Old 22-08-07, 16:40   #1

Casino cash: £1047
Setanta Vs Sky

This summer I took the bait cancelled my Sky sports and signed up to Setanta sports. I was thinking great the SPL and the Premiership at only £9.99. Plus, no more having to watch the Scotsport, as their SPL coverage is top notch.

Yet unfortunately their Premiership Coverage is $hite. Yes all the big games are on Sky, but what's worse is they only show a 30 mins highlights show of the other Premiership games on Monday night. Which leaves you having to watch that twat Lineker on MOTD?

Just my advice if you're thinking of getting Setanta, DON'T!!!!

And yes I know you can get free Setanta with Cable. But I'd get too much
agro of the wife & kids if they didnae have Skyone.
hibeebenji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-07, 18:04   #2

Casino cash: £4031
Re: Setanta Vs Sky

I would take Setanta over Sky any day.

Why subsidise English football ?
Old 22-08-07, 18:34   #3
Ukios Bankios Supersaver Radge

Casino cash: £1069
Rep Power: 5 HibeeSocialClub is on the way to a first team debut

I think Setanta is the dugz baws,its about time Sky had a bit of competition.
I also think the coverage has improved each season(albeit not to the standard of Sky yet)but it is improving.. anything that beams the cabbage into my little house in deepest darkest Yorkshire is fine by me

Brendan-Kian-Stu-Biff-Erin
HibeeSocialClub is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-07, 18:37   #4

Casino cash: £1863

Im very happy getting my Setanta for free due to having the Xl package but its on nights like tonight i miss sky, why have they got all the scotland matches....Money!
Osmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-07, 19:40   #5

Originally Posted by sKipper View Post
I would take Setanta over Sky any day.

Why subsidise English football ?
Why subside the oldfirm????

I rather watch a top premiership team on Sky over Rangers Vs Killie or Celtic Vs St Mirren on Setanta.

The Full SPL is good, but that said Hibs next two games on Setanta are at home, which as a season ticket holder I'll be attending.

Newcastle Vs Villa with a 30mins Premiership highlight show is dire!!!!
Old 22-08-07, 19:47   #6

Casino cash: £10106
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by hibeebenji View Post

I rather watch a top premiership team on Sky over Rangers Vs Killie or Celtic Vs St Mirren on Setanta.

The Full SPL is good, but that said Hibs next two games on Setanta are at home, which as a season ticket holder I'll be attending.

Did you no think about that before subscribing?

Most folk i know are delighted with Setanta,good SPL coverage with plenty foreign fitba and now with the EPL too.
Old 22-08-07, 22:22   #7

I assumed that they'd at least have a decent highlights package of the EPL similar to their "Full SPL" show. Also that they'd have one of the big four on more regularly.

Not interested in German, French, Dutch or Portuguese football. Which Setanta do seem to cover better than the EPL.
Old 22-08-07, 23:25   #8

Casino cash: £4031

Originally Posted by hibeebenji View Post

Well don't complain when the English slag off our game because its people like you that fund them to the detriment of our own teams.
Old 22-08-07, 23:45   #9

Casino cash: £5147

At the present moment I have the XL Virgin package which includes Sky sports and Setanta. I also have broadband internet and my phone through Virgin. I have deided that I am paying far too much a month for all this, and I intend to cancel Sky Sports. I am also going to check with Virgin to see if I can pay a reduced Internet provision per month, though I doubt it..

TBH I am more interested in Scottish Football than English Football for the plain and simple reason that my team plays in the Scottish Premier League and it is of much more relevance to me. I am sick to death of the EPL. It's well overrated for one thing, and it's the same four teams who are featured almost all of the time. I also find the punditory tedious and overblown. I realise Setanta was created for the Old Firm, but I don't care anymore. At least Hibs are featured and discussed on Setanta and there overall coverage of Scottish Football is what I want to pay my money for.
Old 22-08-07, 23:52   #10

Casino cash: £17665
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post
At the present moment I have the XL Virgin package which includes Sky sports and Setanta. I also have broadband internet and my phone through Virgin. I have deided that I am paying far too much a month for all this, and I intend to cancel Sky Sports. I am also going to check with Virgin to see if I can pay a reduced Internet provision per month, though I doubt it..

TBH I am more interested in Scottish Football than English Football for the plain and simple reason that my team plays in the Scottish Premier League and it is of much more relevance to me. I am sick to death of the EPL. It's well overrated for one thing, and it's the same four teams who are featured almost all of the time. I also find the punditory tedious and overblown. I realise Setanta was created for the Old Firm, but I don't care anymore. At least Hibs are featured and discussed on Setanta and there overall coverage of Scottish Football is what I want to pay my money for.
As usual Greenman you've summed the whole thing up perfectly.:dub14: