Old 12-09-07, 20:17   #1

Casino cash: £1821
Rep Power: 7 baggageandfibs is on the way to a first team debut
national anthem

just heard it on the radio...it started off alright, as usual, loud as feck, but then descended into...well...white noise after 1st chorus.

it's hard enough tune to sing in time at the best of times but most of the tartan army have obviously had a several doe a deers and couldnae contain themselves and were singing it at 78rpm. I'm sure the french were thinking wtf.
baggageandfibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 07:44   #2

Casino cash: £1395
Re: national anthem

Originally Posted by baggageandfibs View Post
just heard it on the radio...it started off alright, as usual, loud as feck, but then descended into...well...white noise after 1st chorus.

it's hard enough tune to sing in time at the best of times but most of the tartan army have obviously had a several doe a deers and couldnae contain themselves and were singing it at 78rpm. I'm sure the french were thinking wtf.
It's a hard one to get into for sure not one that can be pumped out with gusto like God Save the Queen.

The best anthem for signing I think is La Marseillaise which is a belting tune. We can't go back to 'Scotland the Brave' although is a easier one to sing nobody knows the words. I think we need to commisson the Proclaimers to write a sing-along National Anthem.

Le Jackson 6
persevered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 07:53   #3

Casino cash: £15030

Originally Posted by persevered View Post
It's a hard one to get into for sure not one that can be pumped out with gusto like God Save the Queen.

The best anthem for signing I think is La Marseillaise which is a belting tune. We can't go back to 'Scotland the Brave' although is a easier one to sing nobody knows the words. I think we need to commisson the Proclaimers to write a sing-along National Anthem.
Suggest that they already have... Cap in Hand...
Old 13-09-07, 08:26   #4

Casino cash: £1395

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
Suggest that they already have... Cap in Hand...
It's a great song but too political. What happens when Scotland obtains independence? Also there will be unionist sections of the tartan army who do not like it. It also references Thatcher's Britain which would make it seem a bit outdated.

A national anthem is hard to write. It has to be positive and rousing without being overly sentimental. The words of 'Flower of Scotland' are great but the tune.

Le Jackson 6
persevered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 08:46   #5
Tea Totalled Radge

Casino cash: £5140
Rep Power: 4 Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

How about "We're on the march with Alex's Army..."

Old 13-09-07, 10:07   #6

Casino cash: £1691

HOW CAN YOU HAVE A NATIONAL ANTHEM SUNG WHEN THE BANDS PLAYING AT ONE TEMPO ONE SIDES SINGS FASTER THAN THE OTHERE THE OTHERE SIDE HAS HAVE A HALF VERSE STILL TO SING AND THE OTHERE TWATS ARE SINGING DOE A DEER ITS NOT FUNNY TIME FOR A CHANGE SOMETHING WITH A BIT OF BITE IMO

IMO ,FOS is crap its embarrassing its to slow you get yourself up for the game then wallop
O Flower ------ slows the whole oomph doon we want a get up and at em sort o anthem now if we had the french one ?, maybe we could borrow in for Euro 2008 if they don't qualify likes ken .

Nefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 11:16   #7

Casino cash: £37763
Rep Power: 37 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

I've said it before, I'll say it again. Lord Rockingham has already provided one. Every knows the words everyone knows the tune - and you can do the twist to it - a dance that the kilt was made for!!!!
Old 13-09-07, 11:34   #8

Casino cash: £19780
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
I've said it before, I'll say it again. Lord Rockingham has already provided one. Every knows the words everyone knows the tune - and you can do the twist to it - a dance that the kilt was made for!!!!
And i've agreed with you before Col [on this subject at least].

Hoots mon theres a moose, loose, aboot this hoose dadada da da da da da da da deedee deedeedeeedeedee

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEhah

Old 13-09-07, 11:44   #9

Casino cash: £15030

That'd get the punters dancing in the stadiums!!!

I think it'd intimidate the opposition too (or they'd be too busy pissing themselves laughing for the first 5 minutes of any game that we'd be sure to have a couple of goals head start!)
Old 13-09-07, 12:27   #10
Lost in France Radge

Casino cash: £1553

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
That'd get the punters dancing in the stadiums!!!

I think it'd intimidate the opposition too (or they'd be too busy pissing themselves laughing for the first 5 minutes of any game that we'd be sure to have a couple of goals head start!)
The Haka it ain't!
Peevemor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 13:22   #11

Casino cash: £859

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
Oh fuck mental image kicking in

Almost up there with Yoda doing the slosh

That is one kwalitee shout :YAYYY:
Louis Prima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-07, 15:31   #12

Rep Power: 37 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
The Haka it ain't!
But we could finish by flashing our arses Braveheart style.
Old 13-09-07, 16:29   #13