Casino cash: £5701 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 6
If religion had never existed
Would we still have a problems like homophobia, sexisim & racisim? (I'm assuming you view these 'ism's as problems)
I mean religion in the sense of a book with a set of outdated rules. Is it human nature to hate? I have a feeling that if we didn't have a set of rules or commandments we might have avoided a lot of pish throughout history. Just a hunch (not being sarcy, by the way).
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £7360 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Re: If religion had never existed
This sounds very like an egb post.
Not signing in as Brainwrong is he?Like many of these, What if... type posts it's hard to say how things might have happened other than how they have. No doubt, religion has had a huge impact on society and an effect on these particular topics but even so I would stick my neck out and say yes to your egbesque question. |
Im Just Radge
Casino cash: £9132 vCash: 102000
From this i think that if there hadn't been these rules set in stone (pun intended) then maybe over the centuries there wouldn't have been so many reoccurences of people doing the exact opposite of what their beliefs told them to do. i.e. love thy neighbour. Just a thought
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Casino cash: £5729 vCash: 46000 Thanks: 91
If religion had never existed...............................................
We'd have to make it up. |
I'm pretty sure it's a natural thing for a lot of people to be religious so I'd agree with that. In fact, that's what was done. In my opinion.
Casino cash: £5689 vCash: 10000
No religion then wars would be over something else ridiculous like my dad's bigger than yours.
Can we get Christ vs. Vishnu in a religious celebrity death match?
Casino cash: £5689 vCash: 10000
![]() Make it a 3 way bout with Budda in there ![]() |
Im Just Radge
It's a theory yes.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £230 vCash: 10000
Are you talking about religion in general or christianity in particular?
Most communities regardless of how cut off from the rest of the world they are (or were) managed to invent their own religions. In some cases these were very peaceful beliefs, tolerant of other people and provided guidelines as to how people should behave. However in some extreme cases (Mayans/Incas/Aztecs amongst others) the religion included making sacrifices to their gods, including human ones. These extreme religions can be hard to take from our standpoint, and a case could be made for humanities sake to go to war with believers of them to prevent more needless death.... but who are we to say that they were wrong? What right does anyone have to tell someone else what they can and cannot believe? ![]()
Casino cash: £4016 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 35
I think that although religion is an out-dated concept today, it definitely had its place in the past; an important place. It taught morals, rules and respect to people for thousands of years and the effects still resonate today. Of course, it also taught a lot of unnecessary things but the main crux of all religions is to 'treat others as you would like to be treated'; it's the greatest yet most basic of all human principles. With religion, I think I had 3 phases growing up: Initially, it didn't really interest me and I let it wash over me, then I learned some stuff about a couple of religions and decided I hated all forms of it, and now I'm a balance of the two. I think it has its place but it does not hold any particular interest for me personally. Seeing religion for what it is, a belief system or faith in something greater than yourself, can become clouded by people who take it all too seriously. It's easy to forget that these religions all have positive lessons to teach us - most people these days seem to have grasped the notion that religion isn't always good, but forget that it is good most of the time - and the positive things don't get talked about nearly as much as the negative. Ever so slightly, I'm starting to come around to the idea that modern Britain might be in need of a little Christianity. I've always had faith (boom boom) that modern society would evolve and grow into natural organic ambience, but perhaps the guiding hand of religion is needed just a little longer yet? I'm not sure of that one myself, its an ongoing debate in my head ![]()
Im Just Radge
ministers/priests/rabbi tell people what they can/cannot believe/do as well, no?
The reason I started the thread was from the thought that if we hadn't had religion in our past we might have not had an instilled set of beliefs about how people should act and behave. And, because of that we would have used our own inbuilt morality to decided what is right and what it wrong.
There is no doubt that religion has done good but what my point is that I don't think we need it, I think it's a misconception that we need it as a moral guide.
Spooky Admin Radge
Casino cash: £2724 vCash: 10000
In 2000 years people will be worshipping Harry Potter, Pottrianity will be rife.
all the isms will have been eradicated to be replaced by new isms. That's evolution. ![]()
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
Casino cash: £3967 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
the main source of muslims are the quran and the hadiths of the prophet peace be upon him and there isnt any verse in the quran that says kill all jews , jews are living among us here in morocco for many centuries and they re still living here. the issue here is always the palestinian israeli conflicts, for this reason some muslims are against the jewish state of israel and not jews in russia,ukrain, poland and so on. the way israel made their state in palestine is not acceptable for many muslims if i can say all of them, because it s a kind of occupation and oppression of a whole nation of palestine. |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £230 vCash: 10000
And I wouldnae mind a wee crack at Hermione Granger and Ginny Weasley too (if that's ok?) ![]()
Casino cash: £4016 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 35
Now, I'm not so sure. Do humans always naturally follow good morals, automatically? As I say, it's one that I've changed my mind on before, and probably will again. A good debate ![]()
Im Just Radge