Old 10-10-07, 09:03   #1

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut
Water

I've read that the amount of water on the earth doesn't change, it basically moves around.

What I want to know is, where did all the water come from ?

Cheers
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 09:06   #2

Re: Water

This is true, good question, the amount of liquid water is actually increasing though because of the polar caps melting though remember.

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 09:50   #3

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Same place as all the other components that make up the earth (Rocks, minerals etc.) came from..

Either you believe God put them all there.... or

After the "Big Bang" a cocktail of atoms of differerent types organised themselves into what we now know as elements... these combined to produce different compounds one of which was H20 (Water). Gravitational forces acted on these atoms and compounds which formed (as will most things in a vaccuum with limited forces acting upon them into spherical objects (Minimum surface area for maximun volume) whith dense cores which attracted the matter. These balls were very hot at first and dependant on what size they were and which compounds had been involved in their makeup either resolved themselves into Stars (where nuclear fision or fusion generated a gaseous fiery sphere) or planets which contained either less of the materials required for fision or fusion, or had too many impurities in them which inhibited this reaction from kicking in).

These spheres (or planets) were also molten but as they cooled the compounds took on gradually more stable forms.. and H2O which wil have been in steam form condensed to form liquid water. This being lighter than rock (mostly heavier silicates and metal ores) settled on the surface of the planets where (dependant on the distance from a heat source - in our case the Sun) it either froze (too far away) or remained in a superheated form (steam or otherwise).

Our planet currently (we are in a decaying orbit and one day the planet will become un-inhabitable by human life!) lies in a very narrow belt of distance from our sun which means we have the ideal environment to support (what we know of as) life, as we need water in liquid form to survive.

Hope thisn helps... if it didn't, then see explanation 1.. I.E. God did it.

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 11:07   #4

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Same place as all the other components that make up the earth (Rocks, minerals etc.) came from..

After the "Big Bang" a cocktail of atoms of differerent types organised themselves into what we now know as elements... these combined to produce different compounds one of which was H20 (Water). Gravitational forces acted on these atoms and compounds which formed (as will most things in a vaccuum with limited forces acting upon them into spherical objects (Minimum surface area for maximun volume) whith dense cores which attracted the matter. These balls were very hot at first and dependant on what size they were and which compounds had been involved in their makeup either resolved themselves into Stars (where nuclear fision or fusion generated a gaseous fiery sphere) or planets which contained either less of the materials required for fision or fusion, or had too many impurities in them which inhibited this reaction from kicking in).

These spheres (or planets) were also molten but as they cooled the compounds took on gradually more stable forms.. and H2O which wil have been in steam form condensed to form liquid water. This being lighter than rock (mostly heavier silicates and metal ores) settled on the surface of the planets where (dependant on the distance from a heat source - in our case the Sun) it either froze (too far away) or remained in a superheated form (steam or otherwise).

Our planet currently (we are in a decaying orbit and one day the planet will become un-inhabitable by human life!) lies in a very narrow belt of distance from our sun which means we have the ideal environment to support (what we know of as) life, as we need water in liquid form to survive.

And ran away!

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 11:10   #5

This is true, good question, the amount of liquid water is actually increasing though because of the polar caps melting though remember.
That isn't increasing the amount of water is is changing its state from solid to liquid.

The amount of water can and does change through chemical reactions. (e.g. you burn petrol it creates water). The amount of hydrogen and oxygen atoms must be pretty stable - only affected by meteors coming in and spaceships going out.

All the water on earth came from chemical reactions involving hydrogen and oxygen. That all came from the big bang so they tell us.
Old 10-10-07, 11:17   #6

That isn't increasing the amount of water is is changing its state from solid to liquid.
Thats why i said liquid water.

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 12:56   #7

am_moroccan is on the way to a first team debut

we should not compare the increasing of seas water because of the melting in the both polars and the decreasing of rain water , u might not see the differences in europe but here in africa the matter is so clear, we used to see many active rivers,lakes and waterfalls and so on in many places around the continent,but nowdays most of them are so vanished because of less rains...

and all that due to god s willing.

am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 13:35   #8
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Please also remember that the Oxygen came from the center of giant stars . The Hydrogen , being the perfect molecule of one proton and one electron (even more perfect is deuterium) was formed by the reverse of alberts E=MC2 ,ie the energy released in the big bang eventually "changed" into primitive matter ie Hydrogen molecules.

