![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
RE: Petrolheads
Which would you recommend from:
- 2001 Corsa (Newish Model) - 1999 306 1.9 TD (New style badge) - 1999 Rover 220 TD/i - 1998 Rover 214 Li - 1999 Seat Ibiza 1.4 - 2001 Rover 25 Diesel Ranging from a Rover 200 (cant remeber which one from the above tho) series at £695 to a Corsa at £2200. If any one has/had any of the above I'd appreciate your feedback whether good/bad as I persue my first motor, ie: rough repair costs you've incurred etc. Generally one of the above cars will be my first, thinking of a Rover 200 Series as they are around a grand or less and seem to be in excellent condition - trouble is they are slightly more expensive to insure. Same with a 306 although the car is also (slightly) more expensive but Tax is also dearer. A Corsa would probably be ideal, very cheap to insure even for an SXi model but the car is at the top end of what will be my budget - and I'd need to wait longer to accrue the funds......decisions! |
Re: Petrolheads
I personally wouldn't have a Corsa or a Rover , you'll struggle to go wrong with a Jap mate |
He could be right about Rover engines though i think they can be prone to head gasket problems. At the end of the day it's all down to luck (and a wee bit of good judgement) Hope you get something sorted , a pick up to home games is no probs you know as i collect Cav and pass by your area |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 138
The Seat is the best of the bunch (although I think they're made in Spain and use a lot of VW parts). If you shop about and play insurance companies off each other you might be able to get the insurance pretty cheap. The quality of French motors (ie, the 306, has been in freefall for years and I reckon they're a bit overpriced; some of them are quite good to drive though). The Corsa is a better option than the Rovers, which IMHO aren't worth the lower price. If Rovers were decent motors, someone would still be making them. Bear in mind with the Corsa that you'll get a better resale value and have an easier time selling it on. The older Corsas were incredibly easy to break into, so you might want a good steering wheel lock that covers the whole wheel as well.
306 td, will be the best and most reliable, seat is now owned by vw but not in 1999 remember!!, so the vw parts wont be on it. Seat prior to vw ownership were part of Fiat so be careful!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. What he said, then. Ignore my post, I'm talking pesh.
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
Nowt wrong with Rovers.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 115,000 miles on mine, 10 years old, not a hint of rust, cheap parts, still purring like a kitten. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
What he said, then. Ignore my post, I'm talking pesh. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"Is the tartan travel rug still in good nick ?"
Aye there`s a bag of Werther`s Originals in the glove-box, a wee flask o`soup, Alexander Brothers 8 track cassette, and Radio 4`s on the "wireless". |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. . |
Aye, Tiny bit "Mayo" goin` on.
I change oil `n filter 3 times a year tho`. (wee radiator flush tae.) Timin` belt every 35k....... Heid gasket probs, I think are (in the main) due to neglect. (and high revs) even tho` it red-lines at 6k) Although I know loads of folk have had trouble. Other than that it`s a good, sweet running, wee engine. Easy on fuel tae. There`s a lot to be said also (with any engine) for the old, don`t touch the accelarator for 30 seconds after starting it. I did that with my bikes too. Saves Soooo many unneccesary strip-downs. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007