Yoko Ono.
Or at best he was the thinking man's Ringo Starr. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
That depends if you have any teenagers living at home. The pain threshold can get quite high when the helium-voice techno kicks in.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
His last album was great - no really it was!
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2005
He's had the occasional bit of decent output in the last couple of decades, but for every Flaming Pie or Flowers In The Dirt there are 100 Ebony & Ivories or Frog Choruses.
Lets not forget, John Lennon's solo career was going the same way - were he still alive he'd be turning out the same purile garbage. |
I don't dislike Paul McCartney but much of his output for many years has been inferior and often embarrassing.
I think he has been misadvised, either that or too headstrong in believing in his continuing creativity. A great pity because he is responsible for so much great music from earlier in his career, in despite the current fashion to knock it. A clue was in his Live at The Cavern concert a few years back. McCartney compiled a very tidy band in Dave Gilmour, Mick Green the great Pirates guitarist, Ian Paice and Pete Wingfield and played a lot of the music from his roots such as Chuck Berry, Little Richard and Elvis. He has needed a good musical collaboration for so long. If he could have ever found such a unique outfit as The Travelling Wilburys as George Harrison did, it would have brought out the best of him I still can't decide whether Paul McCartney is a spent force creatively (as seems likely) or whether he just hasn't found good people to collaborate with and to draw him out of that creative vacuum.
wings
the band the beatles could have been
An Dún Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
George Harrison did it 100% the right way, plus was responsible for a lot more Beatle hits than what Sir Paul would care to admit. |
Its no just you, he is utter cack. Even the songs he wrote for the beatles were horrendous. He's a pigeon-faced arsehole.
Russian Radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
It depends on what music do you like.
I think McCartney are still doing very good job, I like his last albums. On the last album "Memories Almost Full" he sang a song called The End of the End. It is about his death and about the end of his musical adventure. He was the best and now the legend lives on. Whatever you say
Russian Radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
He just tried to say that may be it was his last album due to his age.
#22 | |