Old 10-10-07, 08:37   #1

What do you want written on your gravestone

I made a couple of jokes about childbirth recently to my very pregnant wife and her reaction led me to think about what I'd want written on my gravestone

I'd really like to steal John Peel's idea and get 'Teenage dreams so hard to beat' on there but I reckon I'd be more likely to have the letters 'GGTTH' on it as it would raise a smile from any visiting Hibbys but would mystify others. I'm a religious sort so I'd probably get one of the usual inscriptions as well.

Anyone else?

Old 10-10-07, 08:46   #2

Re: What do you want written on your gravestone

I liked Spike Milligan's

" I told you I was ill."
Old 10-10-07, 08:52   #3

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

I've had problems thinking about this in the past, as I don't know if anyone should have the right to take up space on earth that should be let over to the living. All these graveyards that exist just now, will that area of land never be used for any other purpose?

Shouldn't cremation be a better way to dispose of ones remains?

It would be nice to be remembered after death, but I'm just not sure that we can afford to take over such vast areas... thoughts?

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 08:54   #4

Old 10-10-07, 09:01   #5

I've had problems thinking about this in the past, as I don't know if anyone should have the right to take up space on earth that should be let over to the living. All these graveyards that exist just now, will that area of land never be used for any other purpose?

It would be nice to be remembered after death, but I'm just not sure that we can afford to take over such vast areas... thoughts?
Cremation for me as well. You could have your urn marked TEA I suppose or summit along those lines.

Old 10-10-07, 09:04   #6

stickyRicky is on the way to a first team debut

Sccatter my ashes at Easter Road.
Old 10-10-07, 09:13   #7

Here i lie, now i'm gone, I've left my name to turn you on.

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 09:31   #8

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

I agree with that. Conversly, my mum used to go to her folk's grave, and take us (kids) with her. She's a morbid sort. However weird that is, as an adult I went to the grave yard having not visited it for about 20 odd years and was able to walk straight to the correct gravestone. It was a nice feeling (now that's weird) being able to do that and also I liked being able to visit that grave. But, it was probably the fact that I remembered being with my mum & sister in a different time that made me feel good and not the fact that there was a gravestone there, that was just the anchor for the memory.

Cremation for my remains after the useful bits have been used to help living folk as I often have dreams of flying and being launched into the wind appeals to me.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 09:32   #9

Here i lie, now i'm gone, I've left my name to turn you on.
cRab ... not exactly a name to turn anyone on!

Old 10-10-07, 09:43   #10

Cremation for my remains after the useful bits have been used to help living folk as I often have dreams of flying and being launched into the wind appeals to me.
wow thats quite emotional, never thought about it like that

Old 10-10-07, 09:44   #11

cRab ... not exactly a name to turn anyone on!

Old 10-10-07, 10:27   #12

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

Cremation for me as well. You could have your urn marked TEA I suppose or summit along those lines.
You can get a very small plot which is for burying ashes, not sure exactly which graveyards offer this but I know it is available at the top of Currie Cemetry. I think it's a great idea, it gives you somewhere to put a memorial stone with an inscription and more importantly a place to visit and pay respects.

I visit one of the 'biggest' Hibees I've ever known there on a regular basis.

Sccatter my ashes at Easter Road.
We scattered half of his ashes there as well!

some in front of his seat in the East Stand and some right where Deano slid the ball past a stranded Boruc!
Old 10-10-07, 12:38   #13
Radge Hibby Leither

leither#1 is on the way to a first team debut

I want

VOLVO FOR SALE

CALL 555 6676

leither#1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 15:20   #14
Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge

Wheat Hound is on the way to a first team debut

You can get a very small plot which is for burying ashes, not sure exactly which graveyards offer this but I know it is available at the top of Currie Cemetry. I think it's a great idea, it gives you somewhere to put a memorial stone with an inscription and more importantly a place to visit and pay respects.

I visit one of the 'biggest' Hibees I've ever known there on a regular basis.

We scattered half of his ashes there as well!

some in front of his seat in the East Stand and some right where Deano slid the ball past a stranded Boruc!
I thought there was something funny bout that game with the tic - call it divine intervention. I reckon the big man did have a part to play in Boruc making those fuck ups - he certainly would have lapped up everthing that happened and laughed like fuck at the big Polish clown (and then proceed to make sure we all got pished and didnae wimp oot and just take the car home !!!).
Wheat Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 15:42   #15

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

I thought there was something funny bout that game with the tic - call it divine intervention. I reckon the big man did have a part to play in Boruc making those fuck ups - he certainly would have lapped up everthing that happened and laughed like fuck at the big Polish clown (and then proceed to make sure we all got pished and didnae wimp oot and just take the car home !!!).

Old 10-10-07, 15:59   #16

Having already stated that I don't think I (or anyone) should be buried..

My memorial (which should be a biodegradable substance that won't pollute the earth) should say..

Here lies SG7nil, 1961 - 2161
The oldest man that ever lived, and still the holder of the lowest round of golf ever played (49) which he scored on the morning after his 191 st birthday.

Much missed by his beautiful half Itallian (9th) wife aged 21.

Old 10-10-07, 16:10   #17
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

I would have a flatscreen monitor turned side on instead of a gravestone.

I would have this on it -

That would stop anybody taking a shortcut through the graveyard!
Old 10-10-07, 16:25   #18

Osmosis will become famous soon enough

For Sale..One Hibs season ticket.
Osmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 16:34   #19

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

I made a couple of jokes about childbirth recently to my very pregnant wife and her reaction led me to think about what I'd want written on my gravestone

I'd really like to steal John Peel's idea and get 'Teenage dreams so hard to beat' on there but I reckon I'd be more likely to have the letters 'GGTTH' on it as it would raise a smile from any visiting Hibbys but would mystify others. I'm a religious sort so I'd probably get one of the usual inscriptions as well.

Anyone else?
I'm hopeful for this tbh....

*WARNING: KEEP AT -200°C*

FRIEZAC-HUNT TECHNOLOGIES

Here lies PATIENT 0762

Wake me up when the hover-boards & holo-decks arrive! :YAYYY:

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 17:10   #20
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I'd like to have updated schedules for Dundalk FC, Hibs. That way you could plan accordingly.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 21:05   #21
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

hibbyharp1875 will become famous soon enough

mine would be ME SINCE 1966 HIBERNIAN SINCE 1875
I DIED ---- HIBERNIAN STILL GOING