Elvis Presley
F#ck knows why he suddenly came into my head but I thought I'd start a thread on the man. THE MAN
Any bouncers fans? I'll bet there's hundreds. I had quite an obsession during my mid twenties. Probably me taking the p'ss mostly but he most certainly was pretty darned cool. Here's my favourite... [YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDy0rWP2sG8[/youtube] Thoughts?
Re: Elvis Presley
I've always been a fan and I'm pretty sure a few other Bouncers are as well.
Ideal drinking music when no one else can agree what to play!
The Elvis 1968 NBC Comeback Special is out on DVD. In addition to the show that was aired, the DVD contains the 2 stand-up and the 2 sit-down mini-concerts Elvis did. The best of the 4 shows were then included in the final programme.
Anyway, these clips are from sit-down show 2 (which was the most informal and relaxed) - Elvis at his best belting it out with a guitar. |
I've never really been that much of an Elvis fan to be honest, but I can appreciate the mans voice. He had a great voice for ballads and he was certainly a charismatic performer. My favourite Elvis song is probably "I just can't help believing".
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
I'm More a fan of Elvis as an icon than for his music although there are plenty of songs I like. I got married in Vegas and I just had to have an Elvis impersonator at the ceremony and it was brilliant.
My Wife is a big fan of Elvis, she's got CDs and DVDs that are first to go on if she gets the chance!
The Kids also like the songs due to bloody Lilo & Stitch! |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Anyone on here "believe" that he's still alive?
or is that kind of belief reserved for Yams? He should have been a Scotsman, his love for deep fried food was legendary, I wonder what he'd have made of deep fried pizza and deep fried mars bars... a sandwich possibly!
though sitting through some of his films are hard work
However he did take the music of the day by the scruff of the neck and give it a damned good shake thereby influencing music for decades afterwards due to the ripple effect of his actions. And my mum loved/loves him so thats good enough for me. My favourite Elvis track is "All shook up"
Though I smile the tears inside me are a burnin'
What else is there for me to do but cry. Cheery stuff D
surely his best song is "american trilogy"
proof he was a hibee
my old neighbour was an alky and he used to blast out Elvis tunes all day in a drunken haze. Cops were usually called out and all hell broke loose. Thats my memory of Elvis.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Wasn't "American Trilogy" strictly speaking, more than one song?
i suppose
well the glory,glory one's the best
You don't have to be an Elvis fan to like one or two of his songs, he's probably done something that most everyone likes, at some point. I think the footage of the young fifties El are pretty ace and it's easy to see why he became such a sensation. Why do people always think of the older burger-betrayed King though?
Well bless-a my soul. I have to say I'm more of an Eddie Cochran man masel... |
![]() For god's sake don't mention 'Old Shep' though... ![]() "As the years fast did roll Old shep he grew old His eyes were fast growing dim And one day the doctor looked at me and said I can do no more for him jim" |
Get it up ye ya radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Elvis is the man. Love his work. Personal fav - Burning Love - great song.
Specky Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
brought up in an elvis lovin household (ma old boy was born on the same day as the king) so got hooked on him fae an early age an one of ma brothers still thinks he is elvis, glad tae here the 68 comeback special has been reissued in dvd wi loadsa extra bits like the sit down jam sessions wi the jordanaires
an also the endearin image of elvis complete wi the spangly jumpsuit practisin his karate katas live on stage in vegas, etc barrie jus like the embarassin uncle at a family do showin you he can "still dae a hand stand" tho what he was doin naked at the time am no sure was that crucial
would bring a tear to a glass eye