McCann Threads
I've really enjoyed reading all the threads and opinions regarding the McCanns.
Some opinions have shocked me,others are along the same lines as my own. But, and to me it's a big BUT. It's time to maybe give it a rest for a wee while. Let the various authoritys do what they have to do, and probably once all the facts are available and we know the truth, or will we? we can all start again. And A can say he/she was right, or B can say no, they were right and A was wrong. But until that time if it ever comes? can we all just chill. ![]() The first thread had a few heated exchanges, and now the poll thread has a few heated exchanges. Thank christ the Hibs are back playing the game we all love on Saturday, and we can all get back to some sense of normality. |
Re: McCann Threads
Without wanting to appear morbid i find it very interesting , i wish the wee lassie could be found alive and well though that now seems unlikely. Someone , somewhere knows exactly what has happened , but who
There have been some valid points that I tend to agree with. There have also been some points that I just canny agree with. But dont start taking the pish because of someones opinion. Maybe it's just me I dont know? I would love to see the bairn found alive. But I just canny see it which is very sad. no matter who done it. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
Everything I've read here has been very much on the polite side. I wus in the pub earlier, and some bam picked up the nearest rag and belted out for everyone to hear "saoooo, wots the latests on them murderin McCanns then?"
It was a laydeeeee bam.
Its cold outside, There's no kind of atmosphere, I'm all alone, More or less. Let me fly, Far away from here, Fun, fun, fun, In the sun, sun, sun. I want to lie, Shipwrecked and comotoase, Drinking fresh, Mango juice, Goldfish shoals, Nibbling at my toes, Fun, fun, fun, In the sun, sun, sun, Fun, fun, fun, In the sun, sun, sun.
The McCanns, be they innocent or guilty, will never again know normality. Poor buggers.
I would suggest things went wrong on the two threads, not because of the opinions people have on what has happened, but a) on peoples opinion on Catholic priests and b) what is considered a sick joke or not.
Thats just it Mark opinions. Everyone has one and should be allowed to say it. But some people were taking offence if the opinion differed from theirs. |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
But overall, I fink that the threads lost there way due to pedantics, rather than debate.
Its cold outside, There's no kind of atmosphere, I'm all alone, More or less. Let me fly, Far away from here, Fun, fun, fun, In the sun, sun, sun. I want to lie, Shipwrecked and comotoase, Drinking fresh, Mango juice, Goldfish shoals, Nibbling at my toes, Fun, fun, fun, In the sun, sun, sun, Fun, fun, fun, In the sun, sun, sun.
Surely this is exactly what the cowshed is all about? It's a huge story and all of Britain is talking about it, why not on Bounce? Some people have opinions at polar opposites to each other and that's why it's become heated. Personally I've learnt more on here about this than any other medium available to me. My opinion fluctuates one way and then the next. You're right that some comments have been a tad narky but usually differences are resolved and it calms down, much to the credit of most on here. I think that in itself is why it deserves to be continually discussed. Bouncing opinions, however extreme, off each other is one of the most valuable ways of learning. In my short spell on here I've learnt tons of things I'd never even thought of before. For that reason I think the debates should be allowed to rumble on unless there's some really extreme silly posts but I honestly don't think there've been any of those. Just my opinion like, but I believe it. And Scotland humping France tomorrow night will probably bump it all down the board anyway
Im all for public debate but the joke that was posted was just far too far.
Sticks and stones hurt but names don't. Or at least they shouldn't. What makes me a tad wary though is that there might possibly be relations of the McCann's reading this. It's maybe a bit close to home. But otherwise I don't see much difference between making jokes about this than making jokes about Michael Jackson ![]() It goes without saying that it would break my heart in two to hear what happened to poor Maddie (who's strangely been overlooked in all this) but me wringing my hands won't cure her pain. And also me laughing at the jokes won't increase her pain either. Save the vitriol for whoever caused that pain, should it ever be conclusively proved. Which I'm starting to think it won't.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
I'm for far more Mccann debates rather than less as there is so much information out there that no -one is reporting on such as:
(a) The silence of the 'Tapas 9' ![]() (b) The unprecedented role of the English goverment in appointing media spin doctors to advise the McCann's. ![]() (c)The political power and background wielded by the McCanns friends. (d) The 'Find Madeline' fighting fund which is administered by Kate McCann's best friend. ![]() If the McCann's are charged with homicide/manslaughter or murder as is looking more likely then what will Leicestershire social services do about the 'twins' who have already being treated dreadfully by their parents. ![]() Another interesting debate is whether the £1m 'Find Madeline' fighting fund should really be used to pay off the General Pinochet lawyers fees who have now been appopinted to fight possible extradition and if the McCanns are sent back to Portugal then can they really dip into this fund to meet their legal fees against a murder rap. ![]() As far as I can see there is has been one pedantic spat about a priest and a bad taste joke that resulted in some name calling. Hardly reason for stopping debate on the 'cause celebre' of the century though I will have to censor myself for a week as I'm off on holibobs.
The day I find jokes regarding a 5 year old child being murdered and bundled in the boot of a car funny or acceptable is a day I hope I do not see.
Hibsterical Radge
I'm not condoning or condemning what Rab said mate, just trying to put things into perspective.
Clydesdale Bank Premier League Table 06 October 2007 16:54 1 Hibernian 9 9 21 2 Celtic 8 21 19 3 Rangers 9 15 19 4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16 5 Hearts 9 1 14 6 Motherwell 9 -1 13 |
I laugh at jokes I find funny,I just don't find a joke in that context in anyway humorus,that's all. I think I can be pretty bad sometimes with my jokes,but not like that,I think the fact the post was removed for being "Offensive" shows my point! It's meant to be a discussion on the board,not sick jokes(just my thoughts)already one person has jacked the bounce because of the McCann threads and the heat of the discussion that was going on and I don't think posts of that nature is going to calm the debate any.
Ach, we're just bletherin'
©stetch - it's no more or less than is getting discussed in any other realm of society right now - if anything you could argue the number of varied posters and takes on the situation made for a fairer assessment.