Old 06-09-07, 22:32   #1
Wedding crasher radge

Casino cash: £4166
McCann Case

What the feck is goin on here? Is it just me or does anyone lese think this case is getting stranger by the week? Both parents to be interviewed as witnesses? But they can ask for "suspect" status.
broonieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 22:42   #2

Casino cash: £3367
Re: McCann Case

Whole thing has been wierd. Cant help but wonder if it had been single mum from a scheme if she would have got the press support or been slammed for leaving her kids unattended.
alnewhaven is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 22:47   #3

Casino cash: £2025

Originally Posted by alnewhaven View Post
Whole thing has been wierd. Cant help but wonder if it had been single mum from a scheme if she would have got the press support or been slammed for leaving her kids unattended.
What he said.
deano6-2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 23:39   #4

Casino cash: £18409

i have such a bad feeling about this. and i have such a bad feeling about the way i'm feeling. part of me hopes - given that i fear a happy ending is increasingly unlikely - that the wee un went quickly, and that her parent haven't undergone - and more more to the point, will undergo forever - what they must be, if theie version is true.

but god forgive me, i can barely admit to myself, but i guess that means i hope that in some way they know. and i hate myself for thinking that.
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 08:28   #5

kate mccann to be declared a suspect

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/6982969.stm
Old 07-09-07, 08:38   #6

Casino cash: £331

the portugese police have no idea what they are doing, and it has been this way since day one.

if it was the mccanns that killed her they would have left portugal months ago.

bampot1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 10:16   #7
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2719

"She is shocked and surprised in several ways. First of all that such an accusation could be made against her.

"And obviously she is concerned that such a line of investigation can become a distraction from further attempts to find Madeleine."

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 10:35   #8

Casino cash: £4292
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

if i think im understanding what bobby is saying(i hope)

why shouldn't she(and her husband) be accused of being guilty? it's like they have the attitude of "how dare people accuse us"

they were meant to be taking care of her and were the last people to see her
Old 07-09-07, 10:40   #9

Casino cash: £7900

I'm surprised that they weren't the first suspects.

W.O.T.C.
Old 07-09-07, 10:53   #10

Casino cash: £29598
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

There is just so much to this case that's untrue...

Firstly parents leaving three bairns under three years old on their own in the first place.. Don't care what anyone says with regards to this. It was unacceptable. As Sean said on here you don't leave your keys or passport on your bed when you go out let alone Three of your bairns...

Apparently the family say that them and their group of friends were going round in turns to check on the kids every 20 mins.. Although other witnesses including restaurant staff dispute that..

Unbelievably the room that is obviously a scene of a crime was let out to other guests as the search/investigation was going on...

Then guests were removed from this obvious scene of a crime for British forensics to do their work MONTHS after the wee soul went missing.

In the middle of the search as parents decide to stay in the resort the father comes to the Edinburgh Television Festival - i mean who is advising them?

Then in the most awful way the Police in Portugal start briefing against the Parents to the British press. How do the Parents find out about certain things like DNA searches etc? Through the Press. Disgusting.

Our Police force on these shores are capable of many disasters but IMHO there's no other Police force you'd want involved in any investigation involving your loved ones. The Portugese Police have been useless.

The McCann fund would have been better used funding Private Police/detective work rather than relying on the incompotence of the police in Portugal.

The McCann family made a HUGE mistake on that night their wee soul went missing but i refuse to believe that that went beyong naivety of leaving your bairns thinking they'd be safe...
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 10:55   #11
Simm-ply Radge

Casino cash: £2365
Rep Power: 6 green_goddess is on the way to a first team debut

Being declared a 'suspect' under Potuguese law is not the same as over here. It gives the Police the right to ask certain questions they cant ask witnesses, but it also gives way more legal protection to the person being interviewed if they are formally named a suspect. That's why it is possible for them to name themselves as suspects to receive the legal rights and protection that goes with it. It doesnt mean the interviewee has been arrested or charged.

However, it was also said that the Police do not name people as suspects unless they have a certain amount of evidence against them.

www.johnsimm.net
The ONLY dedicated John Simm forum on the web
green_goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 10:56   #12

Casino cash: £5801
vCash: 25700

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
kate mccann to be declared a suspect

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/6982969.stm
it's a wee bit different in Portugal.

witnesses don't have legal representation

you can declare yourself a suspect if you want legal representation

you can be declared a suspect if the police think you should have legal representation.

so still not really a suspect more an individual associated with a case who has legal representation.
Old 07-09-07, 11:00   #13
Listing Radge

Casino cash: £1787

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
The McCann family made a HUGE mistake on that night their wee soul went missing but i refuse to believe that that went beyong naivety of leaving your bairns thinking they'd be safe...
Me neither. I think the Portugese authorities/police are finding this dragging on a tad embarrassing and bad for local tourism. What better way to get rid of these inconvenient foreigners than pointing a few fingers and leaking a few smear stories ?
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 11:03   #14
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2719

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post
if i think im understanding what bobby is saying(i hope)

why shouldn't she(and her husband) be accused of being guilty? it's like they have the attitude of "how dare people accuse us"

they were meant to be taking care of her and were the last people to see her
Bob/Hibadelic,

todays front page on the Daily Mail is "I'm being framed"

I find something difficult about the media manager/spin: it's like every single word from the McCanns is run through an Alistair Campbell like character to ensure that, well I'm not really sure how to put into words what they mean to ensure.

