Old 04-10-07, 18:43   #1

Casino cash: £9303
Postal strikes

Apologies to anyone that works with the royal mail or is a postie. We don't blame you

but with the strikes that have went on over the years do you think they are starting to take the piss?

Postal Workers start 48-hour strike

I might send a group email around my company the morn for a mass strike. Seems to work every time.

Old 04-10-07, 18:50   #2

Casino cash: £10896
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about
Re: Postal strikes

Originally Posted by TattooedHibee View Post
Apologies to anyone that works with the royal mail or is a postie. We don't blame you

but with the strikes that have went on over the years do you think they are starting to take the piss?

Postal Workers start 48-hour strike

I might send a group email around my company the morn for a mass strike. Seems to work every time.

I'll bite ya shite stirrin bassa.......................
Luckily you've no been in a position where you lose wages to feed your kids or pay bills so that your job can be safegaurded

Heres a wee glance at the changes RM proposes

Posties to srike again - HibeesBounce
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 04-10-07, 18:57   #3

Casino cash: £9303

Knew I'd reel ye in.

Old 04-10-07, 23:48   #4

Casino cash: £260

I accept the post office workers have a case, but striking regularly for days at a time is not a way to the public, or the employers, hearts. Most of the people I talked to today about it said they were angry with the posties.
Old 05-10-07, 10:15   #5

Casino cash: £30573
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

The business i'm involved spends a small fortune on mail with Royal Mail. I send quite a lot of mail down south that i need guaranteed for AM delivery and i pay the extra for it...

Yesterday i had to get a really important document delivered for today and suddenly remembered the strike late on in the afternoon..

So i contacted one of the many courier firms that have been contacting me for years. Result is i'll no longer use Royal Mail ever again. I can't afford to miss deadlines.

There's too many options in the market now and strikes are only going to piss off customers and cost Royal Mail.

The deal offered to staff does look harsh but strikes don't appear to be the answer in 2007 IMHO.
Old 05-10-07, 10:34   #6

Casino cash: £37808
Rep Power: 37 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Couriers are mostly shite. Royal Mail would clean up if it was run better.
Old 05-10-07, 11:01   #7
Old School Radge

Casino cash: £1955

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
Companies always have to change and modernize but Royal Mail are constantly making an arse of things when it comes to plans, they never pick an easy one!
Old 05-10-07, 11:40   #8

Casino cash: £4726

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
The business i'm involved spends a small fortune on mail with Royal Mail. I send quite a lot of mail down south that i need guaranteed for AM delivery and i pay the extra for it...

Yesterday i had to get a really important document delivered for today and suddenly remembered the strike late on in the afternoon..

So i contacted one of the many courier firms that have been contacting me for years. Result is i'll no longer use Royal Mail ever again. I can't afford to miss deadlines.

There's too many options in the market now and strikes are only going to piss off customers and cost Royal Mail.

The deal offered to staff does look harsh but strikes don't appear to be the answer in 2007 IMHO.
Special Deliveries are unaffected by the industrial action. Managers will deliver them.
Old 05-10-07, 11:46   #9
Stu

Casino cash: £5865

'Mon the posties.

I'm quite enjoying the respite from bills actually.
Old 05-10-07, 11:47   #10
Old School Radge

Originally Posted by sKipper View Post
Special Deliveries are unaffected by the industrial action. Managers will deliver them.
The CD guys in my work toil to get rid of the reggies in my office, i think the managers will toil with them.
Old 05-10-07, 12:11   #11

Casino cash: £6179

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

Your important document is probably still being delivered by Royal Mail posties Kenny.
Many couriers take it off your hands, sort it as the Royal Mail does & then send it on to the Royal Mail to deliver!.
Old 05-10-07, 12:19   #12

Casino cash: £6135
Rep Power: 16 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by hixxy220 View Post
The CD guys in my work toil to get rid of the reggies in my office
What does that mean?
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 21:54   #13

Casino cash: £1777
Rep Power: 18 1875steve is just really nice1875steve is just really nice

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
Spot on.

Doesn't help that Adam Crozier and Alan Leighton are in charge.

Seen fit to award themselves multi million pound bonuses.

They work 3 hours a week for Royal Mail.

Wankers.
1875steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 01:29   #14

Casino cash: £303

The posties are on strike? Can't say I've noticed any difference here in the Dunfermline. If anything the service has got better!!

Who'd be a postie? Still, it's better than walking the streets!
Old 07-10-07, 15:31   #15
Red Rose Radge

Casino cash: £4799
vCash: 13636

Originally Posted by HibeeJibee View Post
I accept the post office workers have a case, but striking regularly for days at a time is not a way to the public, or the employers, hearts. Most of the people I talked to today about it said they were angry with the posties.
Shite, most of the conditions in the pay review linked to in the OP are changes to T&C's most of us working in the private sector have had endure. I've not had the luxury of a company pension scheme for over 5 years.

Get back to work ya idle bassers

cabbage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 12:05   #16

Casino cash: £260

Their now out on another 48 hour strike starting Monday 3am. Shocking, who do they think they are? I ordered a vital book for a uni presentation on Wednesday afternoon, the distributor hoped it would come on Thursday or Friday, but now it looks like it will get here on Wednesday or Thursday which is f*ck all use when the presentation is on Tuesday. I don't suppose the posties are going to compensate me for that, or should I go on strike too? Get back to work you b*stards, like the rest of the population do.

In future I shall be using a private courier for parcels and other vital post, not this bunch of amateurs.
Old 08-10-07, 12:14   #17

Casino cash: £15003
Rep Power: 28 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by cabbage View Post
Shite, most of the conditions in the pay review linked to in the OP are changes to T&C's most of us working in the private sector have had endure. I've not had the luxury of a company pension scheme for over 5 years.

Get back to work ya idle bassers
So cause you have been shafted others should be as well? Aye, that's reasonable right enough...

I get my fecking kill at this line of reasoning. It's a bit like saying I've got a broken window so get me a pile of stones so that I can break other folks windae because I shouldn't suffer alone.

And persumably you accepted your change in terms and conditions? Was a union involved? Did they have a vote for industrial action? Or did you just moan like feck and do nout like the vast majority of the population who see their working rights taken away and do feck all but whine.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 08-10-07, 12:16   #18
Old School Radge

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
What does that mean?
Contingency drivers, they take out most of the 10 o' clock registers.
Old 08-10-07, 12:18   #19

Casino cash: £15003
Rep Power: 28 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Oh, and for those inconvenienced, obviously that's a shame. Perhaps you could consider complaining to the management who are imposing things with no consultation, and therefore screwing hard working people rather than moaning about those striking.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 08-10-07, 13:01   #20
Old School Radge

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Oh, and for those inconvenienced, obviously that's a shame. Perhaps you could consider complaining to the management who are imposing things with no consultation, and therefore screwing hard working people rather than moaning about those striking.
Old 08-10-07, 13:01   #21

Casino cash: £1344

How come all the posties I know do not benefit physically from all that exercise. Fatties too a man
Old 08-10-07, 13:05   #22
Old School Radge

Originally Posted by Croxleyhibby View Post
How come all the posties I know do not benefit physically from all that exercise. Fatties too a man
Main door walks consuming too many pies after finishing?