Old 08-10-07, 17:27   #1

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about
Favourite Gaelic song

Following on from Dublin Hibee's thread on Seachd.

What is everyone's fav gaelic song.

Mine is Fear a'bhata. This was beautifuly sung by Capercaillie amongst others and is also remarkably easy for a non-gaelic speaker to sing.
Old 08-10-07, 20:18   #2

Re: Favourite Gaelic song

Padraig Post.
Old 08-10-07, 21:01   #3
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Baron von Hibee has a spectacular aura about

Apologies for the hijaking of the thread, but that got me thinking - is Dotaman still on?
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 21:42   #4

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

What about Alba by Runrig.. I've been peshed and done the "Alba Bounce" to that one.. although until I looked up the lyrics I didn't have a clue what they were singing about (except I knew that Alba = Scotland obviously !)..

name="wmode" value="transparent">To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350">

Air sgiath a' seoladh nan neoil
'S an domhain liath
Mar dhealbh a' tighinn beo tro na sgothan
'S mi a' tilleadh gu tir
Alba nam beanntan ard
Nan acraichean lom
Thairis air na lochan mointich
Nan coilltean 's nan gleann
Ach 'se sealladh leointe is gann
Tha an seo aig ceann thall an linn
Talamh alainn nan daoine
Fhathast an lamhan duine no dithis
Cuibhlean stolda mu dheas
Na fasaichean a tuath
An taigh-mor falamh an Dun-Eideann
Gun chumhachd gun ghuth
*Sibhse chuir achadh ri achadh
Taigh ri taigh
Gus nach bi ait anns an tir
An gabh sibh comhnaidh air leth
Ach 's math dhomh bhith seo an drasd
A cur failt air a' bhlas
'San tir a tha cho ur dhomh an diugh
Is a bha i nuair bha mi 'nam phaisd
*Bho Isaiah 5-8
Scotland
This flight is sailing through the c
louds
And the blue heavens
The homeland appears like a developing photograph
Through the mists as I return to land
I see Scotland of the high mountains
And the empty acres
Flying low across the moorland lochs
The forests and the glens
But it's
a wounding and a hollow sight
Here as we reach the end of the century
The beautiful soil of the people
Still in the hands of the few
I see the wheels of industry at a standstill
And the northern lands wasted
And the empty house in Edinburgh
Withou
t authority or voice
You that have laid field upon field
House upon house
Till there be nowhere for you to be placed alone
In the midst of all the earth
But it is good for me to be here now
As I welcome the warmth
In this land that's as exciting
for me today
As it was the day I was born

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 22:45   #5

What about Alba by Runrig.. I've been peshed and done the "Alba Bounce" to that one.. although until I looked up the lyrics I didn't have a clue what they were singing about (except I knew that Alba = Scotland obviously !)..

type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350">

Air sgiath a' seoladh nan neoil
'S an domhain liath
Mar dhealbh a' tighinn beo tro na sgothan
'S mi a' tilleadh gu tir
Alba nam beanntan ard
Nan acraichean lom
Thairis air na lochan mointich
Nan coilltean 's nan gleann
Ach 'se sealladh leointe is gann
Tha an seo aig ceann thall an linn
Talamh alainn nan daoine
Fhathast an lamhan duine no dithis
Cuibhlean stolda mu dheas
Na fasaichean a tuath
An taigh-mor falamh an Dun-Eideann
Gun chumhachd gun ghuth
*Sibhse chuir achadh ri achadh
Taigh ri taigh
Gus nach bi ait anns an tir
An gabh sibh comhnaidh air leth
Ach 's math dhomh bhith seo an drasd
A cur failt air a' bhlas
'San tir a tha cho ur dhomh an diugh
Is a bha i nuair bha mi 'nam phaisd
*Bho Isaiah 5-8
Scotland
This flight is sailing through the c
louds
And the blue heavens
The homeland appears like a developing photograph
Through the mists as I return to land
I see Scotland of the high mountains
And the empty acres
Flying low across the moorland lochs
The forests and the glens
But it's
a wounding and a hollow sight
Here as we reach the end of the century
The beautiful soil of the people
Still in the hands of the few
I see the wheels of industry at a standstill
And the northern lands wasted
And the empty house in Edinburgh
Withou
t authority or voice
You that have laid field upon field
House upon house
Till there be nowhere for you to be placed alone
In the midst of all the earth
But it is good for me to be here now
As I welcome the warmth
In this land that's as exciting
for me today
As it was the day I was born
A great song from the real MacDonald brothers.
Old 08-10-07, 22:47   #6

I am not sure if you are trying to be funny but that's quite pathetic really.