If I was accused of killing my son, I'd be distraught, devastated, suicidal: I'd be broken. I'd be surprised and maybe shocked but that would be incidental to everything else.

And yes I don't understand why she thinks she shouldnae be suspected.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 11:04   #15

Casino cash: £5563

Evidently the thus far incompetent Portugese polis have hit a brick wall investigating the disapearance based the assumption that events transpired exactly as described by the McCann's. They are now exploring the possibility that statements given by them may not have been entirely truthful? Seems logical to me
Old 07-09-07, 11:26   #16
Simm-ply Radge

Casino cash: £2365
Rep Power: 6 green_goddess is on the way to a first team debut

It has been reported that the version of events on May 3rd given by the McCanns and their friends dont tally. Therefore surely the Police are correct in assuming something may well be amiss?

However, all the statements are given through an interpreter and this could also have an effect on things.

I just watched Kate McCann arrive at the Portimao Police Headquarters and she was jeered by a section of the huge crowd who were there. To me, that's bang out of order. No one knows if she is involved or not, and if she isnt and she is entirely innocent then this must be hell on earth for her.

However, does the old saying 'there's no smoke without fire' apply here?? You have to think that the Police have reason to believe they know something? Maybe to do with the forensic test results analysed by British scientists? Surely they cant possibly be so incompetent as to be making these moves with no real reason to do so?

www.johnsimm.net
The ONLY dedicated John Simm forum on the web
green_goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 12:22   #17

Casino cash: £4292
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

from sky news

'Horrified' Mum To Be A Suspect |Sky News|House Ads
Old 07-09-07, 12:52   #18

bbc tv news was speculating, based on what they think the dna tests were the cops have now received results from, that the child's blood has been found in the mccann's hire car - which they didn't rent till 5 weeks after the disappearance.

if this is true, it's pretty ominous.

edit - this is described in the link johnny has posted above.
Old 07-09-07, 13:04   #19

Casino cash: £5701

Originally Posted by green_goddess View Post
It has been reported that the version of events on May 3rd given by the McCanns and their friends dont tally. Therefore surely the Police are correct in assuming something may well be amiss?

However, all the statements are given through an interpreter and this could also have an effect on things.

I just watched Kate McCann arrive at the Portimao Police Headquarters and she was jeered by a section of the huge crowd who were there. To me, that's bang out of order. No one knows if she is involved or not, and if she isnt and she is entirely innocent then this must be hell on earth for her.

However, does the old saying 'there's no smoke without fire' apply here?? You have to think that the Police have reason to believe they know something? Maybe to do with the forensic test results analysed by British scientists? Surely they cant possibly be so incompetent as to be making these moves with no real reason to do so?
Could this become a diplomatic incident?

Sounds like the Portuguese in general are taking offense.

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 13:06   #20
Wish I was a German Radge!

Casino cash: £4922
Rep Power: 5 ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by bampot1 View Post
the portugese police have no idea what they are doing, and it has been this way since day one.

if it was the mccanns that killed her they would have left portugal months ago.

Nah, I disagree with that.

Assuming it was them what done it, it wouldn't be difficult for them to be swept up & hide behind the media frenzy that's been generated by the whole affair.
Old 07-09-07, 13:54   #21
Hibsterical Radge

Casino cash: £778

There's bound to be a shedload of unreleased information relating to the case. Until that information is in the public domain - which may be never - I think it's impossible to pass any kind of qualified comment on either the police's handling of the case, or whether the parents had any involvement in the disappearance of wee Maddie.

It is taking an awfy long time though.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 14:06   #22

Casino cash: £5801
vCash: 25700

Originally Posted by oo2beahibby View Post
There's bound to be a shedload of unreleased information relating to the case. Until that information is in the public domain - which may be never - I think it's impossible to pass any kind of qualified comment on either the police's handling of the case, or whether the parents had any involvement in the disappearance of wee Maddie.

It is taking an awfy long time though.
the pendulum has swung to the otherside now though.

previously no news meant people got behind the mccanns in support

now no news means no alibis for the mccanns.

so many people invested so much emotionally and financially for a wee lassie they didn't know they know feel they have a right to demand justice.

re - booing the mccanns : (rightly or wrongly) they've sniped at portuguese papers and police and its not surprising that the portuguese people would be less sympathetic if they are now seen as suspects.
Old 07-09-07, 14:58   #23