Old 03-10-07, 08:57   #1

Kids to Hibs Games

I'm coming up to Auld Reekie in the new year and want to "treat" my wee boy to his first football game.

What's the best bit of the ground to go? Do I need to buy tickets in advance? Anything else I should know

(He'll be 2 years old by the time we come up BTW.)
Old 03-10-07, 09:12   #2

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about
Re: Kids to Hibs Games

I took my bairn, pictured left, to his first game v Middlesbro earlier in the summer. He was aged 2 at the time.

I took him to the West, but it's fully season ticket holders around me and I'll take him to the South next time; just to give him a bit of space and so that when he kicks the back of the chair in front it doesnae bother anyone.

I just checked online, and you dinnae seem to be able to buy tickets for the south stand until all the other stands are sold out.

Currently working on: Hibees Bounce Hibs Stats
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 09:38   #3

Originally Posted by Purple & Green View Post
I took my bairn, pictured left, to his first game v Middlesbro earlier in the summer. He was aged 2 at the time.

I took him to the West, but it's fully season ticket holders around me and I'll take him to the South next time; just to give him a bit of space and so that when he kicks the back of the chair in front it doesnae bother anyone.

I just checked online, and you dinnae seem to be able to buy tickets for the south stand until all the other stands are sold out.
The South Stand used to be the away one, yes? Across the footbridge over the railway?
Old 03-10-07, 10:00   #4

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
The South Stand used to be the away one, yes? Across the footbridge over the railway?
Yes, it's the away one. They also use it for the hibs kids on hibs kids days.

It's often the case that the away support numbers only a couple of hundred these days.

Currently working on: Hibees Bounce Hibs Stats
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 12:00   #5

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

I took my son for his first game at the new Bay View - East Fife vs. Acrington Stanley pre-season friendly. He lasted 17 minutes before we had to leave due to boredom.

His next game was Hibs vs. Gretna (in the East Stand), he managed the first half but he was quite freaked out by the noise in there and didn't want to go back in so we left at half time.

Then we went to the Camp Nou for the stadium tour, he liked that as it wasn't full of big scary men shouting so...

..I think that made him feel like going back to ER. We went to the Killi game (in the East again). I decided to go on to the terracing in the first section as there're more kids there and I thought he'd be less freaked out but he was bored again and saw someone with a hot dog and said he was hungry. So we left and went to a cafe which he seemed to enjoy.

He did say he liked the look of the Famous Five stand (the North stand, where I went as a kid) so I might take him there some time.

He's 3 and a half years old so (finally) my point is that I think it's a bit early for him yet. They cannae follow the game and get bore shitless.

Don't let that put you off though, he'll thank you for being able to say he's not a glory hunter and that he was an ER regular before they won the Champions League.
Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 12:19   #6

Kenny is on the way to a first team debut

I took my wee girl, 2 and half, to the stirling albion game and she lasted about an hour...it was too busy, if it had been emptier then she would've run about and not got so bored.

but she's desperate to go again...so motherwell away or gretna away I reckon...loads of space and only 25mins in the car - ER is about a 90min for me....and with that length of drive its more likely she'll get bored.

make sure and mind the sweeties and juice (hidden in your jacket so you don't get rumbled) that'll extend the period before boredom sets in.
Old 03-10-07, 12:26   #7

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post

make sure and mind the sweeties and juice (hidden in your jacket so you don't get rumbled) that'll extend the period before boredom sets in.
The key to good parenting; snacks.
Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 12:32   #8

Briant is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Brainwrong View Post
The key to good parenting; snacks.
And a game boy
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 12:59   #9

I'm hoping to start taking my wee ne to some Hibs kids games this season just to see how he takes to it. Not having any bairns of my own this is the first time I will ever have done this so any good advice would be helpful. He is five at the moment and gets put off by a lot of noise (West stand therefore sounds the best bet ! ), so hopefully we will get to a game later on this season. My brother brings my other two nes up from Yorkshire for some Hibs kids games and gets tickets quite easily for the South Stand. IMO bairns don't start to enjoy the football till there about six or seven when they can follow the game a wee bit and have heroes in the team that they want to see. The other problem nowadays of course is with all-seated stadiums they are very restricted and cannae run aboot a terracing as I did on the old East Terracing when I was that age.

Last edited by Greenmachine; 03-10-07 at 17:44.
Greenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 17:37   #10

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

I took my 4 year old to a few games last season and she was totally bored after 30 mins tbh,this season she's been to 2 games and watched the Celtic game on telly with me and she seems a wee bit more interested.

I've found that if you find someone else with a kid to play with it eases the boredom,i've also this season taken her to the 1st section nearest the FF in the terracing so that she can stand on the seats and see what's going on (Though she doesnae like everyone shouting around her).

I've been taking her so that she gets used to the atmosphere and surroundings,as said above a wee rucksack with some crisps,sweet and juice (get a carton as the police ask your child if you have a bottle ) it saves dosh as the food at ER is a total rip though a pie each made her feel even more part of things.

Make sure they have a Hibs scarf on them
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 04-10-07, 09:13   #11

So, you're suggesting that this might be an expensive mistake and I may be better off indoctrinating im using DVDs of Hibs?

(For the mean time).