Casino cash: £18409 vCash: 10000
do you wish you'd ever been to war
on one hand this is probably the crassest post i've ever made, particularly in the eyes of the soldiers on here who've actually seen combat.
but but but... horrific as the reality would be, and rationally we'd all rightly shy away from it - but still. but still, i think that deep down most blokes would love to have signed up for a good old proper war against the krauts for example, rather than some nasty mess on the other side of the world with chaps you can't play football with at christmas. be honest lads - much as sensible brain says no; there's wee fecker brain that say; yup, i wish i had, it's the ultimate test of manhood. tell me i'm wrong. |
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge
Casino cash: £22721 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: do you wish you'd ever been to war
Wedding crasher radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £4166 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 7
Can I choose the War? If so, WW2 - Spitfire pilot.
Casino cash: £18409 vCash: 10000
you're right of course but .... - in fact, let's stop right here and to save time, just assume i caveat everything i say with the points i made in my first post rather than me qualifying every dumb thing i say - ...there's still a truth to the point about being tested.
when i listened to my old grandad, i couldn't help feeling that much though he - and everyone however actually had to do it, i imagine - would rather not have, it still gave them, i dunno, a 'gravitas'. i'd run a mile from it now, but to be honest, and i think this is true - stupid yes, but still true - wee dafties like me who went into a tear up at the football as youngsters, were doing that for want of a more 'legitimising' reason to do it. back then, i'd have fucking loved it, and i really mean that, which is not meant as some kind of boast, more a pointer to how fucking stupid i used to be. |
Casino cash: £5938 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Nope. I'm a coward. I'm a wimp. I hate fighting. Even if I win I hurt my hands. I'm neither fighter or lover. I'm just a lazy bastard. I'm happy with this.
I would seriously do almost anything to avoid being called up. F#ck that for a game of soldiers (all puns totally intended). If anybody fucked with my son I'd kill them with my bare hands though. But that's different.
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge
Casino cash: £22721 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Casino cash: £4619 vCash: 17000
![]() When the Falklands was on, there was talk in the papers about calling up reserves and ex sailors. I was shitting masell.So it's no for me. But then again a couple o pints, and the sound of the bagpipes then I'm yer man. ![]() ![]() ![]()
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Casino cash: £2830 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
I've watched a fair bit of documentary footage of WW2 soldiers being interviewed and talking about their experiences and their remarkable bravery and yet they do so with astonishing humilty and humbleness. These guys amaze me, they really do and I often wonder myself if I could face that kind of situation. I suspect I would be the type lying in the fox hole in the foetus position, a blubbering wreck and a complete liability to those around him.
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £7360 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Haven't felt that way since I turned 15 and stopped reading the Commando books, egb.
Casino cash: £6815 vCash: 10000
An 11 year old kid gunned down in Liverpool the other day by some wee chav who wanted to take the ultimate test of manhood. The Dunblane massacre? Yeah, big man. Sadly there are far too many similar instances to recount here but I have never felt the need - nor will I ever feel the need - to pick up a gun to test my manhood.
Casino cash: £4965 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 17
No way on earth.
Grandad served with the Gordon Highlanders in WW1 - wouldn't talk about it. Faither, merchant seaman being shot at pretty well defenceless in the North Atlantic - wouldn't talk about it. There's a reason for that. It was fecking miserable and scarey. It was real life and death - not sitting on a computer glamourising it. |
Casino cash: £32268 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Ever thought of joining those WW2 re-enactment twats from the TV last night?
Casino cash: £32268 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Reggae Reggae Sauce Radge
Casino cash: £15307 vCash: 10000
Bugger that. Probably used to think I wouldn't have minded a crack at old stylee proper war with rifle and bayonet, where you actually had to fight rather than today's invisible battlefield but bugger that. Killing is killing. Who would seriously want to have the chance of a bullet in the bawz?
Omdurman in the sudan or any of the battles in the Zulu war other than Isandhlwana look about the best fun you could have had in the army. Shooting with relative impunity. ![]() |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Casino cash: £5729 vCash: 46000 Thanks: 91
Casino cash: £3159 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 8
maybe about 10 years ago i was thinking of joining the medical core. i was in the TAs but couldnt commit for long due to a change of job. didnt really have the build to be a frontline soldier but had the balls. one thing guaranteed when you join up now though is that you are sure to go to a war zone unless your name is prince harry. saying thay ww2 was only the only war worth risking your life for as the rest ie iraq,afghanistan,uk colonial breakups were/are pointless and i for one wouldnt risk loosing my life over uk foriegn policy
Listing Radge
Casino cash: £1787 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
You're wrong.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
Casino cash: £1395 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
The ordinary man gets blown to bits so someone futher up the food chain can make a ton of money. I would fight for a cause, independence or defence of my country but never to make someone else rich.
The Spannish Cival war would have been a good one to fight in though.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £220 vCash: 10000
Having said that, you could be "Hailed" as a latter day Douglas Bader... ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
Casino cash: £1932 vCash: 10750 Thanks: 32
Its is said that there is no higher hit than being armed in a group of armed chaps, hunting other armed chaps (re the ultimate test of manhood- {rather that actually poppin someones clogs})But, I waould say that those raised on Union Jack Jackson, or Kampfgruppen Falcon ![]() etc will defo have a more romantic notion of war than say, the youth of today who have grown up reading mens health etc ![]() I would take it one step further and surmise that the youth of today, wi their manbags etc have just as much romantic notions of homosexuality as the older generation do of war. Doner und blitzen!!!!!!!! ![]() |
honourary radge
![]() Join Date: May 2003
Casino cash: £1427 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 9
You're so wrong, I don't know you so I can't say whether you're bought the way hollywood and films in majority romanticise war.
I haven't seen combat, my father has and was wounded, but I lived in a besiged city under sniper fire and constant shelling for two years and I can tell you its nothing like the myths you get fed about courage glory and adrenaline - thats bullshit - people do things just to survive in extreme circumstances. Its easy to romanticise about the war from a sheltered existence when you're life is on the line its very different story.