Casino cash: £3664 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
Scotland rugby team vs All blacks
I for one can't believe what humpty Hadden has done. Putting out a reserve team against the best team in the world is the wrong answer.
![]() The Scoltand players will surely want to test themselves against the world's best and have a go at them......The same way the fitba team did againsrt the French in paris and Glasgow. Running away from the all blacks, as that is what we are doing is not the Scottish way. The fans going to the game and the country have been short changed by these actions which confirms to me this man should not be the coach to the national team. A shocking decision. If we fail to beat Italy and qualify he should go immediately. he has put pressure on himself in doing this. Italy becomes make or break.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
Casino cash: £10090 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 177
Re: Scotland rugby team vs All blacks
They are actually huge
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: £4600 vCash: 10000
Is it not a bit like us playing the OF, when we've no chance of the league and got a Scottish Cup semi final the next week
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Casino cash: £3597 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 3
Dont like the idea of a second string team, but I can see why Hadden has done so. However if I had paid £150 plus for a ticket, would be well pi$$ed off
Aye but we would not change 13 out of 15 players or in our terms 10 out of 11. We would probaly have the book thrown at us by the SPL anyway.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £535 vCash: 10000
Naw, all of the players in the squads are recognised international standard players... Maybe not as good as our first string but still acceptable.
Football world cups in the past have seen teams give everyone in their squad a game as well (I'm sure France did it in '78 in Argentina) once they'd already been eliminated. It's up to the countries involved to decide if they want to rest players. I can understand why the fans would feel short changed, but I feel that by resting the players, he has given us our best chance of progressing to the quarter finals.
Casino cash: £4847 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 6
Hadden needs to get Scotland to the Quarters, even with the strongest team possible the chances of a win against the All Blacks are negligible. I suppose there are lots of ways to look at it but not subjecting the 'big' players to the physical battering that is a game against NZ can only be good for the chances of winning the following week. I know there's every chance that Italy will beat Scotland anyway but I'd rather see us go in at full strength. As for the paying public, I'd imagine they're looking forward to seeing an awesome AB team who are likely to win the RWC. If I was being totally honest I'd probably say that many of the cucumber sandwich brigade who are paying the large amounts to watch the game wont know half the Players on show anyway so its maybe not that big an issue. |
Bad call in my view.
Casino cash: £4847 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 6
Another factor is the Players themselves, I'm sure like you say the Scottish guys would want to come up against the best in the world to gauge themselves but I suppose its down to the Coach. |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £535 vCash: 10000
Apparently Fiji are approaching their last 2 games in exactly the same way as us... They play Australia today and are resting most of their first team regulars and saving them for what will be the decider for 2nd place in the group versus Wales...
Time will tell if the tactic works for either or both teams.. would suggest that if we beat Italy (which we've not been doing lately) and Fiji go through against Wales, the doubting thomases should eat humble pie, however if after doing this we still fail to qualify then the "go down in a blaze of glory fighting" brigade can feel justified. Bottom line is that we have definitely helped our chances by doing this, and I feel it would be naive to risk our top players in a game that we will almost certainly lose anyway. It would possibly have been easier for Hadden to do if he wasn't playing at Murrayfield, but I think he's being taken to task because of the number of people feeling short changed, having bought expensive tickets in advance. ![]()
![]() Join Date: Apr 2004
Casino cash: £250 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Before anybody takes a hissy fit...calm doon..ahm gonnae be cheeky.
Rugby? Rugby? I'd rather talk about cake recipes or Maroon Readers' Wives. Rugby? Buggery? Private School Nonce Grooming. Egg Chasing? Having a crush on yer gym teacher of the same sex? What a pile ay pish! But...as i say...nay angry replies please,as i'm just being cheeky! |
Many of us state school boys played rugby as well.
Sorry Pal. My Dad used to actually take me to Murrayfield in the early to mid 80s. I was fortunate enough to see us winning the Grand Slam against France in 84 and also to see us SHAGGING the English 33-6 a few years later. Also had a few great experiences watching us hump the Welsh and the Irish,but my real regret was that i was always in the "New Stand...the East" and never in the clock end or the other terracing! Great Days at the time,and i accept that normal guyslike your good self and other lads lovethe rugger,but i hate aw this Heriots/Stewarts Melville posh woofter shit! I admit that i still love to watch an international game,but ex schoolboy club stuff? Keep it for the Farqhuars! ![]() ![]() |
Behind us were a load ay Rugby Club Guys from York,who were giving it drunken pish,such as"Lets do these SCOTCH bastards! My Dad who still works in the building trade and was a boxer,turned around and said"Right ya fcucking arseholes...who's wanting it first?" To this day.i remember how they all turned white,and stayed quiet for the remainder of the game!!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() As Sir Alex Ferguson would say...."Pwoud....so vewy vewy PWOUD!!!" ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Casino cash: £3597 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 3
Casino cash: £3615 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I think the bigger scandal is the cost - I know Kiwis who love rugby and for them seeing the the All Blacks would be a dream, but they simply can't afford to go. I think Hadden has called it right, a mauling from the ABs would not set us up for an Italy crunch decider. Anyone remember the first 8 mins of the last Italy game?
Incidentally, I was at a concert last night when an (American) bandmember said how much he loved Scotland and 'kill all blacks'. It took an awful second for people to realise what he actually meant. |
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: £4600 vCash: 10000
Lanark, did Italy play their first choice fifteen against the ABs?
I believe so yes.
Casino cash: £260 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
This tournament has become a farce in this respect, with about 1/3 of all the teams put out being reserve teams. Even no-hopers were at it, i.e. Japan (4th seeds) putting out their 2nd XV v Australia, and getting hammerred like 90 or 100 to 3 or 6 or something, to save their players for the match v the 5th seeds. Its pointless and ridiculous and just gives rugby a bad image for people who might only watch it during world cups. I'm appalled at Haddens decision, but not surprised. But £150 for a reserve match!!
This just reinforces why 2011 should be 4 groups of 4, with 1 match every week (i.e. weekends only).
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
Casino cash: £447 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I think he's quite right in what he has done TBH. Out of all the home nations Scotland have really been the only group to have performed to a descent level, but even against the All Blacks 2nd string Scotlands best would fail to live with them (New Zealands 2nd string is probably the 2nd best team in the world) and it would have been hugely demoralising if they were to receive a crushing. Resting the starting |