Old 05-10-07, 09:27   #1

Casino cash: £5689
Hollywood stars

Jamie Foxx has now got his name on the hall of fame and with that a star on hollywood boulivard.

WTF has Jamie Foxx done to deserve that, i don't think he has done a memorable roll ever. A couple of ok parts in movies and a crap album does not give you the right to go down as one of the greats.

Also who decides who is a great?
Old 05-10-07, 09:37   #2

Casino cash: £2373
vCash: 5010230
Re: Hollywood stars

Originally Posted by stickyRicky View Post
Jamie Foxx has now got his name on the hall of fame and with that a star on hollywood boulivard.

WTF has Jamie Foxx done to deserve that, i don't think he has done a memorable roll ever. A couple of ok parts in movies and a crap album does not give you the right to go down as one of the greats.

Also who decides who is a great?

Ricky, expert on celebrity gossip as I am, I dont know who decides - some kind of actors Guild committee maybe.
I can say that IMO Jamie Foxx was brilliant in "Ray". He was also the third African American to win an Oscar (maybe that had something to do with it.

I'm sure I heard that Lassie is on there too!!

What defines us is how well we rise after falling
Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-07, 09:40   #3

Originally Posted by Naked Chef View Post
Ricky, expert on celebrity gossip as I am, I dont know who decides - some kind of actors Guild committee maybe.
I can say that IMO Jamie Foxx was brilliant in "Ray". He was also the third African American to win an Oscar (maybe that had something to do with it.

No no noooooooooooooooo
Old 05-10-07, 09:45   #4

I forgot all about that film, never seen it but he was suppose to be immense. When i think Jamie Foxx i think Jarhead,Miami vice which weren't paticularly good, well no worth any sort of awards.
Old 05-10-07, 10:48   #5
Old School Radge

Casino cash: £1940

I forgot all about that film, never seen it but he was suppose to be immense. When i think Jamie Foxx i think Jarhead,Miami vice which weren't paticularly good, well no worth any sort of awards.
Collateral really kind of made Jamie Foxx in the big movie stakes, i remember him from Any Given Sunday as well with Al Pacino, hasnt got a huge roll of Films behind him but who says you have to have done a million films before you get an award?

Jamie Foxx
Old 05-10-07, 11:00   #6

Originally Posted by hixxy220 View Post
Collateral really kind of made Jamie Foxx in the big movie stakes, i remember him from Any Given Sunday as well with Al Pacino, hasnt got a huge roll of Films behind him but who says you have to have done a million films before you get an award?

Jamie Foxx
I was only bitching cos apart from Ray he hasn't shown enough talent to be considered a star, although i havent seen Ray im sure he done a great job and it would be an insightfull movie into Ray Charels life.

Stealth easily his worst movie, that was a bag of shite.
Old 05-10-07, 15:29   #7

Casino cash: £210

Aye but Lassie deserved it.. cos he had to play a female in all his roles but he was a dug (not a bitch)!
Old 05-10-07, 15:34   #8

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
Aye but Lassie deserved it.. cos he had to play a female in all his roles but he was a dug (not a bitch)!
Old 05-10-07, 16:01   #9
Survivor Radge

Casino cash: £3743
Rep Power: 18 Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

It's not done on any merit system. For a fee you are nominated to the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce who then votes on the nominations. It use to be meaningful and have some base on merit, but now it is merely part of a public relations promotion.

Interestingly enough he gets his star and his new film The Kingdom opens in the states. The list of no name gobshites who have stars is sickening meanwhile it took an effort of biblical proportion to get the King of the Sunset Strip Rodney Bingenheimer his start .

For those interested about the John Peel of American check out his webpage Rodney on the roq
Burbank Lilywhite is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-07, 16:14   #10

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite View Post
It's not done on any merit system. For a fee you are nominated to the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce who then votes on the nominations. It use to be meaningful and have some base on merit, but now it is merely part of a public relations promotion.

Interestingly enough he gets his star and his new film The Kingdom opens in the states. The list of no name gobshites who have stars is sickening meanwhile it took an effort of biblical proportion to get the King of the Sunset Strip Rodney Bingenheimer his start .

For those interested about the John Peel of American check out his webpage Rodney on the roq
Thats what i was trying to say, it seems whoever is in the public eye for a decent period of time automatically gets a star on boulivard.

Any chance theres a list of who has got a star?
Old 05-10-07, 17:03   #11

Casino cash: £984
Rep Power: 2 vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Thats what i was trying to say, it seems whoever is in the public eye for a decent period of time automatically gets a star on boulivard.

Any chance theres a list of who has got a star?
Don't think you really even need to be in the public eye all that much - just so long as you have some financial clout you can get a nomination. at least jamie foxx has won an oscar so you could argue he is a well recognised actor ( not that I rate the oscars much as an indication of talent).

anyways here's a full list ...

List of stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

you really need to check out wikipedia it has everything true and not true about the world on it.
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-07, 17:11   #12

Originally Posted by vasco de gama View Post
Don't think you really even need to be in the public eye all that much - just so long as you have some financial clout you can get a nomination. at least jamie foxx has won an oscar so you could argue he is a well recognised actor ( not that I rate the oscars much as an indication of talent).

anyways here's a full list ...

List of stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

you really need to check out wikipedia it has everything true and not true about the world on it.

Winning an Oscar does help no?

I also agree on your oscars point, how many movies have won best film at the Oscars and been pish.

PS cheers for the link
Old 05-10-07, 17:12   #13

Casino cash: £210

I also agree on your oscars point, how many movies have won best film at the Oscars and been pish.
At least half of them!
Old 05-10-07, 17:20   #14

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
At least half of them!
At least mate at least.
Old 08-10-07, 03:40   #15

Casino cash: £2830
Rep Power: 10 BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Not really. From my understanding the star is pretty much purchased and is available to anybody in the entertainment business, TV actors, radio folk etc. I remember earlier this year (or was it last?) the son of the actor that played Scotty on the old Star Trek series was raising money to get his faither a star. I don't think there is as much prestige about it as there once was.