Old 11-10-07, 18:10   #1
Anyone for a cup of tea radge

broonieboy will become famous soon enough
Dida-Uefa decision

Dida got a 2 match ban for his dive. Anyone got any thoughts? To me thats is generous. The guy plays for one of the biggest clubs in the world, in the biggest club comp in the world and acts in this manner. He is a disgrace to his great club.

Last edited by broonieboy; 11-10-07 at 18:11. Reason: murder spelling
broonieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 18:19   #2

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Dida-Uefa decision

Ach, it's probably fair. The wee Lithu canute that dived against us got the same; both cases of simulation?

Personally, I hope Celtic get severely punished. There is are no other way to make these stupid 'fans' understand that they should never run onto the field of play.

Aye the actions of one fool may ruin it for everyone, but tough titties IMO. Punish until the lesson is learned, thats what I say

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 18:23   #3
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Baron von Hibee has a spectacular aura about

Compared to the paltry fine Celtic got, it seems a pretty harsh punishment.

His response may have been OTT, but lets not forget he wouldn't have had anything to respond to if it wasn't for that little runt invading the pitch, yet the punishment for the initial incident seems far more lenient than that for the response.

How on earth do Celtic fans manage to be so paranoid and utterly convinced the world is out to get them?
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 18:29   #4

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

His response may have been OTT, but lets not forget he wouldn't have had anything to respond to if it wasn't for that little runt invading the pitch, yet the punishment for the initial incident seems far more lenient than that for the response.

How on earth do Celtic fans manage to be so paranoid and utterly convinced the world is out to get them?
BVH, I didn't know Celtic had already had their punishment. A fine you say?

Total Joke

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 18:43   #5

BVH, I didn't know Celtic had already had their punishment. A fine you say?

Total Joke
£25k apparently.

I'm sure I'm right in thinking that means a massively wealthy club has been fined for a fan invading the pitch and trying (however pathetically) to attack an opposing player, 1/4 of what St Mirren were initially fined for fielding an ineligible player in a Scottish Cup 3rd round game 2-3 years ago.
Old 11-10-07, 19:11   #6

It gets worse - they only have to pay HALF now, with the rest only to be paid if there are similar problems in the next 2 years.

So thats a few days wages for most of their players then - that fine is really going to hurt.
Old 11-10-07, 22:24   #7

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Dida deserves his punishment. Being made to sit down and watch replays of the incident over and over again in the style of Alex from Clockwork Orange would have been even more fitting in my view. But does anyone else think the Dida pantomine has distracted UEFA from looking properly at the fan incident? Although I think the reaction to fans on the pitch can be over the top at times, consistency from UEFA would surely have resulted in a much heavier penalty. Fining Celtic 25k (or less
) is like fining you or me 1p (if that). An absolute joke.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 22:34   #8

Dida deserves his punishment. Being made to sit down and watch replays of the incident over and over again in the style of Alex from Clockwork Orange would have been even more fitting in my view. But does anyone else think the Dida pantomine has distracted UEFA from looking properly at the fan incident? Although I think the reaction to fans on the pitch can be over the top at times, consistency from UEFA would surely have resulted in a much heavier penalty. Fining Celtic 25k (or less
) is like fining you or me 1p (if that). An absolute joke.
I think you're probably right - certainly Dida's antics have allowed Celtic and the domestic media to do a great cover up job, burying the initial incident in a mass of outrage about Dida's response.

I would've thought UEFA would've been a bit more savvy, but it looks like they've fallen for it too.
Old 11-10-07, 22:41   #9

Celtic Çunts.

Old 11-10-07, 22:43   #10

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

who has had the biggest punishment,the club of the victim(no antics if no perpatrator),or the club of the field invader,dont need to be a rocket scientist.

FECKIN MURDER............................

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.

shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 22:51   #11

who has had the biggest punishment,the club of the victim(no antics if no perpatrator),or the club of the field invader,dont need to be a rocket scientist.

FECKIN MURDER............................
This has been my view all along, but too few folk seem to be able to grasp this point.

