Old 03-10-07, 09:38   #1
Tea Totalled Radge

Casino cash: £4325
Rep Power: 4 Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut
Too much sport not enough political hoo ha

Whats happening to the Cowshed? Its getting over run by sports fans.

Old 03-10-07, 09:48   #2

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice
Re: Too much sport not enough political hoo ha

I'm back now and have no interest in sport except footy.

(Are the TORIES NOT UTTERLY AT SEA JUST NOW GB seems to wrong foot them at each turn).
Old 03-10-07, 10:18   #3

Casino cash: £2303

Originally Posted by Green Sleeves View Post
Whats happening to the Cowshed? Its getting over run by sports fans.

I know - we need some more provocative threads to start some bruha ha and some furores
Old 03-10-07, 13:41   #4

Casino cash: £5811

I've got one...

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 13:50   #5
On the Wagon Radge

Casino cash: £1090

I've got a bit of time on my hands. Who's going to fire the first salvo?
Old 03-10-07, 14:53   #6

Casino cash: £535

Tories plans to up the inheritance tax threshold from £300,000 to £1million.

How many ordinary "men in the street" have £300,000 to leave to anyone? I ken that my kids will get considerably less than that and I'm not exactly skint!

I cant see it being a massive vote winner for them to be honest!

Possibly removing stamp duty from first time housebuyers may sway a few people, but not enough to swing the balance of power back to the right!
Old 03-10-07, 16:25   #7

Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post

How many ordinary "men in the street" have £300,000 to leave to anyone? I ken that my kids will get considerably less than that and I'm not exactly skint!

Possibly removing stamp duty from first time housebuyers may sway a few people, but not enough to swing the balance of power back to the right!
First time buyers? Tr reducing it for the rest of us. Tax breaks for stay at home mums is not going to swing any votes either. Tax breaks for nursery care might attract more people (watch for GB doing something for working families to counter the Tory approach).
Old 03-10-07, 17:22   #8

Casino cash: £2687

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post

Whilst you may not have liquid assets of 300k the way the current housing situation is going a house that was valued at 100k a few years back will be going for about 250k now, add into the equation that a lot of people are taking out life policies of over 6 figures for a small outlay every month, then it's entirely possible to rack up over the odds for inheritance tax.
Gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

Cos, I'm all right, I'm all right
Union Jack, fly the flag
KABULHIBBY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 17:36   #9

Casino cash: £290

Originally Posted by KABULHIBBY View Post
Whilst you may not have liquid assets of 300k the way the current housing situation is going a house that was valued at 100k a few years back will be going for about 250k now, add into the equation that a lot of people are taking out life policies of over 6 figures for a small outlay every month, then it's entirely possible to rack up over the odds for inheritance tax.
Aye, but surely the point is that folk shouldn't be inheriting untaxed, unearned income of up to a million pounds? Inheritance tax is a vote winner amongst folk who, let's be honest about it, are likely to vote Tory anyway. George Osborne's smug fucking face when he announced it was enough to make me against the idea.

If I were inheriting my mum's £500k house, i'm damn sure i'd be happy to pay Inheritance tax on the excess.
Old 03-10-07, 18:31   #10

Casino cash: £2687

Originally Posted by TonySoprano View Post
Aye, but surely the point is that folk shouldn't be inheriting untaxed, unearned income of up to a million pounds? Inheritance tax is a vote winner amongst folk who, let's be honest about it, are likely to vote Tory anyway. George Osborne's smug fucking face when he announced it was enough to make me against the idea.

If I were inheriting my mum's £500k house, i'm damn sure i'd be happy to pay Inheritance tax on the excess.
Rather you than me then TBH, my house although not in the high bracket, low 100k ish, will put me over the inheritance threshold. Then again my life was assured for a considerable sum and was done so as part of my job and if you throw in the initial endownment that I planned to use before we changed mortgage, I personally do not see why the government should be allowed to gain extra income on money that I have already paid tax on PRIOR to using it as I saw fit for the future of my family.
Gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

Cos, I'm all right, I'm all right
Union Jack, fly the flag
KABULHIBBY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 18:43   #11

Casino cash: £290

Originally Posted by KABULHIBBY View Post
Rather you than me then TBH, my house although not in the high bracket, low 100k ish, will put me over the inheritance threshold. Then again my life was assured for a considerable sum and was done so as part of my job and if you throw in the initial endownment that I planned to use before we changed mortgage, I personally do not see why the government should be allowed to gain extra income on money that I have already paid tax on PRIOR to using it as I saw fit for the future of my family.
You've paid tax on it, but your family haven't. I know it's an emotive one, but since I'm not a big fan of the kind of people generally created by inherited wealth, i'm no having it as a bad thing. That may well be a prejudice on my behalf, but we're no talking about folk being left destitute here, are we?

The stamp duty thing, I can see scope for winning votes that way. Personally i'd rather see Stamp duty being paid on sales proceeds when you sell your house, no on what you're paying for it. That might also mean less buy to let houses which are what's fucking the market in places like Edinburgh.
Old 04-10-07, 09:30   #12

Originally Posted by TonySoprano View Post
You've paid tax on it, but your family haven't. I know it's an emotive one, but since I'm not a big fan of the kind of people generally created by inherited wealth, i'm no having it as a bad thing. That may well be a prejudice on my behalf, but we're no talking about folk being left destitute here, are we?

The stamp duty thing, I can see scope for winning votes that way. Personally i'd rather see Stamp duty being paid on sales proceeds when you sell your house, no on what you're paying for it. That might also mean less buy to let houses which are what's fucking the market in places like Edinburgh.
You could deal better with Buy to Let through personal and business taxation.