Old 08-10-07, 17:23   #1

Drinks of Yore

Another similar drink is plum jerkum, made from fermented plums, traditional of Warwickshire in the English Midlands. It is said that it "left the head clear while paralysing the legs". The Warwickshire Drooper plum from which it is traditionally brewed is now uncommon, which explains the rarity of the drink.

Overdue for a revival I think. Anyone have space for an orchard?
Old 08-10-07, 17:32   #2

Re: Drinks of Yore

Another similar drink is plum jerkum, made from fermented plums, traditional of Warwickshire in the English Midlands. It is said that it "left the head clear while paralysing the legs". The Warwickshire Drooper plum from which it is traditionally brewed is now uncommon, which explains the rarity of the drink.

Overdue for a revival I think. Anyone have space for an orchard?
Sounds like Caffreys! There's a drink I miss...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 08-10-07, 18:08   #3
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Mead must be due a comeback. The stuff from Lindisfarne is very nice.

Maybe Lindisfarne are due a comeback too.
Old 08-10-07, 18:23   #4

"left the head clear while paralysing the legs"
Sounds like poitin, from illegal stills across here. Absolutely brutal stuff by all accounts.

Old 08-10-07, 19:02   #5

Gillespie's, now there was a pint o the black stuff. Where did that go?

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 19:21   #6

Twas barry

Beamish Red!

And when was the last time anyone seen Murphys getting sold?
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 08-10-07, 19:25   #7

Sounds like poitin, from illegal stills across here. Absolutely brutal stuff by all accounts.
Had that. Was no bad tbh. Stuff I had tasted like cranberries. Made your eyes water something fierce though.

Worst thing I've ever drunk was this vodka sneaked out the distillery before it was anywhere near ready. It had to be kept in plastic bottles because it rotted glass! Drove people absolutely mental. One of my mates wandered into a pub whilst drinking it out of a vase! Good times...
Old 08-10-07, 20:13   #8

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Can I have a Bezique & Lemonade?

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 20:17   #9

That was a nice pint. Never really took off, though.

Greenwich Porter is a bit nice, too - especially with a wee Speyside malt on the side.

Fullers make porter but its not as nice.
Old 08-10-07, 22:03   #10

Does anyone drink Black and Tan these days?

Old 09-10-07, 11:15   #11

Had a pint o caffreys a few weeks ago, cannae mind where though!

Braw stuff!
Old 09-10-07, 11:23   #12

No any more but that was what I started on in pubs when I was 15/16ish.
Old 09-10-07, 12:20   #13

BEEFY71 is on the way to a first team debut

Aye, Tennents SD had similar results too!
BEEFY71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 12:23   #14

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

There's still a few Black and Tan drinkers out there.... I even serve a few in my other life.

I used to indulge in a few myself when I was younger and had less money... It was pointed out to me that the barman only ever charges for a half pint of beer.. but always fills the glass way beyond the half pint mark.. making it better value for poor folk like me... oh.. and it tasted ok tae!

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-07, 12:55   #15

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

My dad does.

Was in the Bow Bar in Victoria street for a drink with him a couple of years ago and the fuckwit barmanager refused to serve my da a black & tan because; "...we're a real ale pub and if you mix the drinks then the overflow of the pint will run into the troughs and upset the ales..."

Argued for about 10 minutes but the guy just proceeded to be obtuse. So, I asked him for two half pints & and empty pint glass and mixed them on the bar in front of him.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 12:49   #16
Lost in France Radge

Peevemor is on the way to a first team debut

That was a nice pint. Never really took off, though.

Greenwich Porter is a bit nice, too - especially with a wee Speyside malt on the side.

Fullers make porter but its not as nice.
S&N had all but agreed a deal to brew Murphys under license at Fountainbridge. There was months and months of negotiation, including S&N's brewers/chemists (my mate was one) spending a fair bit of time observing the Murphys process at their brewery.

All of a sudden, S&N pulled out the deal, citing company restructuring as the reason (don't we know it now!) and, out of the blue, started marketing Gillespies about 6 months later - giving us all the blurb about some Scottish stout brewing tradition.

Naughty boys!
Peevemor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 13:47   #17

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

My dad does.

Was in the Bow Bar in Victoria street for a drink with him a couple of years ago and the fuckwit barmanager refused to serve my da a black & tan because; "...we're a real ale pub and if you mix the drinks then the overflow of the pint will run into the troughs and upset the ales..."

Argued for about 10 minutes but the guy just proceeded to be obtuse. So, I asked him for two half pints & and empty pint glass and mixed them on the bar in front of him.
Then the barman was a tube and a kn0b, the stout for a black and tan should never be draught it should only be bottled, and usually Sweetheart Stout(now that's going back abit)
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 13:50   #18

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Then the barman was a tube and a kn0b, the stout for a black and tan should never be draught it should only be bottled, and usually Sweetheart Stout(now that's going back abit)
They didn't have any bottled stout so my dad had decided on draft guinness. For a bar manager (about 40 years old) to not know what a black & tan is was surprising and in a pub like that too.

Been in there a couple of times since (the incidednt happened about 4/5 years agao) and I've never seen him again so I assume he's long gone.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-07, 13:52   #19

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

We still sell Black and Tans at the Boolin club.. a half pint of Belhaven Best in a pint glass and a bottle of Sweetheart Stout (it's still available). And a few people do drink it

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 11:57   #20

Sweetheart Stout used to be drunk by pregnant women (how times have changed). I think it still has the same label from the 50s - some chick in a red sweater.

It revolting but then everything Tenants make is revolting.
Old 12-10-07, 12:00   #21

Porter is a beer with a dark colour. The history and development of stout and porter are intertwined[1]. The name was first used in the 18th century from its popularity with the street and river porters of London. It is generally brewed with dark malts. The name "stout" for a dark beer came about because a strong porter may be called "Extra Porter" or "Double Porter" or "Stout Porter". The term "Stout Porter" would later be shortened to just "Stout".