It might not be your language but your lack of respect speaks volumes.
Old 08-10-07, 23:40   #7

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Not sure what Colr is saying but sadly there are many who see the other languages of our country as little more than objects of ridicule. What hope is there of the UK/Scottish govts. doing much to promote our languages while that attitude continues?
To be honest I don't know that many Gaelic songs (due to lack of exposure, etc) but do you know the Rankin Family? I seem to remember that An T-Each Ruadh from the album "Fare Thee Well Love" is a nice song.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 00:09   #8

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Sound The Pibroch

Meant to say Lanark, I got that wee cottage I was talking to you about booked at the end of May next year so if you're about when we're up I'll give you a shout.
Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 08:31   #9

How on earth did you read that into it. I think you're response smacks of pre-judgement.
Old 09-10-07, 08:32   #10

Not sure what Colr is saying but sadly there are many who see the other languages of our country as little more than objects of ridicule. What hope is there of the UK/Scottish govts. doing much to promote our languages while that attitude continues?
To be honest I don't know that many Gaelic songs (due to lack of exposure, etc) but do you know the Rankin Family? I seem to remember that An T-Each Ruadh from the album "Fare Thee Well Love" is a nice song.
I agree but I'm not keen on governments promoting culture. It has a rather bad track record.
Old 09-10-07, 09:09   #11

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

I think that's a bit over the top. I thought Colr's post was funny not scathing.

If you cannae take a joke then that in itself speaks volumes.

Anyhoo, I thought I'd ask for some recommendation as I know feck all Gaelic music (by name anyway). My mum used to sing us auld scots songs when we were really wee but that's a different kettle of fish. I expect there's some cross-over tune-wise?

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 09:12   #12

gun ainm is on the way to a first team debut

- circle of the sea

my wife (and her sisters) sing it beautifully (whereas I can murder the chorus of fear a bhata)
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 09:36   #13

Dublin_Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

here's mine - see if ye can guess what it is - big clue in the first line

O Fhlùir na h-Alba,
cuin a chì sinn
an seòrsa laoich
a sheas gu bàs 'son
am bileag feòir is fraoich,
a sheas an aghaidh
feachd uailleil Iomhair
's a ruaig e dhachaidh
air chaochladh smaoin?

Na cnuic tha lomnochd
's tha duilleach Foghair
mar bhrat air làr,
am fearann caillte
dan tug na seòid ud gràdh,
a sheas an aghaidh
feachd uailleil Iomhair
's a ruaig e dhachaigh
air chaochladh smaoin.

Tha 'n eachdraidh dùinte
ach air dìochuimhne
chan fheum i bhith,
is faodaidh sinn èirigh
gu bhith nar Rìoghachd a-rìs
a sheas an aghaidh
feachd uailleil Iomhair
's a ruaig e dhachaidh
air chaochladh smaoin.

O Fhlùir na h-Alba,
cuin a chì sinn
an seòrsa laoich
a sheas gu bàs 'son
am bileag feòir is fraoich,
a sheas an aghaidh
feachd uailleil Iomhair
's a ruaig e dhachaidh
air chaochladh smaoin?
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Dublin_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 09:44   #14

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Looks like flower of scotland to me.???

Is it Irish Gaelic? - or Scots? and is there much difference??

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 09:54   #15

Dublin_Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Looks like flower of scotland to me.???
correct!

Is it Irish Gaelic? - or Scots? and is there much difference??
it's in Scots Gaelic - I doubt there is a translation into Irish Gaelic.

In some parts of Donegal where they speak Irish it's apparently 80% compatible with Scots Gaelic(so I was told by my Gaelic teacher) but they become less compatible the further south you go in Ireland
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Dublin_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 10:57   #16

I think that's a bit over the top. I thought Colr's post was funny not scathing.

If you cannae take a joke then that in itself speaks volumes.

Anyhoo, I thought I'd ask for some recommendation as I know feck all Gaelic music (by name anyway). My mum used to sing us auld scots songs when we were really wee but that's a different kettle of fish. I expect there's some cross-over tune-wise?

Tune-wise I think there are enormous cross overs between folk cultures with the same tune popping up all over the place. may not be quite to prevalant with gaelic which had a certain geographic isolation up to a certain point in history.
Old 09-10-07, 11:16   #17

correct!

it's in Scots Gaelic - I doubt there is a translation into Irish Gaelic.

In some parts of Donegal where they speak Irish it's apparently 80% compatible with Scots Gaelic(so I was told by my Gaelic teacher) but they become less compatible the further south you go in Ireland
I read somewhere that the south was heavily influences by there trading links with the Spain and North Africa. It also expalins the dark hair and swarthy looks folk around Cork have.
Old 09-10-07, 11:20   #18

Tune-wise I think there are enormous cross overs between folk cultures with the same tune popping up all over the place. may not be quite to prevalant with gaelic which had a certain geographic isolation up to a certain point in history.
What does
mean? I can never work out if it's sarcy or not. Defeats the purpose of an emoticon really. Or mibby I'm just daft.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 11:37   #19

Sound The Pibroch

Meant to say Lanark, I got that wee cottage I was talking to you about booked at the end of May next year so if you're about when we're up I'll give you a shout.
Good man. I am here all the time now unless work commitments take me to lanark and beyond......and of course the Hibs.
Old 09-10-07, 11:42   #20

There are many Gaelic cd's etc available depending on your taste, there is a huge range. Runrig and Capercaillie from the "popular" end of the market and of course Donnie Munro has done many solo albums.

If you wanted mouth music you could try someone like Talitha Mackenzie.

The Gaelic tunes are quite distinct and not much of a crossover.
Old 09-10-07, 11:49   #21

There are many Gaelic cd's etc available depending on your taste, there is a huge range. Runrig and Capercaillie from the "popular" end of the market and of course Donnie Munro has done man