Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,377 | Posts: 598,261 | Members: 11,631 | Latest Member : martinskye
Tax and Spend - Barnet Formula
The diagram in this article kind of proves a point I made earlier (the article os Daily Mail so is a load of shecht).
Scotland pretty much pays its way it's Wales and the North of England who are being subsidized. [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] I would hope this would shut up the English nationalist twats who keep bumming on about England subsidizing Scotland - its just not the case.
Re: Tax and Spend - Barnet Formula
Maybe we should be more like the Scousers and boycott this offensive rag.
Haven't read the Mail article yet, but I recently had to find out a bit about the UK's funding formulas - having previously been very foggy on the subject. From a variety of reasonably neutral sources, it seems that the various parts of the UK are funded proportionate to the England settlement - both main budget and Barnet add-ons.
We choose to spend a larger proportion of our budget on health and education. England chooses to prioritize other areas. If this is correct (and I've no reason to believe it's not) then the suggestion that our higher per capita spending in these areas is being 'bankrolled' by English taxpayers is at best mischievous. |
Rep Power: 42 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 5000 Arcade Stats: |
kelvin mckenzies attack on Scots last night on QUESTION TIME was outrageous.
Had he used the word Black instead of Scot he would have never worked again. Some of his racial slurs were the rhetoric of the BNP
Look aboot ye! radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2007
Well well well. That map of Britain in the mail puts an end to two things auld Ingerland likes to throw at us.
1. We are subsidised to a huge extent. 2. The cabinet is dominated by Scots. I have already "ripped" the graphic off the website and i'll keep it for future ammo.
Northern Ireland is the big drain, £6,000 in but £10,200 out. And its not as if it has issues over rural depopulation etc. its just all The Troubles have left high security costs and huge investments needed.
You can understand Wales, but the North-East must mainly de down to poverty, unemployment, crime. Fair.
Look aboot ye! radge
Well, I can't understand why it needs even more tax spend per head of population, without a large bureaucracy that exists in Scotland (political, legal, educational, administrative) unless it is deprivation.
Look aboot ye! radge
Just to me I cant see that great a difference between the NE of E and us, as I keep on telling them here in my campaign to get the border moved to Yorkshire (The draft Murphy petition!).
Credit to the English audience who quite rightly jeered this arsehole. The bottom line was his point of attack originally had absolutely nothing to do with the so called lack of Scottish entrepreneurial talent but was everything to do with Gordon Brown being Scottish. He previous to saying this did the most pathetic impressions of a dour Scot... He's scum of the earth. As was shown by his disgusting behaviour in April 1989. Shame on the BBC for giving this individual airtime.. If he's now a supporter of Cameron's Tories it says it all really.. |
Back to the Mail article. Great to see an official survey on what many of us knew all along. Another of the Daily Retards lies put to bed.
Bit of a generalisation.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
It is slightly interesting that Scotland is very close to being tax neutral, only taking out 38 GBP per person more than they are putting in. Compare that to the South West, North East and Yorkshire areas and the picture emerges of the true drains on the UKs economy To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
And we also pay more tax per head than everywhere outside London including the South East.
Almost double the Welsh ! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I for one am sick of subsidising these Southern caants !
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
To the first question, if you view any English Media the overtones are there. There is a growing resentment towards the Scots because of the rise of nationalism. To the second point. It goes without saying. |
There was a bloke stood up in a Politics Society event a fortnight ago (Stewart Hosie, SNP & Jo Swinson, LibDem - Scotland Debate) and asked Stewart Hosie is he'd agree with him that Scotland wasn't a nation, had as much right to be independent as the West Midlands, was quote a "pathetic sopp and drain on the English nation, who'm they have scrounged off for centuries", a nation of "illiterate and insular" underachievers, who need the English to stop them slipping into the third world. To round off, he asked Stewart Hosie if recognised that the majority of people who voted SNP were doing so simply because of their "poisoned and vile hatred of the English, and in fact everyone who isn't Scottish". This from a well-educated bloke doing a humantiies degree at Edinburgh Uni.........
It's safe to assume that the said bloke and his pals didn't linger long after the event had finished...... However, I think it is a reflection that a (vocal though significant minority) of English society - the same people who dislike the French, hate the EU and believe that 10,000 illegal immegrants pour into the country every week, combining with the Poles and Portuguese to steal our jobs - have turned some of their anger on Scotland, because we're supposed to be dogsbodies who know our place.
Incredible attitude, and the tw@t even studies and probably live in Edinburgh.
Pure prejudice nothing more.
#23 | |
Lets not forget though that we're no different in Scotland in that we've got tw@ts anaw.. |