![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
Godform...
Following on from the water thread, it surprised me a tad that a basic question, (where does all the earths water come from) ended up as a god debate.
For those who believe in an omnipresence, in what form does it take? I get the feeling that the majority of bouncers are non-believers. But what brought them to this conclusion? Any non-believer I've asked usually comes out with e.g "would god let that auld lady down the street get mugged" etc. Cheers |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Re: Godform...
As to what God actually looks like... maybe this :- To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Look aboot ye! radge
This sums up religion for me -
"Russell's teapot, sometimes called the Celestial Teapot, was an analogy first coined by the philosopher Bertrand Russell (1872–1970), intended to refute the idea that the burden of proof lies upon the sceptic to disprove unfalsifiable claims of religions. In an article entitled "Is There a God?", commissioned (but never published) by Illustrated magazine in 1952, Russell wrote: If I were to suggest that between the Earth and Mars there is a china teapot revolving about the sun in an elliptical orbit, nobody would be able to disprove my assertion provided I were careful to add that the teapot is too small to be revealed even by our most powerful telescopes. But if I were to go on to say that, since my assertion cannot be disproved, it is an intolerable presumption on the part of human reason to doubt it, I should rightly be thought to be talking nonsense. If, however, the existence of such a teapot were affirmed in ancient books, taught as the sacred truth every Sunday, and instilled into the minds of children at school, hesitation to believe in its existence would become a mark of eccentricity and entitle the doubter to the attentions of the psychiatrist in an enlightened age or of the Inquisitor in an earlier time. In his 2003 book A Devil's Chaplain, Richard Dawkins developed the teapot theme a little further: The reason organized religion merits outright hostility is that, unlike belief in Russell's teapot, religion is powerful, influential, tax-exempt and systematically passed on to children too young to defend themselves. Children are not compelled to spend their formative years memorizing loony books about teapots. Government-subsidized schools don't exclude children whose parents prefer the wrong shape of teapot. Teapot-believers don't stone teapot-unbelievers, teapot-apostates, teapot-heretics and teapot-blasphemers to death. Mothers don't warn their sons off marrying teapot-shiksas whose parents believe in three teapots rather than one. People who put the milk in first don't kneecap those who put the tea in first. The concept of Russell's teapot has been extrapolated into humorous, more explicitly religion-parodying forms such as the Invisible Pink Unicorn[2] and the Flying Spaghetti Monster.[3]" The only part of any religion I like is the statements about morality some make ie Thou shalt not Kill. If that makes some Humans act like Mother Theresa or Norman Kember then It does some good, However Religion also gives us the Ian Paisleys, Gerry Falwells and Osama bin Ladens. The "Supernatural" ie God, Miracles etc parts of religion I put along with Santa Claus, The tooth Fairy and The great Pumpkin of Linus.
[quote=Stennyhibee;710722]This sums up religion for me -
"[i]Russell's teapot, sometimes called the Celestial Teapot, was an analogy first coined by the philosopher Bertrand Russell (1872–1970), intended to refute the idea that the burden of proof lies upon the sceptic to disprove unfalsifiable claims of religions. In an article entitled "Is There a God?", commissioned (but never published) by Illustrated magazine in 1952, Russell wrote: If I were to suggest that between the Earth and Mars there is a china teapot revolving about the sun in an elliptical orbit, nobody would be able to disprove my assertion provided I were careful to add that the teapot is too small to be revealed even by our most powerful telescopes. But if I were to go on to say that, since my assertion cannot be disproved, it is an intolerable presumption on the part of human reason to doubt it, I should rightly be thought to be talking nonsense. If, however, the existence of such a teapot were affirmed in ancient books, taught as the sacred truth every Sunday, and instilled into the minds of children at school, hesitation to believe in its existence would become a mark of eccentricity and entitle the doubter to the attentions of the psychiatrist in an enlightened age or of the Inquisitor in an earlier time. I think the teapot is moot unless it is a creating omnipotent teapot? 'coz you can't see it - it dont exist To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I don't think there is a god but I'm prepared to admit that I might be wrong.
Do ghosts exist? They're about as likely in my opinion.
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
there is no doubt about god existance, open your eyes look around you then you would realise that god exist. i am sure you look to ur computer at the moment, and i am sure you wont deny that someone has made it. the chair you sit on was made by some1 right? so how couldnt you deny all these things and you still have doubt in the one who created the sun you look at and the earth you are in, and the sky you gaze at. the proof that some1 is behind all these creations is that everything is in order. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
I'll stick with the science theories thank you very much
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. if you want answers. However, although I dont believe in gods existence I have read the To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. to see what the fuss is about and its a good example of early, early science fiction IMHO I'll pop back and read the rest of the replies now To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
The beauty of nature & the universe does not require it to have been created by some being/God for it to be appreciated. I think the 'Intelligent Design' theory is ludicrous, when I first heard this idea I couldn't believe people actually think that's a valid/realistic theory. To me it sounds like something a young child might come up with. I'm sorry if that sounds like I'm attacking you. I'm not. I'm just being honest. I don't have a problem with religious people especially when they are resonable people who like to talk rather than shout.
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
So your arguement is against Old Testament pap. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Taken from the Jewish Books. Cancelled and rewritten in the new testament, from a jewish faction, turning it into another faction, ie Christianity. There were many Religions around this time, as there is now. But does an ancient jewish book negate an ominpotent being To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Too much mixing of man made religion and the existatnce of god. I think it can be argued that the two are entirely separate issues To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. From a believers point of view it has created all the people who have invented all the religion To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Look aboot ye! radge
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. "Take that Stennyhibee!!"
i was only setting an example trying to make things in sense.. for the believers they dont need such examples like these to realise that there is someone who control evertything in this univers.and that s what muslims,chritians and jews whom believe in the same god believe in. seeing the intelligent design as a ludicrous theory might mean that things comes by Coincidence if it was not made by God. we dont need to go so far, let us have a look on our bodies and how it is made. is it not in order? am not sure it s coincidence again. for mate KABULHIBBY. believing in the unseen spirits is like when we believe that we feel cold hot hurt... things u dont see but you feel. some people say i dont believe in god because i couldnt see him.. well i would say to these , i dont see your brains so i believe you are fouls.lol To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. well am not attacking anyone here.. you are free to believe in what you think about.. i just want to make things clear from my side. good luck for all. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.