Old 13-09-07, 07:56   #1

Casino cash: £220
Led Zep confirm reuinion gig

One-off gig £125 a ticket, by ballot only...

BBC NEWS | Entertainment | Led Zeppelin confirm reunion gig

Torn here.. I used to love them, but would hate the gig to turn into them being a parody of their former selves (could be a bit Spinal Tappish?). Sometimes you just want to remember things as they were when they were at their best.

Thoughts ?
Old 13-09-07, 08:04   #2

Casino cash: £4927
Re: Led Zep confirm reuinion gig

The greatest rock band there has ever been.

Don't see the point in this reunion gig although I understand the money is all going to charity which is fair enough. I share your worries about them being a parody of themselves. They were of their time, and should just leave it at that. Their fantastic musical legacy will live on forever.

It can't be Led Zeppeilin anyway without John Bonham..
Old 13-09-07, 08:12   #3

Casino cash: £5701

I love Led Zep but always wondered why they kept re-doing the same tracks. And, for that very reason I don't think it really matters if they do another gig; they've always been a parody of themselves (in my opinion).

£125 for a gig even if for cheridee is feckin' steep. How much goes to the charity?

And, Greenmachine you're right, they cannot truly be Led Zep without Bonham. Every drummer I've ever met/known when asked who is their all time favorite drummer replies; "John fucking Bonham". Even if they think Led Zep were pish!

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 08:14   #4

Casino cash: £6815
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post
The greatest rock band there has ever been.

Don't see the point in this reunion gig although I understand the money is all going to charity which is fair enough. I share your worries about them being a parody of themselves. They were of their time, and should just leave it at that. Their fantastic musical legacy will live on forever.

It can't be Led Zeppeilin anyway without John Bonham..

I can't say I totally agree with the John Bonham reference: The Stones without Jones, Taylor. Wyman? The Who without Moon, Entwistle? Still rocking. But I do agree I'd hate to see Led Zep parodying themselves which is, I fear, how it will turn out. Plant's voice ain't what it used to be although in his latest offerings he does stick to his limitations. But still, as you say, the legacy will remain, whatever they do now.
Old 13-09-07, 08:20   #5

Casino cash: £5729
vCash: 46000

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
One-off gig £125 a ticket, by ballot only...

BBC NEWS | Entertainment | Led Zeppelin confirm reunion gig

Torn here.. I used to love them, but would hate the gig to turn into them being a parody of their former selves (could be a bit Spinal Tappish?). Sometimes you just want to remember things as they were when they were at their best.

Thoughts ?
I saw Plant and Page in Glasgow a few years ago and they were superb

Robert Plant is still the best rock singer I've heard and Jimmy Page is still a master of the rock guitar.

They may be getting on a bit but they have lost none of their ability or passion for what they do. The atmosphere when I saw them was terrific. None of us felt let down by the band, there was no "wish I'd seen them at their best".

They are still the best
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 11:01   #6

Casino cash: £4607

Decal Joe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 11:05   #7

Casino cash: £5357

Originally Posted by Briant View Post
I saw Plant and Page in Glasgow a few years ago and they were superb

Robert Plant is still the best rock singer I've heard and Jimmy Page is still a master of the rock guitar.

They may be getting on a bit but they have lost none of their ability or passion for what they do. The atmosphere when I saw them was terrific. None of us felt let down by the band, there was no "wish I'd seen them at their best".

They are still the best

Possibly. Paul Rodgers is still chanting good stylee.
Old 13-09-07, 13:02   #8

Casino cash: £4875
Rep Power: 6 The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

I saw them at Knebworth back in 77 in what was then their last ever gig in the UK.
Going back to see them over 30 years later just wouldn't be the same.
Hang on, I'm going to see The Rezillos next month ....
Old 13-09-07, 13:21   #9

Casino cash: £5563

Got their live double-disc DVD and it's awesome! When they played Kashmir at Knebworth the atmosphere seems incredible. To sample even a bit of that would be great. Cannae afford 125 quid though!
Old 13-09-07, 14:55   #10

Casino cash: £5701

Originally Posted by The Hibby Pirate View Post
I saw them at Knebworth back in 77 in what was then their last ever gig in the UK.
Going back to see them over 30 years later just wouldn't be the same.
Hang on, I'm going to see The Rezillos next month ....
I guy I worked with saw them about then in Birmingham with Chas & fecking Dave as support!

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 15:01   #11

Casino cash: £6815
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by KerPlunk View Post
Possibly. Paul Rodgers is still chanting good stylee.
HE'S da man
Old 13-09-07, 15:08   #12
The Dancin Radge

Casino cash: £105
Rep Power: 6 Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Remember my mother coming into ma room years ago asking " what the feck is that you've got blaring at this bloody time in the morning " like the state i was in here it is. I was addicted to them and Deep Purple.

Old 13-09-07, 22:51   #13

Casino cash: £4927

30 Million applications for tickets today apparently...
Old 14-09-07, 07:44   #14

Casino cash: £220

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post
30 Million applications for tickets today apparently...
BEEB says 20 million, but either way, there's not much chance of getting a ticket as the O2 arena only holds 20,000.

Would it not make more sense therefore to hold it in a stadium that'd hold 3 times as many people? Make 3 times as much money for charity?