He may have overreacted, but like anyone else, Dida has a right to expect not to be attacked at work.

He was the victim here, not the wee Celtic ned.
Old 12-10-07, 10:57   #12

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

It does not matter if Dida went down easily. It's not like he was trying to get a fellow player sent off. Giving him any sort of ban is a joke.

The point is some scummy celtic fan got allowed on the pitch. It does not matter if he hardly touched the goalie, he COULD have.

Poor show Uefa.
Old 12-10-07, 11:08   #13

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

It does not matter if Dida went down easily. It's not like he was trying to get a fellow player sent off. Giving him any sort of ban is a joke.

The point is some scummy celtic fan got allowed on the pitch. It does not matter if he hardly touched the goalie, he COULD have.

Poor show Uefa.

it's a fair point.

So what about the wee laddies who run on the pitch from the lower North stand whenever Hibs score?

Or the guys who got on to pick up Boruc's gloves?
Tkraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 12:49   #14
Aged Radge

World wide humiliation for the hapless keeper is probably punishment enough.

Not sure if he needed more of a lesson.

The 'punishment' to Celtic is incredibly light.

The fact that the fencing/boards had been altered to allow more advertising revenue (and scuppering normal security arrangements) has not been mentioned anywhere?

Nor the fact that the same crush which allowed the numpty to run on to the park also caused injuries to spectators, including one woman suffering a broken ankle.

All "allegedly" of course.

Considering the wealth of the Club and indeed the income generated just in this tournament, Sellic should have received a far greater penalty.

As for the brain dead moron who ran onto the pitch?
Probably no point in punishing him, because he won't understand why.
Imbecile.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.

Last edited by Dr Shrink; 12-10-07 at 17:19.
Old 12-10-07, 16:25   #15

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

He might understand a lifetime ban from Celtic Park, which I understand he has received. Maybe the fact Celtic took that action early on saved their skins a bit.
Doesn't disguise the security breaches which have been mentioned though.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 18:15   #16

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

Disagree. Simulation is the worst thing in football right now and has to be tackled.He was a cheat full stop. If 2 games out is the going rate then he deserved it.

A fan runs on the field. So what
Nothing more than a minor breach of the peace.
Old 12-10-07, 18:23   #17
Aged Radge

Disagree. Simulation is the worst thing in football right now and has to be tackled.He was a cheat full stop. If 2 games out is the going rate then he deserved it.

Nothing more than a minor breach of the peace

That's what the fan committed sure.

But it is the shit security of the home club that is in question.
The safety of the players was put at risk - that wee erse could quite easily have been a bigger erse and skelped the keeper properly or worse.

He got on (and off, and away scot-free) far too easily.

The Soapies must be mightily relieved.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 12-10-07, 18:29   #18

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Nothing more than a minor breach of the peace
I think the big issue is that the fan made contact - albeit a joking tap - with the player. However I think its pretty rich that so many Hibees are making a stink about Celtic getting off lightly when we have a pretty poor record of keeping fans off the pitch at Easter Road and I can think of several incodents where fans weren't just running on the pitch to celebrate but were making attempt to either attack the ref or an opposition player.
vasco de gama is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 18:32   #19

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

That's what the fan committed sure.

But it is the shit security of the home club that is in question.
The safety of the players was put at risk - that wee erse could quite easily have been a bigger erse and skelped the keeper properly or worse.
:Shrink2:

He got on (and off, and away scot-free) far too easily.

The Soapies must be mightily relieved.
You make a good point which I think tempers my point in previous post about Hibs having so many invasions of an agressive nature - at least when folk have tried to attack the ref / players at ER the security has been fast to tckle them - at Celtic the guy somehow got all the way across the pitch and nobody got him...
vasco de gama is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-07, 09:39   #20

Nothing more than a minor breach of the peace.
But one event only happened as a result of the other. Dida would've had no excuse for his amateur dramatics if he'd not been 'attacked'.
Old 13-10-07, 09:44   #21

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Baron von Hibee