Hence, our water did not exist in the universe until certain stars > Type G underwent star death.
Old 10-10-07, 13:42   #9

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

we should not compare the increasing of seas water because of the melting in the both polars and the decreasing of rain water , u might not see the differences in europe but here in africa the matter is so clear, we used to see many active rivers,lakes and waterfalls and so on in many places around the continent,but nowdays most of them are so vanished because of less rains...

and all that due to god s willing.
So 'god' wants a continent thats generally pretty hot to have less water all while the population increases?
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 13:44   #10

Anyway, I'm sure I read somewhere that, knowing what we do about matter, all of it (in the entire universe) could be contained in a small spherical container about the size of a 5pence piece.

This is because most atoms consist of 99.999....% space.

It boggles the brain, some of this stuff!

Maybe there is a god after all?

Old 10-10-07, 13:52   #11

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

Anyway, I'm sure I read somewhere that, knowing what we do about matter, all of it (in the entire universe) could be contained in a small spherical container about the size of a 5pence piece.

I once read that a boy named Jack planted a magic bean, it grew into a massive beanstalk, he went up and encountered a Giant then stole a hen that laid golden eggs.

I didnae believe that either!
Decal Joe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 13:54   #12

I once read that a boy named Jack planted a magic bean, it grew into a massive beanstalk, he went up and encountered a Giant then stole a hen that laid golden eggs.

I didnae believe that either!
You saying that im telling untruths?

It's genuine, just cos our wee brains canny comprehend it doesn't make it false!

Old 10-10-07, 13:58   #13

Briant will become famous soon enough

Hence, our water did not exist in the universe until certain stars > Type G underwent star death.
We are stardust
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 13:59   #14
Look aboot ye! radge

The only god is science (and Lawrie Reilly!).

I think what you refer to is known as QCD matter.

"
In the standard model of particle physics, the strongest force is the strong interaction, which is described by the theory of quantum chromodynamics (QCD). At ordinary temperatures or densities this force just confines the quarks into composite particles (hadrons) of size around 10−15m = 1 femtometer = 1 fm (corresponding to the QCD energy scale ΛQCD≈200 MeV) and its effects are not noticeable at longer distances. However, when the temperature reaches the QCD energy scale (T of order 1012K) or the density rises to the point where the average inter-quark separation is less than 1 fm (quark chemical potential μ around 400 MeV), the hadrons are melted into their constituent quarks, and the strong interaction becomes the dominant feature of the physics. Such phases are called quark matter or QCD matter."

Seemingly clever old Homo Sapians might have made this stuff for about 1 x 10-40 seconds. In nature this is surmised to be the final step of a supergiants stars death before it becomes a black hole.
Old 10-10-07, 14:11   #15

So 'god' wants a continent thats generally pretty hot to have less water all while the population increases?
He moves in mysterious ways dontchaknow
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 10-10-07, 14:13   #16

am_moroccan is on the way to a first team debut

who control everything in this life then if it is not its creator? dont say it s all about nature which is a creation itself.
god gives and takes, testing us to seek him if we are needy, and be thankfull if we are satisfied.

you might not agree but that is my view related to my religion background. and if u have any other suggestion so am willing to listen.

am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 14:24   #17
Look aboot ye! radge

We are stardust
Indeed we are, infact the result of neutrino burst during a type 2 supernova.

And to think some poor people think that we all started with Adam and Eve

Still, each to their own. As long as the religous keep out of my life, I wont interfere with theirs.
Old 10-10-07, 20:47   #18

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut

So what made the Big Bang happen?

HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 20:54   #19
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

hibbyharp1875 will become famous soon enough

aye good question !!!! and just to boggle the brain a wee bit further.............................! what was there before the "big bang " hmmm
, i am away for a lie down ,my brains hurting !!!!!!

hibbyharp1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 21:16   #20
Red Rose Radge

cabbage is on the way to a first team debut

Before the big bang was the end of the current universe. Space and time exists in a giant loop, and repeats itself, so we have been here before, and yes, Hibs do win the Scottish Cup next year.

When this universe ends, it's like re-setting the trip counter to zero and starting again. But you might not go the same route.

The universe-space-time loop exists as as freak of nature. Because the gods predicted that Albert Einstein would discover the theory of realitivity, they had to create the matter and time to make the equation work.